Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

This is an excellent organization that provides a real and unbiased perspective of Cuban medical development.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have been supporting MEDICC for over five years. Their important support for students at Latin American School of Medicine and their educational efforts that let the world know of Cuba's medical accomplishments and research are initiatives that are changing the world. That why I support their work.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

As a graduate of the Latin American School of Medicine in Havana, Cuba. I can say with out hesitation that my successful transition into residency in the US would not have been possible without MEDICC 's support and guidance.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

MEDICC provides vital support to the students at the Latin American School of Medicine. Thanks for all you did and continue to do to support me and my colleagues!

Melissa Davis, MD
Graduate of ELAM, Habana, Cuba
3rd year resident in Family Medicine, the Ohio State University

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I went on a MEDICC sponsored trip to Cuba to look at how the Cuban system deals with Gender and Health issues, it was an experience that I will never forget! The work this organization is doing is very important and I encourage any and all support people may give.
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

When Hurricane Sandy struck in Santiago de Cuba, destroying thousands of houses and leaving many more Cubans in dire need of medical supplies, MEDiCC was one of only two institutions that I was able t... more

October 30, 2014

As a member of a Cuban American organization, Cuban Americans for Engagement (CAFE), I am keenly aware of the role MEDICC plays explaining within the US the strengths of the Cuban medical system. Because of its lack of resources, Cuba puts all its efforts into prevention. If you haven't already, listen to Gail Reed explain on the TED program where the world's doctors should be trained. It is in Cuba. http://www.ted.com/talks/gail_reed_where_to_train_the_world_s_doctors_cuba?language=en

By also helping U.S. disadvantaged youth study medicine in ELAM, the Cuban medical school, MEDICC is playing its part in the thawing of relations between the two nations.

Today (10/29/2014), in an unexpected move, the U.S. accepted Cuba's invitation and sent a CDC official to Havana to join the Caribbean and Latin American nations in a summit summoned last week to organize the hemisphere against the spread of ebola. Working together for the sake of global health, Cuba and the US are putting aside half a century of enmity. MEDICC was already on the ground.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013

When Hurricane Sandy struck in Santiago de Cuba, destroying thousands of houses and leaving many more Cubans in dire need of medical supplies, MEDiCC was one of only two institutions that I was able to contact that was raising emergency funds for the stricken. Because of its ability to develop a relationship based on trust with the Cuban government, MEDICC was able to ship aid quickly where it was most needed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

The staff at MEDICC are extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the organization and are very comprehensive in messages about their work including both goals and accomplishments. Great job at relaying this information to the public!
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

In a era when global health considerations far transcend national differences and political squabbles, MEDICC stands out as an exemplar of the kind of work needed to create and disseminate knowledge of the highest relevance. My principal connection is through their newsletters and information distributed over the internet. Working with immigrant populations in the U.S. I find the information and persistent outreach invaluable in getting a health perspective more far reaching and relevant than most of what is available through general sources based in U.S. only.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

This organization is impressive ​for ​all the help and support ​they have given over the years. Thank you for helping to transmit to the world the virtues of the Cuban medical system and the ​many ​achievements in various fields of Cuban medicine. Thanks for helping to foster exchange between health professionals and assist with the​ir​ professional development. ​I wish everyone at this organization my most deserved congratulations.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

MEDICC provides excellent opportunities for health care professionals to learn more about how universal integrated care works. They have consistently supported positive changes to U.S. health care primarily by supporting our young doctors graduating from ELAM in Cuba but also through educating those already in the field.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Physicians are needed as mentors to guide U.S. students, studying at Havana's Latin American Medical School, into residency and successful medical careers in underserved communities in the U.S. Volunteer