Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
353 Reviews
1234.954675
| 1 2 3 4...33 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2013

more

November 11, 2013

We visited Mayan Families this summer as part of our second trip to Guatemala. We have supported two students through Mayan Families for several years, and even before our visit, we viewed it as a wonderful organization which brings aid directly to impoverished families and which very directly helps improve their lives and the futures of their children. We were able to visit both the students we support, and we saw how connected Mayan Families is to the families they help and how aware they are of the needs of each one.
We also were privileged to volunteer in some of the pre-schools that Mayan Families operates around Lake Atitlan. It was a tremendous experience. The schools are exceptionally well run and provide great benefits to the poor children who attend them by both teaching them a preschool curriculum (including introducing them to Spanish, a second language for many of the children) and by feeding them nutritious meals. In addition, we brought some medical supplies with us, and we saw the invaluable medical services that Mayan Families provides at its main site. Many, many Guatemalan families lack any access to health care due to their poverty and Mayan Families works tirelessly to help them.
Mayan Families is a great, great organization, and we will continue to support them because we know how directly and effectively they benefit poor families in Guatemala.

Mike and Janet, Oakland, CA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2013

more

November 9, 2013

Our last mission as Hands of Healing from Florida was Oct 18-26/13. We were amazed at all the Mayan Families do to help the Guatemalan people. They also made our mission easier as they made sure that our team was used in the best villages that needed the most care. It really did not matter what we needed they were there for us and the village. Many thanks to Amy and Vicki who really extended themselves to make our experience the best. I have travelled with this organization for more that 10 missions and will do so again. Nancy D

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not do a thing as they have tried to cover all the bases.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2013

more

November 9, 2013

Our medical mission group, Hands of Healing Medical Missions, travels from Florida in the US. We have worked several times over the years with Mayan Families. They have been such a great help and made our mission trips so much easier and organized. Those in their company are compassionate and so knowledgable about the families and villages they serve. Their programs for children, the elders and the community are incredible...frankly I don't know how they do all they do! Blessings to them!
Cindi

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2013

more

November 6, 2013

Visiting Mayan Families in Guatemala was my first "real" experience outside of the United States, and as an 18 year old high school student the usual culture shock and humbling was immense. And though I was shocked by the poverty, malnutrition, and lack of resources, I came to realize that both the Mayan Families organization and the people of Guatemala were some of the kindest and most welcoming people I've ever encountered. During my entire visit I was guided and taught hands on by the Volunteers of the organization, and had the chance to see first hand how the organization is able to help the much needed people. It was an extremely rewarding experience and believe fully that this chance I had has taught me more than years in general schooling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2013

more

November 6, 2013

Our Rotary Club has been partnering with Mayan Families for the past 3 years, and out experience has been beyond my expectations. The organization is so well run and is fully integrated into the community it serves, so Mayan Families knows so much about the needs and is able to get us plugged in with truly impactful projects that are changing the lives of such needy people. We will continue to partner with Mayan Families because we know that they are so accountable for the projects we've implemented together.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

Wonderful, rewarding experience Looking forward to going again next year. JMG

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

Going to Panajachel with Hands of Healing Guatemala to work with Mayan Families was the best experience I have had since I was a youth doing local missions with my church. I can't wait to return next year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I participate with the Group Global Hands of Healing in conjunction with Mayan Families in Panahachel, Guatemala. It was a wonderful experience. I was so impressed with both organizations and hope to particplate again. Sharon and Dwight at Mayan families do so much to help the families of that area. I am amazed at their commitment and their organization of their headquarters. I encourage everyone to look into the work they do. It is grassroots and hands on all the way that includes many young volunteers and workers. The dedication that I saw toward those they help was really inspiring. Thank you so much for the time I spent and I hope to return. it was a life changing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was priveleged to be part of a medical team called Hands of Healing Guatemala that came to work with Mayan Families in Panajachel, Guatemala in late October of this year. I am new to this team but this partnership has been going on between these two organizations for a few years. Mayan Families is the umbrella non profit under which HOH can serve Mayan villages in the Western Highlands around Largo Atitlan. Mayan Families offered us their transportation, safety, translators and helped identify the villages who most needed our medical services. Their staff helped us in every way, every day even giving us walking tours of Pana and allowing us to tour and see how their organization functions on a daily basis.. We saw such a dedication to their Mayan brothers and sisters. Everything they do is to help better the life of every Mayan person they meet. They offer sponserships for the elderly, for children and for families. They coordinate sponserships for housing, water filters, stoves, food,. They manage 7 pre-schools and coordinate sponsers for each child. They even have a medical clinic at their compound. They make it easy to donate and ,by everthing I saw and heard,they use the donations in the most effecient ways. Personally, I was amazed at the credentials and educational backgrounds of the staff. Many young ex-pats who are committed to giving a "hand up" to the Mayan people and even many Mayan young people giving back to their people. I saw hard work, long days, lots of traveling and strong leadership. I personally was moved, by their example, to purchase water filters and co-sponser a young child to ensure her education. During each days medical clinic, their staff worked hand in hand with us to provide exams, medicine,vitimins glasses and shoes to as many people as can be seen in a day. It was a life changing experience for me and I certainly was inspired by everyone who worked for Mayan Families . Judy--- Birmingham, Alabama, USA

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 1, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 weeks volunteering with Mayan Families last month. I am a Registered Midwife from Australia. I felt Mayan Families were very accommodating and wanted to put my skills in healt... more

October 17, 2013

I spent 3 weeks Volunteering at Mayan Families with my partner Ben. We had such a fulfilling experience. It was wonderful working as a part of such a large team where the work is very grass roots and raw. I am a REgistered Midwife in Australia and felt my skills were utilised during my time with Mayan Families. We have treasured memories and hope to one day return and do some further work with this organisation!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 weeks volunteering with Mayan Families last month. I am a Registered Midwife from Australia. I felt Mayan Families were very accommodating and wanted to put my skills in health to use during our short stay at Lake Atitlan. Sharon and the team organised visits to Preschools in the surrounding communities to present to the mothers regarding maternal and women's health. Mayan Families is a very warm and welcoming organisation which i felt privileged to be a part of the team in August 2013. My partner and I are already planning a return trip!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Install Fuel efficient Stoves, translate student letters, hand out donations and much more depending on our schedule! Volunteer