Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Food, Meals on Wheels

Mission: To promote the independence and well being of homebound individuals by providing nutritious meals delivered by caring volunteers.

Results: Since 1971 we have delivered more than six million meals and helped thousands of people stay in their own homes--where they want to be--surrounded by the neighbors they know and the things they cherish.

Target demographics: Seniors and adults with disabilities

Direct beneficiaries per year: Almost 900 unduplicated clients are served each year.

Geographic areas served: Lehigh County, PA

Programs: Home-delivered meals, grocery shopping, delivery of free pet food for clients' pets, link to other social services, home visit and well-being check

Community Stories

31 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Audrey28

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I deliver meals two days a week and also do grocery shopping for 2 shut-ins several times a month. I find it very gratifying to do this type of hands-on assistance to people in need of food and a friendly visit. Meals On Wheels is very efficient, well-organized and takes great care of the clients and the volunteers.
Many elderly cannot afford their meals and receive a subsidy through the agency and community contributions. These elderly people would go without warm meals if it weren't for Meals On Wheels. Great to help.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you so much for all you do as a volunteer--delivering meals as well as grocery shopping. Your care and kindness mean the world to our clients.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

There are so many people involved with Meals on Wheels. This organization really cares about people in out community & does not receive enough reconzation.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for your kind words and your volunteering to ensure that our homebound are well nourished in their own homes.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

We volunteer for Market on Wheels. Such a satisfying experience for us as volunteers to aid a client who can still do their own cooking or some meal preparation but is unable to get out routinely for grocery shopping. This satisfaction is not only one sided. Our client is always happy to see us as we are to see and help her. She brings us joy as we bring a sense that someone cares for her and her well being.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

We know that our clients so enjoy the volunteer visit as well as the service you provide. Thank you.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Meals on Wheels of the Lehigh Valley is a fabulous organization! They provide meals, grocery delivery service and perhaps most importantly, a friendly smile to many who are unable to leave their homes and don't have family that are able to visit. I am honored to volunteer with this organization.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for volunteering and bringing joy to our clients.

Previous Stories
3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am also fortunate to be a Market on Meals volunteer with Meals on Wheels. All the staff at Meals on Wheels go above and beyond to make sure the people they serve are treated with dignity and respect. The personal connection is such an important part of their mission. Grocery shopping for my client is always a highlight of my week. I love doing this and am so happy to be a small part of a great organization!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for your kinds words and all that you do for "your" client. You are an everyday hero.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

It makes me feel good seeing the smiles on the faces of our clients who require assistance shopping. I wish I had more time to shop for others. Meals on Wheels is a blessing for their clients.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for the time you are able to give....it means the world to our clients. We truly appreciate your service.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

It's a great nonprofit with an amazing purpose, I love being part of this wonderful organization! My client values the services MoW-LV provide immensely!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for sharing your kindness and caring with our Agency. Volunteers are the heart and soul of Meals on Wheels.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Meals & Market on Wheels are rewarding volunteer experiences & help so many people in need.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you so much for volunteering and making sure that our clients get the groceries they need.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Meals on Wheels is a wonderful organization. I love volunteering and getting to know the clients.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Our volunteers are the heart and soul of our Agency. Thank you for being one of, as one clients said, a "special angel."

3 jaguar

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Being a volunteer shopper for the "Grocery on Wheels"program all I can say is in the last 40 plus years that I had been employed in the corporate world this job paid the least financially BUT paid the most emotionally and fully satisfies the soul with the true meaning of giving back....There has been no finer "Meaning of Life"experience for me....Thank you..

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for your sweet words and for all you do for our homebound clients. Your care means the world.

Previous Stories
3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have volunteered in the Carbon county area MOW program for a while and recently moved into Allentown-Lehigh County..I was intriqued by the new program called "Market on Wheels"a thinking out of the box food delivery concept very needed by many in the area...I am happy to report not only am I enjoying volunteering and the clients we serve, BUT the staff and coordinator of the program have nothing BUT the best interests of our clients at heart regarding all decisions....A true joy for me getting back WAY MORE than I give...Thank you MOW....Jeffrey L. Minnich Sr.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you for all you do for our homebound. You are definitely and everyday hero!

2

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been a volunteer for Meals on Wheels for over 30 years! I would not be doing this if it were not such a good organized organization and serving a very needed purpose. I have found it very enjoyable to deliver the meals and meet the clients as well as the other volunteers. It makes my day to do the MOW route whether visiting or driving, and see the clients and what is going on in their lives. I miss them when they are no longer on the route, and usually check to see what happened to them as to why they are not on the route.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

mgrasso 03/22/2016

Thank you, thank you for all you do to ensure that our homebound clients are well nourished and happy in their own homes.