Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
361 Reviews
1234.952915
Write A Review
November 9, 2013

more

November 9, 2013

Our medical mission group, Hands of Healing Medical Missions, travels from Florida in the US. We have worked several times over the years with Mayan Families. They have been such a great help and made our mission trips so much easier and organized. Those in their company are compassionate and so knowledgable about the families and villages they serve. Their programs for children, the elders and the community are incredible...frankly I don't know how they do all they do! Blessings to them!
Cindi

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2013

more

November 6, 2013

Visiting Mayan Families in Guatemala was my first "real" experience outside of the United States, and as an 18 year old high school student the usual culture shock and humbling was immense. And though I was shocked by the poverty, malnutrition, and lack of resources, I came to realize that both the Mayan Families organization and the people of Guatemala were some of the kindest and most welcoming people I've ever encountered. During my entire visit I was guided and taught hands on by the Volunteers of the organization, and had the chance to see first hand how the organization is able to help the much needed people. It was an extremely rewarding experience and believe fully that this chance I had has taught me more than years in general schooling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2013

more

November 6, 2013

Our Rotary Club has been partnering with Mayan Families for the past 3 years, and out experience has been beyond my expectations. The organization is so well run and is fully integrated into the community it serves, so Mayan Families knows so much about the needs and is able to get us plugged in with truly impactful projects that are changing the lives of such needy people. We will continue to partner with Mayan Families because we know that they are so accountable for the projects we've implemented together.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

Wonderful, rewarding experience Looking forward to going again next year. JMG

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

Going to Panajachel with Hands of Healing Guatemala to work with Mayan Families was the best experience I have had since I was a youth doing local missions with my church. I can't wait to return next year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I participate with the Group Global Hands of Healing in conjunction with Mayan Families in Panahachel, Guatemala. It was a wonderful experience. I was so impressed with both organizations and hope to particplate again. Sharon and Dwight at Mayan families do so much to help the families of that area. I am amazed at their commitment and their organization of their headquarters. I encourage everyone to look into the work they do. It is grassroots and hands on all the way that includes many young volunteers and workers. The dedication that I saw toward those they help was really inspiring. Thank you so much for the time I spent and I hope to return. it was a life changing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 1, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 weeks volunteering with Mayan Families last month. I am a Registered Midwife from Australia. I felt Mayan Families were very accommodating and wanted to put my skills in healt... more

October 17, 2013

I spent 3 weeks Volunteering at Mayan Families with my partner Ben. We had such a fulfilling experience. It was wonderful working as a part of such a large team where the work is very grass roots and raw. I am a REgistered Midwife in Australia and felt my skills were utilised during my time with Mayan Families. We have treasured memories and hope to one day return and do some further work with this organisation!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 weeks volunteering with Mayan Families last month. I am a Registered Midwife from Australia. I felt Mayan Families were very accommodating and wanted to put my skills in health to use during our short stay at Lake Atitlan. Sharon and the team organised visits to Preschools in the surrounding communities to present to the mothers regarding maternal and women's health. Mayan Families is a very warm and welcoming organisation which i felt privileged to be a part of the team in August 2013. My partner and I are already planning a return trip!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 16, 2013

My partner and I volunteered at Mayan Families for the previous 3 weeks. It was such a enriching and positive experience working alongside Sharon, Dwight and all the staff. This organisation is comple... more

October 16, 2013

I feel privileged to have volunteered with Mayan families. It's such a unique organisation as it focuses on empowering the local Guatemalan people to make changes within their community. I can't wait to return next year to see how their programs have developed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013

My partner and I volunteered at Mayan Families for the previous 3 weeks. It was such a enriching and positive experience working alongside Sharon, Dwight and all the staff. This organisation is completely in touch with the needs of the Panajachel community and provide services and support of the highest standard. I saw first hand how important donations are for this continued support. We are already planning our trip back to support this wonderful organisation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I spent a month volunteering with Mayan families in Panajachel this summer. Mayan families gave me the incredible opportunity to work with Dr. Louis De Peña in the clinic at the Mayan families compound.
For a pre-med student like me this was a great learning experience. The staff at Mayan
families all tried to ensure that I had the best experience possible and were very accommodating and friendly.
All of Panajachel knows about Mayan families, and that is for a good reason. Mayan families has helped improve several important resources in the area: health care, education, job opportunities, etc. They make a difference in the lives of many people in and around Panajachel.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 19, 2010

We are a Florida-based medical, dental and vision mission team. We have partnered with Mayan Families on numerous occasions. Mayan Families coordinates sites for our clinics and provides translators ... more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mayan Families has the most holistic and comprehensive program that I have experienced in Guatemala! Their programs are benefitting thousands in need, yet they somehow manage to personalize the attention given to each and every family they serve. My wife and I are so pleased to sponsor a child through Mayan Families, we get regular updates on her, and we have absolute confidence that our contributions are directly benefitting our child and her family. One of the most genuine organizations I have ever encountered and worked with in service to God's people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2010

We are a Florida-based medical, dental and vision mission team. We have partnered with Mayan Families on numerous occasions. Mayan Families coordinates sites for our clinics and provides translators and staff. We've had the opportunity to experience the substantial difference that Mayan Families is making in Guatemala and they are the real deal! Their holistic approach to improving impoverished lives is nothing short of miraculous.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the difference school sponsorship can makes for a child.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Install Fuel efficient Stoves, translate student letters, hand out donations and much more depending on our schedule! Volunteer