Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
347 Reviews
1234.953895
| 1 ... 3 4 5...33 |
Write A Review
October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

As founder of a humanitarian charity in the travel industry, I have seen a lot of NGO's in many different countries. Mayan Families has the most substantive programs and committed personnel I have ever seen. Not only is the location drop dead gorgeous on the banks of Lake Atitlan, the projects are varied to any traveler's interest, sponsorship's for "ancianos", children or schools, water programs, stoves, vocational training, micro-loans and even animal programs. What really impressed me was that the staff is so committed and structures visits so each participant can see the impact of their support, and meet the individuals involved. This is exactly what we are looking for with Airline Ambassadors and why we plan to work with Mayan Families to coordinate our Guatemala programs. I would recommend Mayan Families to anyone who wants to "Travel and Make a Difference"

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to let more people know about their incredible work, so they can get more support

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

This past weekend my daughter, nephew and I returned from a one week stay in Panajchel, Guatemala where we volunteeered with Mayan Families. Our focus this trip, our second year volunteering with Mayan Families, was to install stoves for 10 deserving Mayan families paid for with money that my nephew raised to support this very important effort. The beauty of installing stoves is that it has an immedate impact in transforming the health and well-being of each needy family who receives one. For us, the experience was magical and profoundly gratifying.

Generally, we can't say enough about the Mayan Families organization and the tireless efforts they make on behalf of the Mayan population around Lake Atitlan. The energy, love and care Sharon, Dwight and the entire MF crew give to enhance and change the lives of these lovely people is astounding. From educating, to feeding, to caring and building, they provide comprehensive support to the poor of the poor in Guatemala. We thank them for the opportunity to help.

We will be returning to Panajachel next year, with even more energy and resources than this year, with an eye to do our little part for those who work so hard and deserve so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

We were in country from July 1 thru 13th and worked with Mayan Families all of the areas that this organization gives the families of Guatemala hope for a better life. We look forward to working with them in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I could not think of any changes at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I originally donated to help a baby see a doctor. After reading some of the blogs, I then sponsored a child to attend school. Learning more about his family and the struggle they endure on a daily basis, I then provided food for the family on a monthly basis. I am confident the services they provide to the young and old make a significant difference in the lives of many. I highly recommend Mayan Families to anyone wishing to donate to a charity. Your donation will go to work immediately.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After treating Mayans for 5 years for their dental disease and organizing the dental missions with my wife and family ,we discovered Mayanfamiles.org.. What an amazing organization with such compassion and commitment to helping mankind. Sharon and Dwight have dedicated their lives to aiding the Mayan people of Guatemala.
Their aid in organizing our team of Dental and Ophthalmology healthcare providers was so helpful and professional making our trip our best yet. We will definitely partner with Mayanfamilies in all of our future trips to Guatemala.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not a thing except continue to support them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

I contacted Mayan families for help with a specific family in Guatemala. Although they were two hours away from the office, they had the entire family there and had received medical care within 24 hou... more

June 21, 2013

Mayan Families is an EXCELLENT organization. They are helping soo many people through such diversified aspects. From running pre-schools, providing older children with school supplies, shoes, and necessities, feeding the elderly, providing knowledge through trade schools, and even building houses for families. They even have a medical clinic and the price is very very reasonable since most medications are donated.
You can really connect with your sponsored family or child by visiting them, sending them items through the mail, or by purchasing them through www.Mayanfamilies.org. You can provide your child a birthday cake, a holiday tamale basket, or a shovel for a dad, or buy 100lb of corn or beans for a family .....once again, very reasonably priced!
They have to ability to skype with your student, if they come to the office, and they are very good at sending pictures of their progress or posting them on their Picasa web site!
I am very happy I found this organization. They are changing lives there!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build more satellite offices throughout Guatemala. I think people trust and believe in them and there maybe room for additional offices so they can help more families!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012

I contacted Mayan families for help with a specific family in Guatemala. Although they were two hours away from the office, they had the entire family there and had received medical care within 24 hours! I could not believe how fast, sincere, and helpful they were. They gave me several options for my donation and I felt 100% happy. I am so glad I found them and I will continue to donate through them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2013

more

June 16, 2013

The group with Mayan Families is amazing! I am amazed with Sharon and Dwight and their huge hearts and wisdom which continue making a difference in so many lives! It extends with Dr. Luis of Mayan Families as well as the dedicated drivers and translators and organizers like Sara, Delia and Michelle! My husband, 2 daughters and myself already miss being in Pana to work aside these people and many more. We visited homes, schools, fixed a roof, worked in the woodshop, and most importantly gained some relationships with many whose paths we crossed. An experience my family will never forget and we definitely are wanting to return!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered as part of a group from Nashville, TN in May, 2013. Our group visited schools, families in different villages, and did some construction in 2 different homes. I am most impressed by how much Mayan Famalies does in these communities. They educate, feed , shelter, heal, and even take care of animals roaming the town without homes. I feel they have the right formula for what they are doing in Guatemala. Their growth is proof that they are really committed to their work. After meeting the founders and learning about their work there, I am very excited about my personal sponsorship that I will begin immediately. I also look forward to returning to see the families and to volunteer in some capacity with Mayan Families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Excellent organization with real heart! Mayan Families works with the most poverty stricken children and families. It is amazing the work they do with so little resources! The staff and other volunteers were remarkable! I am inspired and you will be too! Great organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more monies!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I volunteered as a translator for them and went on the weekly pre-school food drops, as well as translated student letters to their sponsors. The staff there is wonderful, and the medical clinic is a true gift to the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Install Fuel efficient Stoves, translate student letters, hand out donations and much more depending on our schedule! Volunteer