Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

MEDICC people had a presentation at the annual meetings of the International Health Section of the American Public Health Association maybe ten years ago. I feel we are partners now, both working to let the world know of Cuba’s mission. I’m a statistician. The evaluation of health programs for the poor is my area. There has never been a sound statistical evaluation of a health program. Now Sommers carried out a good evaluation. He demonstrated that young children given vitamin A were less likely to die than children not given supplemental vitamin A. But never has there been an evaluation of say a village health program. Such a program would include services that would require an MD. Cuba trains, without cost, thousands of MDs. To this statistician, who knows how my mother would have grieved had I died, the MOH of some country and the Cuban MOH might well work together to design and initiate a village health program, with a national, trained in Cuba MD. Such should, as see things, be well evaluated so as to have information to guide countries seeking to reduce child deaths. UNICEF statistics for 2010 tells us that if the world child death rate was the same as the rate in Cuba, 19,000 fewer children would die each day. There is a lot of resistance to this idea but it is decreasing. The fine work of MEDICC helps lead us toward a better world.
David J. Fitch, PhD
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

A wonderful organization, which is addressing two pressing problems - one, the urgent need for qualified medical practitioners all around the globe in under served and poverty stricken communities. And two, counteracting the shameful, slanderous propaganda that issues forth from the US government concerning Cuba. I have worked with young people from poor and minority communities here in the US who have participated in Cuba's medical education program at no cost to themselves, aside from the rigorous effort required to succeed. They have come back with glowing reports of the connections they made with others young activists around the world, and with a dedication to serving those in need here in the US.
October 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 7, 2012

MEDICC probably is the best organization I've worked with in decades: excellent perspective about global health, great projects and programs, and a superb staff. They do a tremendous amount with ver... more

October 23, 2014

I have been involved with MEDICC since 2007, when I assisted in the establishment of a mentor program for the US students attending the Latin American School of Medicine in Havana. I also have been the MEDICC representative on both People to People and research programs in Cuba. Although relatively small, yet nimble, the organization does a superb job in educating American health care professionals about not only the Cuban health care system, but also its complex society. I have traveled to Cuba many times since 1978 and MEDICC is the best organization I know of to learn about this rapidly changing country.
September 7, 2012

MEDICC probably is the best organization I've worked with in decades: excellent perspective about global health, great projects and programs, and a superb staff. They do a tremendous amount with very limited resources, but extraordinarily committed people

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Over the past 5 years I have worked with MEDICC in many ways. I have been part of the MEDICC's Community Partnerships for Health Equity. Along with colleagues in the healthcare safety net in Oakland, Ca, I travelled twice to Cuba to learn about their successes in healthcare in the face of very limited resources. The visits were very well-organized and informative, allowing us to bring "lessons learned" home to our own institutions. I am now a member of MEDICC's advisory council and have volunteered in other ways with the organization. MEDICC greatly facilitates the understanding by Americans of the significant strengths of the Cuban medical system including the emphasis on primary care and prevention and the merging of public health and the delivery of health care. This provides opportunities to improve our own healthcare system. MEDICC is a very effective organization with an important mission.



More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

MEDICC is a multifaceted organization dedicated to enhancing collaborative efforts among diverse, global communities aimed at better health outcomes and equity for all. My experience in working with MEDICC has been to enhance medical school education for American Indians to become physicians. There is a huge disparity in the number of American Indians physicians in the United State. As former Surgeon General/Medical Director of the Navajo Nation, MEDICC worked in collaboration with the Navajo Nation government to look at innovative partnerships to develop the next generation of Navajo physicians. American Indians share the burden of huge health disparities among minority populations. We will be better equipped to address our health challenges by increasing the number of American Indian health professionals and through efforts such as MEDICC

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Physicians are needed as mentors to guide U.S. students, studying at Havana's Latin American Medical School, into residency and successful medical careers in underserved communities in the U.S. Volunteer