Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.714295
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I lost my american bull dog on 6-10-2012. I looked for her everywhere. I looked on Craig's list and found her at Mckamey shelter on access road in chattanooga ,Tn. I went to get her and was told it was going to cost me $ 90.00 to get her. That was ridiculous. She isn't a stray. She has an owner. They are promoting adopt a pet but all I wanted was my pet back. Some people don't have the money to pay to get their pets back so I guess that means they keep your pet and SALE it to someone else. I guess they are going to get their money one way or the other. I wouldn't recommend adopting a pet from there at all. The fees you have to pay are over board and you could be adopting someone else's pet who just couldn't afford to pay to get it back. How do you think that would make the person who couldn't get their pet back feel? I'm sure they don't care as long as the money keeps rolling in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not charge someone who proves that an animal that has been turned in or picked up on the street isn't someone's pet that they may have accidentally lost or got out of it fence without the owner knowing it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After meeting the members of the McKamey staff at an adoption event, I knew it was time to bring a dog into our family. In September, we adopted the most amazing dog that I have ever had the pleasure to know. We first met her online, and she immediately won our hearts. Kimmie was brought into McKamey as a stray puppy with her brother when they were only about 8 weeks old. Her brother was almost immediately adopted, but she was not so lucky. She had a serious infection in one of her eyes, and in spite of the heroic efforts of the McKamey staff the eye could not be saved. So she underwent surgery and the eye was removed. Now she had 2 strikes against her, she was a black dog and she had a disability. She spent the next 5 months alone in the shelter, and she never let any of this dampen her bright spirit. She won the staffs' hearts, and was a shelter favorite. They never gave up hope that she would find a forever home. The staff and Kimmie never gave up hope, and she now has a loving family to call her own.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have adopted 4 bundles of love from McKamey. Keats is an energetic kid who always needs to be chased and petted. I get rewarded with the loudest PURR and drool you have ever seen. Brock is our diplomat. He isn't scared of any situation, and is usually the first to venture to the farthest part of our enclosed yard, with a train of everyone else behind him. Romo is our snuggle cat. IF we are on the couch, in bed, or even sitting at the dinner table... he will be there to offer his body heat. Lucy is our special, not at all disabled, blind cat. She rules the roost, and has the run of the house. Everyone avoids getting in her way. I can not thank McKamey enough for the amount of love they have brought to my home. Especially being neutered/spayed, microchipped, and up to date on all medications. I love this! This is the best!

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I adoped my dog at McKamey in 2009. She has been a blessing for me. What little we know about her previous life isn't pleasant, but she is one of the best dogs most people have met. She has become a pet therapy dog and visits area hospitals to allow the patients an opportunity to love her. We go to McKamey every Christmas to have her picture taken with "Santa Claws" and my family and friends always receive the picture on a Christmas card. I think what this organization does for local homeless pets is amazing. They have definately given me one of the best gifts ever.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I adopted my beautiful cat Suds from McKamey in January of 2010. He was brought there as a baby and lived the first six months of his life in the facility. I was so impressed with how professional the staff was and how beautiful and clean the McKamey Center is. Suds was such a character and very used to being loved for the first part of his life in McKamey. I knew he must have had first rate care to be the kind of cat he was when I brought him home. He is such a loving and happy cat, and I'll always be grateful to McKamey for keeping him until he found a happy home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Adopted our first rescue dog in 2009 from McKamey and she's been a blast. We love how great our adoption experience was and the impact they're making on the animal friendliness of our community that we attended a McKamey fundraising event at a local minor league baseball team. There they had a foster dog to raise awareness that we fell in love with and he's now our newest child. Can't find nicer people, better facilities, or greater animals than those loved by McKamey. Thanks for all you do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have thought about adopting a pet for many years but have always purchased one from a small reputable breeder. I was nervous that if I adopted a pet it might be sick or have a behavioral issue. The staff at the mcKamey Cneter changed all that for me. I learned how much goes into preparing a pet for adoption and all the care that the McKamey team use to be sure that they adopt great healthy animals. My new dog is great. He is the healthiest happiest little guy. Now that I have him I will always adopt. I know there are no guarantees with ant pet and you love them all their lives through thick and thin but it is nice the lengths they go to to try to be sure every pets getsoff to a good start!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers