Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
369 Reviews
1234.953935
Write A Review
March 5, 2015

more


1 previous review
February 22, 2013

I have just completed my second week with this organization in the past year and have had great experiences each time. The support for the Mayan people and the support for those of us helping the May... more

March 5, 2015

I have made four annual trips to Panajachel and worked with Mayan Families each year. I also sponsor both school kids and one Anciana or elderly woman. I am extremely impressed with the growth that I have seen from year to year in the infrastructure of the organization as well as the services they offer to the people (and animals) of Guatemala. Where I really see the final effect is in the families that I sponsor. The Mom's are learning Spanish and seeing the importance in having their kids educated. I LOVE the work that Mayan Families is doing to support these people. Thanks so much Sharon and Dwight!! Great job.
February 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have just completed my second week with this organization in the past year and have had great experiences each time. The support for the Mayan people and the support for those of us helping the Mayan people is amazing. I am sponsoring the education for three children through Mayan Families and I am assured that this organization is following up and watching. Sharon has helped me with ways to further support one of my students who was not doing well and is now successful with his education. All in all a very knowledgable and helpful group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2015

more


1 previous review
March 21, 2014

Our Rotary Club had an outstanding visit to Guatemala and projects with Mayan Families! The staff was so supportive before, during and after our project concluded. They are very well organized as a ... more

March 4, 2015

The Rotary Club of Santa Barbara provided funds to Mayan Families to assist the poorest of the poor in Guatemala. Eight of us from the club flew down to give personal service by volunteering for 5 days and provide valued service to those in need. We were able to build stoves, provide food baskets, donate water filters, serve the elderly lunch, and so much more. It was an outstanding opportunity for us to see how our donation was being spent through the Mayan Families organization. They were so supportive before, during, and after our visit. I have worked in nonprofits for over 35 years so I know how difficult it can be to meet the needs of the clients, donors, and volunteers. I am amazed how well they do it, with their caring and concern for the people they serve. I can highly recommend support to Mayan Families!
March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our Rotary Club had an outstanding visit to Guatemala and projects with Mayan Families! The staff was so supportive before, during and after our project concluded. They are very well organized as a non profit to accomplish their mission. We met so many families in Guatemala that were very greatful to Mayan Families for their new stove, water filters, education for their children, senior feeding programs, housing, and much more. An non profit to be proud of!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More donations translates into greater assistance to the mayan families that really need the assistance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2015

more

March 4, 2015

For the second year in a row I had an incredible experience working with Mayan Families. Their programs for the Mayan people are very wide ranging and assist all ages of Mayans. Last year I took the opportunity to sponsor a little girl in Tierra Linda. This year I was blessed with the support of my Rotary club and Mayan Families to actually work on her house to improve her living conditions. The Mayans are so appreciative of anything we can do for them which makes the effort all that more rewarding. The smiles and hugs we receive from them are priceless. I will continue to help them for as long as I am able and look forward to returning in the near future.
January 31, 2015

more

January 31, 2015

Mayan Families is an amazing nonprofit organization that helps the poor and in need natives in Guatemala. My time shared with them was one to remember. It's one thing to know that people around the world and poor and struggling with hunger, but it is a whole other story to actually witness it in person. During my volunteer work I had the opportunity to work with preschool children and also build stoves for the most needy in the mountains of Guatemala. It was the most rewarding feeling to see smiles on children and families faces every time I was near. They are so appreciative and love everything that you do for them. Building stoves was very touching and heartfelt. Some families even had tears in their eyes because a stove was something they never owned before. Guatemala was truly an amazing experience and I can’t wait to go back!
January 26, 2015

more

January 26, 2015

I volunteered with Mayan families through my nursing school. It was seriously one of the most rewarding and life changing opportunities I have experienced. All of the employees are well informed of the organizations mission and of the history of the villages. This nonprofit helps so many people in the community ranging from preschooler education to elderly care and meal preparation. I could not have asked for a better organization for my school to have partnered with for our trip. I really hope to have further involvement and contact with Mayan families.
January 26, 2015

more

January 26, 2015

I volunteered with Mayan Families as part of a healthcare focused college volunteer trip. We were given an orientation session where we learned about the organization and their focus areas. We were then able to volunteer our time with the local indigenous populations. Mayan Families organized our volunteer activities each day as well as some of our travel logistics. They did a fantastic job providing us with meaningful opportunities to connect with and help the local people. The professionalism, dedication, and passion of their staff is unmatched. Thank you Mayan Families!
December 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I took a group of 17 high school students on a service trip with Mayan Families to install 10 Onil stoves and we had a most amazing time being hosted by the wonderfully attentive and thoughtful folks of Mayan Families! The staff is energized, lovely, and so thoughtful in organizing every facet of our trip and meeds. We felt like members of their family and became fast friends! We love their vision of bringing a comprehensive multi-plan to educate, care for, and empower the indigenous peoples of the Central Highlands. Our group and individuals caught the joy and vision of sponsoring young students, purchasing water filtration kits, and becoming partners with Sharon and Dwight and their phenomenal staff to deepen and expand our participation in other outreaches such as the family Christmas baskets and many other interesting and life changing endeavors! Thank you Mayan Families!!!
December 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Mayan families is a well established and fast growing non-profit. But don't let this fool you, they have the reputation of a great organization for a reason. Not only do they continue to help so many people in need but also, the people that work for Mayan Families really make it what it is. Mayan Families promotes a group help mentality; continually working and thinking together towards the goal of helping those in need. This, in turn, makes for a very awesome and in-depth volunteering experience. An experience consisting of more than being just a tourist, skimming the surface of a town, and not knowing how to help. I highly recommend Mayan Families to anyone looking for a volunteering opportunity in Guatemala.
November 21, 2014

more

November 21, 2014

I sponsor 9 children with Mayan Families and have volunteered with them many times. The staff is great and the organization does so much to help the indigenous families around lake Atitlan. They have made a difference in so many peoples lives.
November 18, 2014

more

November 18, 2014

While working with Mayan Families this past month, I could not tell you properly how impressed I was with both the staff, and their ability to make things work for the benefit of these Mayan Families. They are truly a blessing. I worked in the classroom while the students were taken individually to test their Spanish skills. Working with them in the classroom was great, but doing volunteer database work made it come full circle. I was able to see and input the results from the different schools, and they floored me. I was overall impressed with the staff and the students.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Install Fuel efficient Stoves, translate student letters, hand out donations and much more depending on our schedule! Volunteer