Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
355 Reviews
1234.954935
| 1 ... 3 4 5...33 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was priveleged to be part of a medical team called Hands of Healing Guatemala that came to work with Mayan Families in Panajachel, Guatemala in late October of this year. I am new to this team but this partnership has been going on between these two organizations for a few years. Mayan Families is the umbrella non profit under which HOH can serve Mayan villages in the Western Highlands around Largo Atitlan. Mayan Families offered us their transportation, safety, translators and helped identify the villages who most needed our medical services. Their staff helped us in every way, every day even giving us walking tours of Pana and allowing us to tour and see how their organization functions on a daily basis.. We saw such a dedication to their Mayan brothers and sisters. Everything they do is to help better the life of every Mayan person they meet. They offer sponserships for the elderly, for children and for families. They coordinate sponserships for housing, water filters, stoves, food,. They manage 7 pre-schools and coordinate sponsers for each child. They even have a medical clinic at their compound. They make it easy to donate and ,by everthing I saw and heard,they use the donations in the most effecient ways. Personally, I was amazed at the credentials and educational backgrounds of the staff. Many young ex-pats who are committed to giving a "hand up" to the Mayan people and even many Mayan young people giving back to their people. I saw hard work, long days, lots of traveling and strong leadership. I personally was moved, by their example, to purchase water filters and co-sponser a young child to ensure her education. During each days medical clinic, their staff worked hand in hand with us to provide exams, medicine,vitimins glasses and shoes to as many people as can be seen in a day. It was a life changing experience for me and I certainly was inspired by everyone who worked for Mayan Families . Judy--- Birmingham, Alabama, USA

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 1, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 weeks volunteering with Mayan Families last month. I am a Registered Midwife from Australia. I felt Mayan Families were very accommodating and wanted to put my skills in healt... more

October 17, 2013

I spent 3 weeks Volunteering at Mayan Families with my partner Ben. We had such a fulfilling experience. It was wonderful working as a part of such a large team where the work is very grass roots and raw. I am a REgistered Midwife in Australia and felt my skills were utilised during my time with Mayan Families. We have treasured memories and hope to one day return and do some further work with this organisation!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 weeks volunteering with Mayan Families last month. I am a Registered Midwife from Australia. I felt Mayan Families were very accommodating and wanted to put my skills in health to use during our short stay at Lake Atitlan. Sharon and the team organised visits to Preschools in the surrounding communities to present to the mothers regarding maternal and women's health. Mayan Families is a very warm and welcoming organisation which i felt privileged to be a part of the team in August 2013. My partner and I are already planning a return trip!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 16, 2013

My partner and I volunteered at Mayan Families for the previous 3 weeks. It was such a enriching and positive experience working alongside Sharon, Dwight and all the staff. This organisation is comple... more

October 16, 2013

I feel privileged to have volunteered with Mayan families. It's such a unique organisation as it focuses on empowering the local Guatemalan people to make changes within their community. I can't wait to return next year to see how their programs have developed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013

My partner and I volunteered at Mayan Families for the previous 3 weeks. It was such a enriching and positive experience working alongside Sharon, Dwight and all the staff. This organisation is completely in touch with the needs of the Panajachel community and provide services and support of the highest standard. I saw first hand how important donations are for this continued support. We are already planning our trip back to support this wonderful organisation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I spent a month volunteering with Mayan families in Panajachel this summer. Mayan families gave me the incredible opportunity to work with Dr. Louis De Peña in the clinic at the Mayan families compound.
For a pre-med student like me this was a great learning experience. The staff at Mayan
families all tried to ensure that I had the best experience possible and were very accommodating and friendly.
All of Panajachel knows about Mayan families, and that is for a good reason. Mayan families has helped improve several important resources in the area: health care, education, job opportunities, etc. They make a difference in the lives of many people in and around Panajachel.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 19, 2010

We are a Florida-based medical, dental and vision mission team. We have partnered with Mayan Families on numerous occasions. Mayan Families coordinates sites for our clinics and provides translators ... more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mayan Families has the most holistic and comprehensive program that I have experienced in Guatemala! Their programs are benefitting thousands in need, yet they somehow manage to personalize the attention given to each and every family they serve. My wife and I are so pleased to sponsor a child through Mayan Families, we get regular updates on her, and we have absolute confidence that our contributions are directly benefitting our child and her family. One of the most genuine organizations I have ever encountered and worked with in service to God's people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2010

We are a Florida-based medical, dental and vision mission team. We have partnered with Mayan Families on numerous occasions. Mayan Families coordinates sites for our clinics and provides translators and staff. We've had the opportunity to experience the substantial difference that Mayan Families is making in Guatemala and they are the real deal! Their holistic approach to improving impoverished lives is nothing short of miraculous.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the difference school sponsorship can makes for a child.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

My daughter and I volunteered with Mayan Families in the summer of 2013. Day after day we'd find our way to our carefully created service positions amidst many dozens of other volunteers and staff who all interacted in a delicately choreographed yet powerful improvisational dance. I absolutely loved the sense of well organized community and genuine heart-centered warmth. Amidst the sometimes accelerated chaos and dire need of the beloved population of Mayan families, the organization, Mayan Families, generated practical services for people of all ages in soulful ways that were sourced by community members. The services I saw rendered were mostly facilitated by local people, who worked in the kitchen, the pre-schools, the many offices and the grounds. Some people, like myself (a psychotherapist), came in from the exterior to help with medical and other professional needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

fund them so they can get more help/staff/professionals when needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Mayan Families gives volunteers the opportunity to experience first hand the diversity of the Lake Atitlan region, while working with an organization that strives to alleviate poverty, hunger, and elevate the quality of lives and animals together. It's a unique experience because while the organization is relatively small, its reach is wide and gives volunteers the opportunity to truly make an impact.

I spent a month with Mayan Families and each person I encountered was helpful and passionate about the work of the organization. Everyone is extremely generous and volunteering is an especially valuable opportunity for those interested in working or living abroad.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase number of volunteer opportunities available.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

The Mayan Families Foundation and Mayan clients have welcomed me twice, and throughout both
experiences I have learned so much more than I hoped to give. That said, Mayan Families was so attentive to me and all other volunteers during the two months I visited(summer '13). We were given
opportunities to contribute our skills to work with MF clients under the guidance of MF staff. I worked with a midwife who was volunteering for several weeks. MF's professional staff provided support by organizing trips to each of the preschools it has founded for pregnancy health workshops with the mothers of the preschool children. The organization has developed such trust with clients, which was apparent in how safe the women felt to discuss intimate women's health issues. The genuine gratitude and kindness women expressed after pregnancy health workshops well surpassed what I've seen from MF's clients, which is so surprising because these are women who are already so grateful and kind. The last time I was with MF's, I worked in their many preschools. For the children, these preschools are safe havens for learning and play. I often consider how their early experience in MF's Preschool and Nutritional Centers will give them an incredible head-start to pursue their happiness as they get older. For the mother's of the children, the extra time they have while their kids are in childcare is much needed, well-deserved and can go to the many duties they have as mothers. I also had the privilege to work with Dr. de Pena in the MF’s clinic. Dr. de Pena's work is indispensable, with an impact that goes largely unrecognized and is far-reaching. I once remarked that he "could do it all," and I meant that. MF’s is fortunate to have someone serving their clients in their many health needs. He is also an asset as an educator willing to share his experience. His down-to-earth manner makes him relatable and popular among clients. MF's clients are truly in good hands while in Dr. de Pena's clinic.
To conclude, MF’s is committed to supporting volunteers and does it ALL for their clients, with passion you’d have to travel the whole world over to find. The founders are the most selfless people I have ever met. This organization transforms the lives of all fortunate to encounter Mayan Families. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see Mayan Families get more funding for internal, administrative duties so that it could be a bit more efficient. All of the work MFs does is incredibly critical, but it needs more funding fully accomplish the mission of each respective program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

As founder of a humanitarian charity in the travel industry, I have seen a lot of NGO's in many different countries. Mayan Families has the most substantive programs and committed personnel I have ever seen. Not only is the location drop dead gorgeous on the banks of Lake Atitlan, the projects are varied to any traveler's interest, sponsorship's for "ancianos", children or schools, water programs, stoves, vocational training, micro-loans and even animal programs. What really impressed me was that the staff is so committed and structures visits so each participant can see the impact of their support, and meet the individuals involved. This is exactly what we are looking for with Airline Ambassadors and why we plan to work with Mayan Families to coordinate our Guatemala programs. I would recommend Mayan Families to anyone who wants to "Travel and Make a Difference"

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to let more people know about their incredible work, so they can get more support

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

We were in country from July 1 thru 13th and worked with Mayan Families all of the areas that this organization gives the families of Guatemala hope for a better life. We look forward to working with them in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I could not think of any changes at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Install Fuel efficient Stoves, translate student letters, hand out donations and much more depending on our schedule! Volunteer