Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
355 Reviews
1234.954935
Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
February 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is our third trip to Guatemala, and enjoyed working through Mayan Families, and seeing the greT work they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Along with the volenteers, they need to find some way to retain some of the great people who work there. With the high turnover, things fall through the cracks, causing everyone else to be spread thin. I would like to help many people also, however if things grow too fast, it's not good for anyone. They should try and limit the amount of people in the program until the infrastructure can handle it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 15, 2013

more

November 15, 2013

As the President of Tri-Village Rotary in Columbus, Ohio (USA) I want to be accountable to our members, and our community donors, to make sure that our charitable donations are used in the best way possible. Mayan Families continues to amaze me with their staff and how every penny is maximized. I had the opportunity to visit Mayan Families in March of 2013 and again in November of 2013 and each time I visit I am more reassured that our money is going to the best possible group.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2013

more

November 15, 2013

I visited the Mayan Families Foundation in Panajachel, Guatemala in November 2013 and was moved by the incredible need for the services provided by the organization, as well as the dedication of the staff and volunteers to fill that need. This is an organization that, I feel, makes the best use of donor's contributions in making a lasting impact on the lives of the children and adults it helps.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2013

more

November 6, 2013

Our Rotary Club has been partnering with Mayan Families for the past 3 years, and out experience has been beyond my expectations. The organization is so well run and is fully integrated into the community it serves, so Mayan Families knows so much about the needs and is able to get us plugged in with truly impactful projects that are changing the lives of such needy people. We will continue to partner with Mayan Families because we know that they are so accountable for the projects we've implemented together.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was priveleged to be part of a medical team called Hands of Healing Guatemala that came to work with Mayan Families in Panajachel, Guatemala in late October of this year. I am new to this team but this partnership has been going on between these two organizations for a few years. Mayan Families is the umbrella non profit under which HOH can serve Mayan villages in the Western Highlands around Largo Atitlan. Mayan Families offered us their transportation, safety, translators and helped identify the villages who most needed our medical services. Their staff helped us in every way, every day even giving us walking tours of Pana and allowing us to tour and see how their organization functions on a daily basis.. We saw such a dedication to their Mayan brothers and sisters. Everything they do is to help better the life of every Mayan person they meet. They offer sponserships for the elderly, for children and for families. They coordinate sponserships for housing, water filters, stoves, food,. They manage 7 pre-schools and coordinate sponsers for each child. They even have a medical clinic at their compound. They make it easy to donate and ,by everthing I saw and heard,they use the donations in the most effecient ways. Personally, I was amazed at the credentials and educational backgrounds of the staff. Many young ex-pats who are committed to giving a "hand up" to the Mayan people and even many Mayan young people giving back to their people. I saw hard work, long days, lots of traveling and strong leadership. I personally was moved, by their example, to purchase water filters and co-sponser a young child to ensure her education. During each days medical clinic, their staff worked hand in hand with us to provide exams, medicine,vitimins glasses and shoes to as many people as can be seen in a day. It was a life changing experience for me and I certainly was inspired by everyone who worked for Mayan Families . Judy--- Birmingham, Alabama, USA

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I originally donated to help a baby see a doctor. After reading some of the blogs, I then sponsored a child to attend school. Learning more about his family and the struggle they endure on a daily basis, I then provided food for the family on a monthly basis. I am confident the services they provide to the young and old make a significant difference in the lives of many. I highly recommend Mayan Families to anyone wishing to donate to a charity. Your donation will go to work immediately.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

I contacted Mayan families for help with a specific family in Guatemala. Although they were two hours away from the office, they had the entire family there and had received medical care within 24 hou... more

June 21, 2013

Mayan Families is an EXCELLENT organization. They are helping soo many people through such diversified aspects. From running pre-schools, providing older children with school supplies, shoes, and necessities, feeding the elderly, providing knowledge through trade schools, and even building houses for families. They even have a medical clinic and the price is very very reasonable since most medications are donated.
You can really connect with your sponsored family or child by visiting them, sending them items through the mail, or by purchasing them through www.Mayanfamilies.org. You can provide your child a birthday cake, a holiday tamale basket, or a shovel for a dad, or buy 100lb of corn or beans for a family .....once again, very reasonably priced!
They have to ability to skype with your student, if they come to the office, and they are very good at sending pictures of their progress or posting them on their Picasa web site!
I am very happy I found this organization. They are changing lives there!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build more satellite offices throughout Guatemala. I think people trust and believe in them and there maybe room for additional offices so they can help more families!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012

I contacted Mayan families for help with a specific family in Guatemala. Although they were two hours away from the office, they had the entire family there and had received medical care within 24 hours! I could not believe how fast, sincere, and helpful they were. They gave me several options for my donation and I felt 100% happy. I am so glad I found them and I will continue to donate through them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I have been sponsoring a little girl and her family in Guatemala for 4 years, whoever I give, I get a letter or see pictures. The work this group is doing is fabulous!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

Mayan Families are a great organization. They approach issues of poverty by attacking them at the root, though livelihoods and education. This is in contrast to many other organizations, who treat symptoms without changing the cycle of poverty. They are also great at engaging donors and having a clear mission.

I work in the NGO field and can say that Mayan Families is a model organization. I will continue to donate to them and promote their causes!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

It was a great reassurance to me when I was able meet my real live sponsored student when I had the recent opportunity to visit. The meeting was deeply touching for both of us. Education is the way out of poverty for these young people and our donations have a dramatic impact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Install Fuel efficient Stoves, translate student letters, hand out donations and much more depending on our schedule! Volunteer