Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have been supporting MEDICC for over five years. Their important support for students at Latin American School of Medicine and their educational efforts that let the world know of Cuba's medical accomplishments and research are initiatives that are changing the world. That why I support their work.
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

When Hurricane Sandy struck in Santiago de Cuba, destroying thousands of houses and leaving many more Cubans in dire need of medical supplies, MEDiCC was one of only two institutions that I was able t... more

October 30, 2014

As a member of a Cuban American organization, Cuban Americans for Engagement (CAFE), I am keenly aware of the role MEDICC plays explaining within the US the strengths of the Cuban medical system. Because of its lack of resources, Cuba puts all its efforts into prevention. If you haven't already, listen to Gail Reed explain on the TED program where the world's doctors should be trained. It is in Cuba. http://www.ted.com/talks/gail_reed_where_to_train_the_world_s_doctors_cuba?language=en

By also helping U.S. disadvantaged youth study medicine in ELAM, the Cuban medical school, MEDICC is playing its part in the thawing of relations between the two nations.

Today (10/29/2014), in an unexpected move, the U.S. accepted Cuba's invitation and sent a CDC official to Havana to join the Caribbean and Latin American nations in a summit summoned last week to organize the hemisphere against the spread of ebola. Working together for the sake of global health, Cuba and the US are putting aside half a century of enmity. MEDICC was already on the ground.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013

When Hurricane Sandy struck in Santiago de Cuba, destroying thousands of houses and leaving many more Cubans in dire need of medical supplies, MEDiCC was one of only two institutions that I was able to contact that was raising emergency funds for the stricken. Because of its ability to develop a relationship based on trust with the Cuban government, MEDICC was able to ship aid quickly where it was most needed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

MEDICC is an amazing organization that cares deeply about spreading public health knowledge and supporting the students of ELAM through a comprehensive set of programs offering scholarships, mentorships, and internships.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I went on one of the first medical exchanges with MEDICC in 1995 0r 1996-not sure anymore !!
It was tough and inspiring--
I grew up in Cuba during the revolution in the late 1950's and it brought tears to my eyes to see my old house and all the neglect and disrepair in Havana.
The
medical school is amazing and the people were wonderful.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I first cooperated with MEDDIC during the earthquake emergency in Haiti, and have worked with them several times since. They are competent, committed, and they follow through. Great folks doing a great job.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I recently went to Cuba on a MEDICC sponsored trip- really we done. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5- is that the accommodations could have been nicer- but that is Cuba!
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

hi i am dahlgren M. Geografia,i am frist year.i am studiying of immaculate conception parochial school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i would to thank for this material like a book and rosaries.thank you so much and we love you more..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

MEDICC is a great source of information about what one small nation is doing that we in the US should be doing to make the world a better place for humanity. The US sends missiles; Cuba sends doctors. MEDICC publishes well documented article about what Cuban doctors are doing, making it more likely that more people will insist on our country following their lead.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2012

more

September 9, 2012

MEDICC not only publishes an excellent public health journal and creates the exchange of public health ideas between the US and CUba, it also supports US students and alumni of the Latin American Medical School (ELAM, for its Spanish acronym) so they may return home and work in underserved communities as physicians.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Physicians are needed as mentors to guide U.S. students, studying at Havana's Latin American Medical School, into residency and successful medical careers in underserved communities in the U.S. Volunteer