Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Well run organization. Fabulously supportive staff.
September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My story began with my mother-in-law, who received Meals on Wheels daily. When we would visit her, she would be so excited and tell us about her visitor that day and the great food she received. The visit and food delivery was definitely the highlight of her day. One funny story was that my husband would write her bills and saw the MOW bill was due. She kept insisting that she paid it but her checkbook did not show a missing check. Hence he called the office and was told that she did pay her bill and sent in excess of $100 in cash to the office via mail. When my father retired, he decided to keep busy and become a volunteer delivering meals on a daily basis. Not only does it keep him active, but he is so proud of his accomplishments and loves the wonderful MOW family! The story goes on as I was between jobs and decided to volunteer in the MOW office and truly found how how dedicated and wonderful the staff really is. Not only does their job entail keeping the program running on a daily basis, but the many fundraisers which are necessary due to monetary constraints. I found another permanent job in the Lehigh County area and was very happy to begin a Corporate volunteer delivery program. We now have 2 teams that deliver twice/week. So while I have been and am involved in the many faucets of Meals on Wheels, I am happy to say that it is a wonderful and rewarding experience!
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I had the honor of delivering meals on behalf of my emplopyer during the annual community delivery day and from the moment I arrived I was impressed by the level of organization, attention to detail, and most importantly the pride and compassion of the staff and volunteers. The impact Meals on Wheels of Lehigh Valley has on the community is invaluable! This agency truly practices their mission statement with every client served.
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with Meals on Wheels of Lehigh County since 2008. Our company participated in annual Community Service Days. We were so impressed with how organized they were that we started a company team in 2009 that delivers meals every Tuesday. Every one in the organization is great to work with! They truly care about the clients and volunteers.
March 31, 2014

more

March 31, 2014

My mother is a client of Meals on Wheels and the service has helped her in numerous ways. She receives well prepared, nutritious meals and visits from smiling volunteers. Some days those volunteers are the only people she sees. She is better able to stay in her home and not have the worry of preparing meals. And our family has the assurance that she is being visited every weekday and provided with good food.
I also volunteer and I am a board member and I am proud to be associated with such a great and needed service. I am honored to help a generation of people that has done so much.
March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I work in a nursing home for 27 years and would see the volunteers from meals on wheel from Monday to /Friday. I later became friends with Betty Minor, one of the orgainls. When I had a day off and she needed
someone to help, I said yes. I retired and we became Friday parents. She no longer
drive and she still delivers. I enjoy voluntering for Meals on Wheel It so rewarding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I this time I can't thing of any changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with Meals on Wheels since November 2012, delivering meals and working in the office. Not only is MOW a wonderful organization for people receiving the meals, but the office staff goes above and beyond for the people receiving the service. I am honored to be a part of this organization and associated with the employees and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband andI have been volunteers for14 years. We truly feel that this is a great organizatuion, efficiently run, but still having a great heart. All of the staff, and the volunteers, care greatly for the clients. We also had medical problems whichmade us recepients of Meals for two weeks. It is just as fine an organization from that side.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer with Meals on Wheels of Lehigh County for over three years. It's a great experience, going out in the community and delivering meals so that people in need can continue living independently. The people I work with, both employees of Meals on Wheels of Lehigh County and other volunteers I've gotten to know, are wonderful, upstanding people, providing a vital service. I enjoy getting to know new people through Meals on Wheels, people who are dedicated to a wonderful cause. It's great to know that Meals on Wheels is so dedicated in the fight against hunger.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer with many organizations, but my favorite is Meals on Wheels. It's been a family affair with 9 members of my extended family having served as volunteers---one was a driver until age 92! Volunteering with Meals on Wheels is a family tradition that has proven to be very rewarding---for the clients, but also for us individually. There is nothing more important to a person struggling with issues of health or of aging than to see a smiling face each day, to hear a friendly "hello", and to receive nutritious and tasty food brought by a volunteer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

observing the smiling faces of clients as I greet them; hearing a "thank-you" from appreciative clients; and knowing that over 350 Lehigh County residents are in better health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Each time I volunteer I return home more appreciative of how blessed I am with good health, a comfortable home, and plenty of food to eat.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Humbled by the positive attitude of so many clients who are in difficult situations.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Deliver meals or help out with the phones in our office. Collect food items for our annual blizzard bag food collection (shelf-stable food for our clients to use when we can' deliver meals due to bad weather or another emergency). Help out with a mailing of newsletters or our annual appeal. Have your own fundraiser like a dress down day or roast beef dinner.