Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
361 Reviews
1234.952915
Write A Review
February 15, 2014

more

February 15, 2014

I am a dental hygiene student and a small group of dental hygiene and nursing students went to Guatemala and worked for a few days with the Mayan Families. I really enjoyed working with them and it was a great experience. This organization is doing amazing work for the Guatemala people. I was amazed at how organized they were and how much of a difference they are making for these families. I would love to work with them again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 22, 2014

more

January 22, 2014

I had the opportunity to bring 10 university students along with another professor to volunteer our health care services. It was truly a life altering experience. The experience we had with Mayan families far exceeded my expectations. It also gave us an opportunity to fact find and see what else we could do for Mayan families as we continue our relationship and plan on returning.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They were exceptional!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am nursing student that had the privilege to work with Mayan Families. I am absolutely impressed at how much of an impact Mayan Families has already made amongst the population. The staff is full of such great and caring people -- each person made me feel welcome and I enjoyed working with each one of them. After working Mayan Families and seeing what a positive impact they've created for these families, public health nursing and working with indigenous populations has now become an interest as a possible career path.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The week of Jan. 11-19 I led a group of nursing students in a Service Learning Experience in Guatemala. The week my group of nursing and speech pathology students spent working in Panajachel with Mayan Families was life changing for us. Mayan Families was one of the 10 best experiences of my life and having the support of directors, Sharon and Dwight and all the dedicated, committed staff made our ability to work with the people of Panajachel and surrounding communities a daily privilege. The authentic caring and respect for the people of Guatemala by all the people associated with Mayan Families was humbling for us. My students had an incredible life altering experience that will impact them for years to come and all of that because of the selfless work that is done by every single person at Mayan Families. Our university plans on having a continued relationship with Mayan Families and we know that we are the lucky ones!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

FIND THEM MORE FUNDING!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I work in international education and helped coordinate a volunteer program through Mayan Families for our College of Nursing and Public Health. It is a regular function of my job to help coordinate such linkages and, at times, we've been disappointed in the agencies we've targeted. I honestly could not be more thrilled at what we found at Mayan Families... caring people who've grown their non-profit to effectively feed and service over 2500 community members.

I am so moved by what they do and so happy to be at, what I hope, is the start of a long relationship between our university and their programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that would need improvement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
December 7, 2012

Being part of a community is important to me, and that is what I have received with my volunteer experiences with Mayan Families. I sponsor a little girl to attend a pre-school hosted by Mayan Famili... more

December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Three years ago, on my 3rd visit to Panajachel, Guatemala, I decided to sponsor a 3 year old girl sothrough Mayan Families so she could attend preschool, get 2 meals per day, a daily vitamin, and learn Spanish in preparation for public school. I I wanted make a difference in the life on a girl, hoping to give her a chance for an education and a better future. At the same time, my mother decided to provide a considerable donation so that a teacher assistant could be hired for the pre-school.

Little did I know how this decision would impact my life and the journey it would take. This past November on my 5th visit to Guatemala, staff at Mayan Families arranged for me to spend an afternoon, visiting Marta Lidia and her family. My mother passed away this year, a difficult time for me. I brought a bag of her sweaters and shoes to give to the mother as a way to continue Mom's spirit for giving. Maria, the mother, was thrilled to have my mother's sweaters and actually chose to put on a pink one bringing me to tears as Mom was wearing that sweater on one of the last photos of the 2 of us. I showed the photo to this family. Orlando, the father, expressed deep condolences over my mother's death and proceeded to invite me to become a member of their family with the hopes that their love and support might in some small way, replace some of the love I miss from my mother. What an amazing gift - family and love - the biggest gift one could ever receive. And from a family that lives on $40 per week.

Little did I know that I would be the actual beneficiary from this sponsorship in such a meaningful and touching way. So thanks to Mayan Families for making the gift of love and family possible for me at a time when I missed my mother so much. I am so blessed and enriched by this volunteer opportunity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more stability in funding so that they have a stable base of funding staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2012

Being part of a community is important to me, and that is what I have received with my volunteer experiences with Mayan Families. I sponsor a little girl to attend a pre-school hosted by Mayan Families aimed at giving Mayan children a head-start on life by learning Spanish, receiving 2 meals per day, and learning how to interact in a school setting before starting pubic school. Over the past 2 years, t is powerful to see the change in the girl I sponsor. She smiles now, is willing to talk to me, have her picture taken, she laughs. We read books together in Spanish, identifying colours, objects, and laugh at the fun parts of the book. Mayan Families has arranged several personal visits with the Marta Lidia and her family, giving me the opporunity to get to know the family, spend time in their house, hear about the issues that are pressing and stressful. This year we exchanged gifts. I brought clothes and shoes for all family members; the mother gave me a woven table runner she made with a backstrap loom; the father gave me a wall hanging that he made with a foot loom. He embroidered the words in Spanish: a remembrace from your sponsored daughter Marta Lidia. This opportunity made me feel part of the community through this warm, genuine relationship. My grandchildren are similar ages to Marta Lidia and her siblings; so this year I brought clothing my grandkids had outgrown and explained where the clothes came from. The kids loved knowing that the clothes were favorite items given from my grandkids. My experience in Panajachel area is up-close with culture and indigenous people through the respectful guidance and support of Mayan Families staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012

As a donor and a volunteer, it is interesting to be working at ground level in an organization where one literally sees the end results of a donation or volunteer work. This is so rare in many non-profit service agencies. One can pick a family, a town, a project and support it, get updates and see results as hard working staff provide the infrastructure and support for volunteers and donors. A real team effort with a personal touch, using local employees who speak the various dialects of the indigenous language. I value this organization and its love and strength. Que bueno este grupo de personas.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2013

more

November 15, 2013

As the President of Tri-Village Rotary in Columbus, Ohio (USA) I want to be accountable to our members, and our community donors, to make sure that our charitable donations are used in the best way possible. Mayan Families continues to amaze me with their staff and how every penny is maximized. I had the opportunity to visit Mayan Families in March of 2013 and again in November of 2013 and each time I visit I am more reassured that our money is going to the best possible group.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2013

more

November 15, 2013

I visited the Mayan Families Foundation in Panajachel, Guatemala in November 2013 and was moved by the incredible need for the services provided by the organization, as well as the dedication of the staff and volunteers to fill that need. This is an organization that, I feel, makes the best use of donor's contributions in making a lasting impact on the lives of the children and adults it helps.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2013

more

November 11, 2013

We visited Mayan Families this summer as part of our second trip to Guatemala. We have supported two students through Mayan Families for several years, and even before our visit, we viewed it as a wonderful organization which brings aid directly to impoverished families and which very directly helps improve their lives and the futures of their children. We were able to visit both the students we support, and we saw how connected Mayan Families is to the families they help and how aware they are of the needs of each one.
We also were privileged to volunteer in some of the pre-schools that Mayan Families operates around Lake Atitlan. It was a tremendous experience. The schools are exceptionally well run and provide great benefits to the poor children who attend them by both teaching them a preschool curriculum (including introducing them to Spanish, a second language for many of the children) and by feeding them nutritious meals. In addition, we brought some medical supplies with us, and we saw the invaluable medical services that Mayan Families provides at its main site. Many, many Guatemalan families lack any access to health care due to their poverty and Mayan Families works tirelessly to help them.
Mayan Families is a great, great organization, and we will continue to support them because we know how directly and effectively they benefit poor families in Guatemala.

Mike and Janet, Oakland, CA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2013

more

November 9, 2013

Our last mission as Hands of Healing from Florida was Oct 18-26/13. We were amazed at all the Mayan Families do to help the Guatemalan people. They also made our mission easier as they made sure that our team was used in the best villages that needed the most care. It really did not matter what we needed they were there for us and the village. Many thanks to Amy and Vicki who really extended themselves to make our experience the best. I have travelled with this organization for more that 10 missions and will do so again. Nancy D

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not do a thing as they have tried to cover all the bases.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Install Fuel efficient Stoves, translate student letters, hand out donations and much more depending on our schedule! Volunteer