Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.965
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Cuba is considered by many people as a world leader in health care, providing for all its citizens as well as to millions of others around the globe. Based on the belief that sharing expertise and effective practices will improve health outcomes for everyone, MEDICC works to foster cooperation among health care workers in the U.S., Cuba, and other parts of the world. What could be more basic to human well-being than ensuring improved health, particularly for the world’s poor? MEDICC’s wide-ranging program includes, among many other things, the sponsorship of educational exchanges, financial and professional support for students and graduates of the Latin American Medical School, publication of a journal focused on Cuban health and medicine, and economic assistance following natural disasters. This broad-based program demonstrates the vision that "Health for All Is Possible. "

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

As a correspondent in the United States, I have been interested in what Cuba has done with health care over the years. MEDICC is an exceptional organization which studies what Cuba does with health care and helps the US understand what we could use from their ideas. MEDICC promotes public health ethics and responsibility and it helps students returning from studying in Cuba to become productive citizens in the US. We would benefit from more organizations like MEDICC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Over the past 5 years I have worked with MEDICC in many ways. I have been part of the MEDICC's Community Partnerships for Health Equity. Along with colleagues in the healthcare safety net in Oakland, Ca, I travelled twice to Cuba to learn about their successes in healthcare in the face of very limited resources. The visits were very well-organized and informative, allowing us to bring "lessons learned" home to our own institutions. I am now a member of MEDICC's advisory council and have volunteered in other ways with the organization. MEDICC greatly facilitates the understanding by Americans of the significant strengths of the Cuban medical system including the emphasis on primary care and prevention and the merging of public health and the delivery of health care. This provides opportunities to improve our own healthcare system. MEDICC is a very effective organization with an important mission.



More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

MEDICC is a multifaceted organization dedicated to enhancing collaborative efforts among diverse, global communities aimed at better health outcomes and equity for all. My experience in working with MEDICC has been to enhance medical school education for American Indians to become physicians. There is a huge disparity in the number of American Indians physicians in the United State. As former Surgeon General/Medical Director of the Navajo Nation, MEDICC worked in collaboration with the Navajo Nation government to look at innovative partnerships to develop the next generation of Navajo physicians. American Indians share the burden of huge health disparities among minority populations. We will be better equipped to address our health challenges by increasing the number of American Indian health professionals and through efforts such as MEDICC

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

hi i am dahlgren M. Geografia,i am frist year.i am studiying of immaculate conception parochial school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i would to thank for this material like a book and rosaries.thank you so much and we love you more..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

MEDICC is an exemplary program of education, exchange and public health, in Cuba and in several programs discovering and developing ways to add dimension and depth from Cuban accomplishments to similar programs in the United States, especially in California. MEDICC, most recently, has been critically active in facilitating the incorporation of integrative medicine into Cuba's clinical practice, medical education and research. The name of Cuba's breast cancer support group, "Alas por la Vida" (Wings for Life), could serve as well as a description of MEDICC's accomplishments.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

As a graduate from the Instituto Superior de Ciencias Medicas de la Habana (Havana's medical school) I am thrilled that an organization such as Medicc is out there... Cuba's Health care system is an example of what preventive medicine should be and of how good intentions and hard work can reform and change a nation. MEDICC shares Cuba's unique story and experience and mediates a debate among not only cuban health care professionals but among anyone interested in learning about Cuba.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I first learned of MEDICC in 2002, and have followed their work over the last decade. They are solidly managed and have a clear and important purpose. Most recently I had the pleasure of attending a meeting where community health personnel, from county directors to community workers, from many parts of the US attested to the significant impact that MEDICC, through its exchanges, had in their communities. My lasting thought was how much we too in the US can learn from our colleagues in Cuba.

Right on!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

My research educational experience while visiting CUBA to learn more about their health and medical program was enlightening. The Cuban health professionals were welcoming and provided such a wealth of information about the wonderful work of MEDICC. I am definitely going to return . Currently studying Public Health Policy in a doctoral program at Walden and this experience will lend a rich perspective to include in my research work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to stay another week to continue the dialogue with the health care professionals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I am a health writer and lecturer, who frequently visits many countries around the world, focusing on equity and ethics in health care. I came to learn from my many visits to Cuba, the value of their health system, in terms of training, access, and outcomes. MEDICC has been a remarkable vehicle for insuring that these best practices, and the ongoing research in Cuba is made available to respective parties in the U.S.
The difference MEDICC has made for myself and many others in the field of health and medicine is immeasurable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell it's story to a wider audience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Physicians are needed as mentors to guide U.S. students, studying at Havana's Latin American Medical School, into residency and successful medical careers in underserved communities in the U.S. Volunteer