Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Over a long career of Community-Oriented Primary Care and Medical Education in the US, I've learned many things from Cuba - and from MEDICC. The models of care that have been developed in Cuba are based on equity, science, and compassion; and they have many features which resonate with the efforts of Progressives in the US. MEDICC has - through its publications and tours - been the central agency making these models available for us to observe and learn from. Two features stand out. The first is ELAM and the second is the Family Practice foundation of the medical care system. With consistent performance - but without being strident - MEDICC has shared these terrific programs with us. MEDICC is a non-profit organization which yields an outstanding return on investment.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

US professionals and students in the health field are hungry for information about Cuba's struggles to improve population health. Over the years, MEDICC has done more than any other group to inform us about the innovations and achievements in that small country. They give us access to current Cuban publications and they make it easier for us to see the Cubans at work. I'm especially grateful for MEDICC's assistance to US students who choose to get their medical education in Cuba. As North Americans win their medical degrees in Cuba, MEDICC has helped them proceed into US-based residency programs and begin to serve underprivileged US communities.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I found out about MEDICC first, after watching movie Salud about ELAM. My wife immediately recognized bus from La Ceiba to Tokoa in Honduras which is passing through her village and later about Luther & Wendy - two students from the neighboring Garifuna village, who are ELAM alumni. Luther update was featured as well in the recent Gail Reed TED talk. MEDICC is essential not only with providing otherwise totally unknown ELAM achievements, but also helping Luther to deliver health care to remote Garifuna region in Honduras, where no other health professionals care to go.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

MEDICC is an amazing organization that cares deeply about spreading public health knowledge and supporting the students of ELAM through a comprehensive set of programs offering scholarships, mentorships, and internships.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I didn't know about MEDICC until the earthquake in Haiti. Then I started my monthly donation until now. I know it's not too much, but is the best i can do. i'm Cuban American and i think it is the best inversion that i ever did, not for profit, but for a better life for my people. I'm proud to be a donor and i congratulate MEDICC for what they do.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I am an Assistant Professor at Albert Einstein College of Medicine. I took part in a research visit to Cuba sponsored by MEDICC in 2005 which led to several subsequent publications. In addition, one of my colleagues had a chance to learn about Cuban publishing on a MEDICC-sponsored tour in 2012. This provided us with useful contacts in Cuba.

Why do I give MEDICC a "far exceeds" rating? It is simple to go overseas, take some pictures of poor people, raise money, and then put a bandaid on things (perhaps from the window of your new Land Rover). MEDICC is particularly meritorious because it goes someplace politically unpopular and then uncovers the "inconvenient truth" that perhaps we might learn something from the Cubans. This is a very hard path to take and I commend them for taking it.

The New York Times has finally recognized that the Cuban embargo is counter-productive and that we should be collaborating with our Cuban colleagues. I think that the long, patient, and thoughtful work of MEDICC may have had something to do with this change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

MEDICC people had a presentation at the annual meetings of the International Health Section of the American Public Health Association maybe ten years ago. I feel we are partners now, both working to let the world know of Cuba’s mission. I’m a statistician. The evaluation of health programs for the poor is my area. There has never been a sound statistical evaluation of a health program. Now Sommers carried out a good evaluation. He demonstrated that young children given vitamin A were less likely to die than children not given supplemental vitamin A. But never has there been an evaluation of say a village health program. Such a program would include services that would require an MD. Cuba trains, without cost, thousands of MDs. To this statistician, who knows how my mother would have grieved had I died, the MOH of some country and the Cuban MOH might well work together to design and initiate a village health program, with a national, trained in Cuba MD. Such should, as see things, be well evaluated so as to have information to guide countries seeking to reduce child deaths. UNICEF statistics for 2010 tells us that if the world child death rate was the same as the rate in Cuba, 19,000 fewer children would die each day. There is a lot of resistance to this idea but it is decreasing. The fine work of MEDICC helps lead us toward a better world.
David J. Fitch, PhD
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

A wonderful organization, which is addressing two pressing problems - one, the urgent need for qualified medical practitioners all around the globe in under served and poverty stricken communities. And two, counteracting the shameful, slanderous propaganda that issues forth from the US government concerning Cuba. I have worked with young people from poor and minority communities here in the US who have participated in Cuba's medical education program at no cost to themselves, aside from the rigorous effort required to succeed. They have come back with glowing reports of the connections they made with others young activists around the world, and with a dedication to serving those in need here in the US.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

The Medical Education Cooperation With Cuba is, I firmly believe, one of the most meaningful, effective, and purposeful non-profits operating today. Its concern is not profits but, instead, recognizing and promoting the health needs of people who are often unfairly neglected and even persecuted by self-serving entities. {Rich Haney}
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I am a professor of health sciences at a major Canadian university. In my 10 year experience w/ MEDICC I have seen how it is a transformative organization working and succeeding in a very challenging environment. Despite these challenges, MEDICC's outreach and education activities are top of the field.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Physicians are needed as mentors to guide U.S. students, studying at Havana's Latin American Medical School, into residency and successful medical careers in underserved communities in the U.S. Volunteer