Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.965
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

As a graduate from the Instituto Superior de Ciencias Medicas de la Habana (Havana's medical school) I am thrilled that an organization such as Medicc is out there... Cuba's Health care system is an example of what preventive medicine should be and of how good intentions and hard work can reform and change a nation. MEDICC shares Cuba's unique story and experience and mediates a debate among not only cuban health care professionals but among anyone interested in learning about Cuba.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

My research educational experience while visiting CUBA to learn more about their health and medical program was enlightening. The Cuban health professionals were welcoming and provided such a wealth of information about the wonderful work of MEDICC. I am definitely going to return . Currently studying Public Health Policy in a doctoral program at Walden and this experience will lend a rich perspective to include in my research work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to stay another week to continue the dialogue with the health care professionals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I am a health writer and lecturer, who frequently visits many countries around the world, focusing on equity and ethics in health care. I came to learn from my many visits to Cuba, the value of their health system, in terms of training, access, and outcomes. MEDICC has been a remarkable vehicle for insuring that these best practices, and the ongoing research in Cuba is made available to respective parties in the U.S.
The difference MEDICC has made for myself and many others in the field of health and medicine is immeasurable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell it's story to a wider audience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Medicc represents what is probably the most important relationship between the US and Cuba in 55 years. While others play politics, Medicc works to save lives in both countries by facilitating access to information and collaboration between those in the health and medical fields of both countries.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2012

more

September 7, 2012

MEDICC probably is the best organization I've worked with in decades: excellent perspective about global health, great projects and programs, and a superb staff. They do a tremendous amount with very limited resources, but extraordinarily committed people

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MEDICC is an incredible organization that works to build cooperation between Cuba and the US. I am a medical student at the Latin American School of Medicine in Havana, Cuba. MEDICC has affected me in many ways: by providing logistical support for our transition from medical students in Cuba to physicians in the US, creating scholarships so we can complete all the necessary licensing exams for US residency, and connecting us with doctors and community leaders in healthcare in the US. These connections create a foundation for our work as physicians in medically under-served areas later in our careers. The students at my school would be vastly less prepared for residency and practice in the US healthcare system without the assistance and support of MEDICC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2012

more

September 5, 2012

I had the opportunity to travel to Cuba with a MEDICC-sponsored group from Albuquerque, New Mexico in May of 2012. In addition to supporting U.S. students at the Latin American Medical School in Cuba, MEDICC has developed Community Partnerships for Health Equity (CPHE) in three U.S. cities. The group from Albuquerque had a chance to experience first-hand Cuban community based public health programs and understand how Cuba has achieved such positive health outcomes. We exercised with "abuelos" (grandparents) in Havana, made home visits with a family doctor and nurse in a new urban housing co-op, talked and danced into the night with a local block association and visited an "organoponico" (organic farm) on the outskirts of the city. They will continue to meet back home in Albuquerque to apply what they learned in Cuba to the health issues faced by their own community. What a great way to break down barriers and promote understanding. It was definitely a transformative experience for the group and for me as well!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Physicians are needed as mentors to guide U.S. students, studying at Havana's Latin American Medical School, into residency and successful medical careers in underserved communities in the U.S. Volunteer