Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
366 Reviews
1234.953555
Write A Review
January 31, 2015

more

January 31, 2015

Mayan Families is an amazing nonprofit organization that helps the poor and in need natives in Guatemala. My time shared with them was one to remember. It's one thing to know that people around the world and poor and struggling with hunger, but it is a whole other story to actually witness it in person. During my volunteer work I had the opportunity to work with preschool children and also build stoves for the most needy in the mountains of Guatemala. It was the most rewarding feeling to see smiles on children and families faces every time I was near. They are so appreciative and love everything that you do for them. Building stoves was very touching and heartfelt. Some families even had tears in their eyes because a stove was something they never owned before. Guatemala was truly an amazing experience and I can’t wait to go back!
January 26, 2015

more

January 26, 2015

I volunteered with Mayan families through my nursing school. It was seriously one of the most rewarding and life changing opportunities I have experienced. All of the employees are well informed of the organizations mission and of the history of the villages. This nonprofit helps so many people in the community ranging from preschooler education to elderly care and meal preparation. I could not have asked for a better organization for my school to have partnered with for our trip. I really hope to have further involvement and contact with Mayan families.
January 26, 2015

more

January 26, 2015

I volunteered with Mayan Families as part of a healthcare focused college volunteer trip. We were given an orientation session where we learned about the organization and their focus areas. We were then able to volunteer our time with the local indigenous populations. Mayan Families organized our volunteer activities each day as well as some of our travel logistics. They did a fantastic job providing us with meaningful opportunities to connect with and help the local people. The professionalism, dedication, and passion of their staff is unmatched. Thank you Mayan Families!
December 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I took a group of 17 high school students on a service trip with Mayan Families to install 10 Onil stoves and we had a most amazing time being hosted by the wonderfully attentive and thoughtful folks of Mayan Families! The staff is energized, lovely, and so thoughtful in organizing every facet of our trip and meeds. We felt like members of their family and became fast friends! We love their vision of bringing a comprehensive multi-plan to educate, care for, and empower the indigenous peoples of the Central Highlands. Our group and individuals caught the joy and vision of sponsoring young students, purchasing water filtration kits, and becoming partners with Sharon and Dwight and their phenomenal staff to deepen and expand our participation in other outreaches such as the family Christmas baskets and many other interesting and life changing endeavors! Thank you Mayan Families!!!
December 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Mayan families is a well established and fast growing non-profit. But don't let this fool you, they have the reputation of a great organization for a reason. Not only do they continue to help so many people in need but also, the people that work for Mayan Families really make it what it is. Mayan Families promotes a group help mentality; continually working and thinking together towards the goal of helping those in need. This, in turn, makes for a very awesome and in-depth volunteering experience. An experience consisting of more than being just a tourist, skimming the surface of a town, and not knowing how to help. I highly recommend Mayan Families to anyone looking for a volunteering opportunity in Guatemala.
November 21, 2014

more

November 21, 2014

I sponsor 9 children with Mayan Families and have volunteered with them many times. The staff is great and the organization does so much to help the indigenous families around lake Atitlan. They have made a difference in so many peoples lives.
November 18, 2014

more

November 18, 2014

While working with Mayan Families this past month, I could not tell you properly how impressed I was with both the staff, and their ability to make things work for the benefit of these Mayan Families. They are truly a blessing. I worked in the classroom while the students were taken individually to test their Spanish skills. Working with them in the classroom was great, but doing volunteer database work made it come full circle. I was able to see and input the results from the different schools, and they floored me. I was overall impressed with the staff and the students.
November 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What a blessing working with Mayan Families! My husband and I just returned from our volunteer mission trip Nov 2014. During our trip we encountered so many kind and compassionate people.
Mayan Families is truly changing the lives of the children and families of Panajachel. We were welcomed
with open arms and warm hearts. We cannot wait for our next opportunity to volunteer with Mayan Families.
November 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2013

I was priveleged to be part of a medical team called Hands of Healing Guatemala that came to work with Mayan Families in Panajachel, Guatemala in late October of this year. I am new to this team but t... more

November 10, 2014

I have had the honor of interacting with Mayan Families for just over a year. During this time I have a total of 10 days seeing first hand how well they live their purpose: giving a hand up to the Mayan people of the Lake Atitlan area of the Western Highlands. They are caring, well organized, creative and efficient. Without Mayan Families, our Hands Of Healing Guatemala Team ( Medical and Vision) could not
possibly be as effective. Their partnership directs where we go, transports us to and from the villages, find us a place to set up, registers our patients and provides us with Spanish and local K'iche'
and Kachiquel translators. They open our eyes to the great needs of our Mayan friends and encourage us to continue to help long after we are gone by sponsorships and any number of other ways! Their great and generous heart is in EVERYTHING they do. It is a privilege being in partnership with them as a medical team member and as a sponsor of a precious 8 year old Mayan student!!
November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was priveleged to be part of a medical team called Hands of Healing Guatemala that came to work with Mayan Families in Panajachel, Guatemala in late October of this year. I am new to this team but this partnership has been going on between these two organizations for a few years. Mayan Families is the umbrella non profit under which HOH can serve Mayan villages in the Western Highlands around Largo Atitlan. Mayan Families offered us their transportation, safety, translators and helped identify the villages who most needed our medical services. Their staff helped us in every way, every day even giving us walking tours of Pana and allowing us to tour and see how their organization functions on a daily basis.. We saw such a dedication to their Mayan brothers and sisters. Everything they do is to help better the life of every Mayan person they meet. They offer sponserships for the elderly, for children and for families. They coordinate sponserships for housing, water filters, stoves, food,. They manage 7 pre-schools and coordinate sponsers for each child. They even have a medical clinic at their compound. They make it easy to donate and ,by everthing I saw and heard,they use the donations in the most effecient ways. Personally, I was amazed at the credentials and educational backgrounds of the staff. Many young ex-pats who are committed to giving a "hand up" to the Mayan people and even many Mayan young people giving back to their people. I saw hard work, long days, lots of traveling and strong leadership. I personally was moved, by their example, to purchase water filters and co-sponser a young child to ensure her education. During each days medical clinic, their staff worked hand in hand with us to provide exams, medicine,vitimins glasses and shoes to as many people as can be seen in a day. It was a life changing experience for me and I certainly was inspired by everyone who worked for Mayan Families . Judy--- Birmingham, Alabama, USA

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I was a volunteer physician with a group from the Anona Church in the Tampa area. We volunteered our time and efforts to the Mayan People in five different areas. I personally have never seen such abject poverty. I have also never seen a more caring group with whom to work.
The Mayans are
the indigenous people of Guatemala who like the American Indian have had there land taken away by the more powerful. Unfortunately, for the Mayans there is no safety net and they live malnourished, sick, uneducated and in such crowded and unhygienic conditions that it begs the imagination. Hands of Healing recognizes that the most sustainable thing they can do is education, specifically teach the Spanish language, water purification, provide efficient wood burning stoves, and do their best to provide some basic medical care. They are accomplishing this every day.
Personally, I saw diseases of children for which I could do nothing and for which there are no alternatives except HOH and they as an organization are overwhelmed with specific medical problems while at the same time, they realize that resources can be better spent on public health or education. Tough choices. I feel confident that HOH spends its monies prudently and efficiently in its great attempt to "treat thy neighbor as you would your self"

Gerry Kilpatrick MD.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Install Fuel efficient Stoves, translate student letters, hand out donations and much more depending on our schedule! Volunteer