Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
349 Reviews
1234.954155
Previous | 1 2 3...33 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Mayan Families operates their charity in the Lake Atitlan area of Guatemala. They work with Mayan people to improve the lives of the desperately poor. The projects include providing water filtration systems, building stoves that pipe smoke out of the home, providing children and elderly one hot meal a day, and operating preschools.

My experience with Mayan Families involved helping to build a stove for a family that was building wood fires on the floor of their home. This family had been abandoned by the father and the mother struggled to feed and cloth herself and her four children. The stove we built is fuel-efficient for wood burning and will improve the health of the family by piping the smoke out of the building, thus reducing eye and lung inflammation and illness.

Growing up in the U.S., this is a level of poverty I have never witnessed before. The work that Mayan Families does for the native people of Guatemala is critical and fundamental to improving the health and basic well-being of the Mayan people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I spent several days volunteering with Mayan Families in July, 2014. Mayan Families is the perfect partner for visiting groups who want to make a difference in the lives of the people in the highlands of Guatemala. They know the greatest needs among families, and coordinate our projects. We built highly efficient cooking stoves, passed out shoes to many children, and visited our families we sponsor. They are also instrumental in providing medical and nutritional support to many impoverished families. I can't say enough good things about Mayan Families. They have a heart for these wonderful residents of Guatemala, and the things they have accomplished in 6-7 years is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our Rotary Club had an outstanding visit to Guatemala and projects with Mayan Families! The staff was so supportive before, during and after our project concluded. They are very well organized as a non profit to accomplish their mission. We met so many families in Guatemala that were very greatful to Mayan Families for their new stove, water filters, education for their children, senior feeding programs, housing, and much more. An non profit to be proud of!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More donations translates into greater assistance to the mayan families that really need the assistance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I coordinated a trip for a group of our donors in February 2014. Everyone at Mayan Families was extremely helpful throughout the planning process and while our visit was taking place. Our group was so impressed by the lengths the Mayan Families team members were willing to go to accommodate our group's needs. Thank you to Sharon, Dwight, Elizabeth, Hannah, Sergio, and everyone else at Mayan Families for making this such a positive experience!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is our third trip to Guatemala, and enjoyed working through Mayan Families, and seeing the greT work they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Along with the volenteers, they need to find some way to retain some of the great people who work there. With the high turnover, things fall through the cracks, causing everyone else to be spread thin. I would like to help many people also, however if things grow too fast, it's not good for anyone. They should try and limit the amount of people in the program until the infrastructure can handle it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 19, 2014

more

February 19, 2014

What a wonderful opportunity to help God's people. It is good to know that what is given for the Mayan families, goes to the people who need help. All the Mayan voluntees seem to love their roles and care about the Mayan people. They were so willing to do anything that we asked. It might be good to see the upper level school. We did spend a lot of time waiting for directions. Connie did a great job planning things for us to see. Sharon opening her home for us was wonderful. Thank you Hananna for all your help. It was a great experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better organized with directions

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 19, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
December 3, 2012

I have been working with Mayan Families for the last several yrs. and take groups down to Guatemala twice a yr. My groups have sponsored over 70 students in school and we are about to build our first ... more

February 19, 2014

I bring groups twice a yr. and am always so pleased with the work Mayan Families does here. I couldn't arrange these trips without all their help. My groups have sponsored over 70 students through Mayan Families to enable them to get an education along with helping the families with much needed food and clothing. We'll be back in Nov.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 3, 2012

I have been working with Mayan Families for the last several yrs. and take groups down to Guatemala twice a yr. My groups have sponsored over 70 students in school and we are about to build our first house for a family in El Barranco. None of this would have been possible without Mayan Families. They help with hotels, transportation and all the work and home visits we do.Guatemala has been a blessing to my life and Mayan Families made that happen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2012

I take mission groups to Guatemala twice a yr. to work with Mayan Families because they do such an incredible work in the highlands of Guatemala. In times of disaster they are the group that is there for the people...feeding,clothing and housing. They are the hardest working group of people I have ever seen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 19, 2011

I have been involved with Mayan Families for 3yrs and never cease to be amazed at what they are able to accomplish. They have made such an incredibly positive impact on the the Mayans of the highlands of Guatemala. My life is forever changed by having found Mayan Families.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

through the students sponsorship I have seen children lives changed. An education gives them hope for their future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more money channeled to Mayan Families so they could help more people.

February 16, 2014

more

February 16, 2014

I am a dental hygiene student and had the opportunity to work with the Mayan Families on a mission trip through school. As I worked with the Mayan families I was extremely surprised with how many great things the Mayan families did for the people of Guatemala. They did a great job organizing our activities while we worked with the Guatemalans. They truly have a love for what they do and they are very compassionate about their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 15, 2014

more

February 15, 2014

I am a dental hygiene student and a small group of dental hygiene and nursing students went to Guatemala and worked for a few days with the Mayan Families. I really enjoyed working with them and it was a great experience. This organization is doing amazing work for the Guatemala people. I was amazed at how organized they were and how much of a difference they are making for these families. I would love to work with them again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 22, 2014

more

January 22, 2014

I had the opportunity to bring 10 university students along with another professor to volunteer our health care services. It was truly a life altering experience. The experience we had with Mayan families far exceeded my expectations. It also gave us an opportunity to fact find and see what else we could do for Mayan families as we continue our relationship and plan on returning.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They were exceptional!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...33 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Install Fuel efficient Stoves, translate student letters, hand out donations and much more depending on our schedule! Volunteer