Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

The people at Meals on Wheels and Senior Outreach Services really care about helping clients. They are dedicated, compassionate, and helpful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure they had enough funding to expand their services.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

Meals on Wheels is a hands-on organization that goes right to the home and hearts of its clients. Delivering hot meals and a birthday gift on the recipients birthday ( I belong to the Meals on Wheels Birthday Girls), Meals on Wheels provides an essential service as well as a connection with the outside world. For those who can leave their homes, they provide a social gathering place, and for those who are at home, the volunteer who delivers the meal also provides a contact and a source for communication. Our small birthday gift is greatly appreciated; often given to those who might not otherwise receive a gift on their birthday. Very personal and connected organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
March 2, 2011

When I was looking for a nonprofit to volunteer with, I liked the sound of this one from a newspaper article about one volunteer and the friend she had been visiting through this program. I have not been disappointed. I was matched with a senior over two years ago who was at first hesitant with my visits. Over time, I know I have become as important to her as she is to me. There are so many more people whose lives could be enriched by this rewarding program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the friendship I have developed with a wonderful 90 year old plus resident of a residential care facility.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not. I believe that new innovative changes are already being made. I just hope that adequate numbers of people volunteer to reach out to those of us who will be older shoes in the next decades!

February 18, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2011

Through a very well run organization that is extremely enthusiastic and focused with a management team wanting to truly improve the lives of the homebound and elderly, I have been working with Senior Outreach Services aka Meals on Wheels for almost decade.

Their openness and support
have resulted in creating additional services (in this case we provide birthday recognition for all 700+ Meals on Wheels clients each year) as an independent group of volunteers. I helped originate the program and as such that only speaks to this particular organization's flexibility in offering services to their clients as well as utilizing their volunteer's talents to their fullest.

The program manager and director, as well as office volunteers and even drivers, continually provide recognition, support and outright excitement over the birthday program. I am proud to be affiliated with their organization (having both worked in a corporate environment and numerous other community and volunteer activities).
They are the best!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The ladies that I volunteer with to provide and wrap the gifts each month, as well as our local National Charity League chapter representatives, receive ongoing thank you notes, formal recognition at events, monthly newsletters as well on going communications with the office. From the MOW clients we receive heart warming thank yous for the gifts they receive. Sometimes I just want to cry the notes are so touching.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have none. I have been very pleased as a volunteer. From a more macro view I hope this organization continues to have funding and recognition so it can continue to expand its services to the needy and elderly in our area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I am very pleased and do not need any improvements.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met lovely women in my community in doing what seems to be a simple way to volunteer and yet feel like I am making a big difference for others.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers