Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
355 Reviews
1234.954935
Previous | 1 2 3...33 |
Write A Review
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

We came to volunteer with Mayan Families as part of a Mission Trip. We installed stoves, worked in the pre-schools, organized a soccer game, and worked with elder care.
We were SO impressed with Mayan Families and everything they organized for us. Not only was it amazing to work so closely
with the families and see a real impact we were having on their lives, but the Mayan Families staff was so friendly and helpful, it was wonderful getting to know them as well. They were very organized, planned everything for us, and we even had beautiful accommodations that they set up for us at a nice hotel, as well as got to go out for lots of great dinners with the Mayan Families staff.
My favorite parts were seeing our youth group having fun with the kids and youth from the area, playing soccer, catch, and just hanging out. The area is so beautiful, the people are real artisans and so kind, and Mayan Families was the best organization we have been on a mission trip with. I recommend them so highly!
September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I worked as an intern at Mayan Families for two months this summer and had the most rewarding and valuable experience of my life so far. I had visited Guatemala with a university group for one week in May and met with several nonprofit organizations across the country to find potential partners. Mayan Families stood out as well-organized and fast-growing. Throughout my entire internship there the staff was friendly and helpful. The organization runs numerous programs that very visibly help families living in poverty. Every native Guatemalan that I met appreciated the work that Mayan Families does in the region. They work very reliably and transparently when distributing donations. They truly do educate, feed, shelter, and heal.
September 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 7, 2012

My son did his eagle project through Mayan families. They were very good to work through. We went down to Guatemala and saw first hand how they are helping people help themselves. more

September 18, 2014

My Children and I started working with Mayan Families in 2009 and have been back twice including this last summer for a month. One of the things that sets this organization apart from other good ones in the Lake Atitlan area is that they truly make use of the resources that are offered. They don't charge you to work for them and they operate on a shoestring (even for Guatemala) and work very hard. I have seen their growth from a relatively small NGO to being a Major Provider of services to those who have no safety net. They are forward thinking an their focus is on education. They start with the youngest, most at risk children and help them to be successful in school. Their primary purpose is to educate. To do this effectively the people they service need help with food, shelter, and health. They do their best to "teach a man to fish and feed them for a lifetime" but sometimes during the process help is needed to continue the process.

Another significant part of this organization is that two of the directors and most of the employees are indigenous and understand the culture and needs of the served population. This allows them to better monitor who really needs help, how they need help, and who is trying to play the system. Sharon, Dwight, and Patti have worked very hard to make their corner of the world a better place and to allow other who want to help and participate the means of doing so.

I couldn't possibly give enough stars to Mayan Families because "far exceeds expectations" does not even begin to explain how I feel about their ethos and efforts. I will continue to work with them for years to come and recommend to anyone I know who is willing to make a difference that they consider doing the same!
February 7, 2012

My son did his eagle project through Mayan families. They were very good to work through. We went down to Guatemala and saw first hand how they are helping people help themselves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 23, 2013

This past weekend my daughter, nephew and I returned from a one week stay in Panajchel, Guatemala where we volunteeered with Mayan Families. Our focus this trip, our second year volunteering with May... more

September 17, 2014

We just returned after a 10 days working with Mayan Families. I, along with my daughter and nephew, have been volunteering with this great non-profit for the past 4 years. The focus of our volunteering has been to raise money for the purpose of installing stoves for indigenous families living around Lake Atitlan. The beauty of this particular program, and most of the programs run by Mayan Families, is the direct impact and immediate impact they have on the recipients. We love the fact that we see where the money we raised is going and that we literally have a hand in helping change the lives of people who truly need the help.

We continue to be impressed with Mayan Families' dedication to their motto to "Educate, Feed, Shelter, Feed" these wonderful people around Lake Atitlan.
August 23, 2013

This past weekend my daughter, nephew and I returned from a one week stay in Panajchel, Guatemala where we volunteeered with Mayan Families. Our focus this trip, our second year volunteering with Mayan Families, was to install stoves for 10 deserving Mayan families paid for with money that my nephew raised to support this very important effort. The beauty of installing stoves is that it has an immedate impact in transforming the health and well-being of each needy family who receives one. For us, the experience was magical and profoundly gratifying.

Generally, we can't say enough about the Mayan Families organization and the tireless efforts they make on behalf of the Mayan population around Lake Atitlan. The energy, love and care Sharon, Dwight and the entire MF crew give to enhance and change the lives of these lovely people is astounding. From educating, to feeding, to caring and building, they provide comprehensive support to the poor of the poor in Guatemala. We thank them for the opportunity to help.

We will be returning to Panajachel next year, with even more energy and resources than this year, with an eye to do our little part for those who work so hard and deserve so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2014

more

September 14, 2014

I just got back from Guatemala after my third summer working with Mayan Families. During the year, I raise money from my community, and then go install fuel efficient, concrete stoves around Lake Atitlan. The stoves properly ventilate the smoke out of the home, avoiding the many health risks that come with an open fire. I have done numerous community service projects here in New York and in Tanzania. I can honestly say that Mayan Families is the most productive, organized nonprofit that I have ever worked for. What makes this particular organization unique, is that one really has a sense of exactly where his or her money is going. You raise the money to buy stoves, you go install the stoves. It is beautifully simple. I also can't say enough about the staff at Mayan Families. They have always been extremely kind, productive and helpful. I hope to have many more visits to Mayan Families in order to help the people of Lake Atitlan.
September 4, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 2, 2012

Amazing and Transparent. When we donated $170, they handed us a receipt and said, "Jump in the back of the pickup and deliver the bed you just bought with this money." We received hands on, real life ... more

September 4, 2014

This is most sincere group of people to work with who are truly building bridges between people who are in need and those who can help fulfill those needs. They give the full experience of not just writing a check, but also allowing you the experience to meet the people whom you are helping. And it is an honor to be part of the work. I trust Mayan Families and the work they do. I have fundraised thousands of dollars on their behalf and will continue to work with them to give even more. I have brought numerous people to work there and all have had positive experiences. From building a home for a family to fitting a child with a pair of shoes, it amazes me how they are able to find the needs and fulfill them. I recommend this nonprofit to any and everyone.
June 2, 2012

Amazing and Transparent. When we donated $170, they handed us a receipt and said, "Jump in the back of the pickup and deliver the bed you just bought with this money." We received hands on, real life experience and worked directly with the people thanks to Sharon and Dwight. To say they are incredible is an understatement. I cannot wait to return to this beautiful country and advocate funds and donations for them here in the States. I keep picturing having lunch with Sharon and this little boy and his mother walked in..She said: "Oh Sebastian, how is your rash? Is the medicine we gave you working?" Talk about knowing the people and serving their needs. Blow Away!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Mayan Families operates their charity in the Lake Atitlan area of Guatemala. They work with Mayan people to improve the lives of the desperately poor. The projects include providing water filtration systems, building stoves that pipe smoke out of the home, providing children and elderly one hot meal a day, and operating preschools.

My experience with Mayan Families involved helping to build a stove for a family that was building wood fires on the floor of their home. This family had been abandoned by the father and the mother struggled to feed and cloth herself and her four children. The stove we built is fuel-efficient for wood burning and will improve the health of the family by piping the smoke out of the building, thus reducing eye and lung inflammation and illness.

Growing up in the U.S., this is a level of poverty I have never witnessed before. The work that Mayan Families does for the native people of Guatemala is critical and fundamental to improving the health and basic well-being of the Mayan people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I spent several days volunteering with Mayan Families in July, 2014. Mayan Families is the perfect partner for visiting groups who want to make a difference in the lives of the people in the highlands of Guatemala. They know the greatest needs among families, and coordinate our projects. We built highly efficient cooking stoves, passed out shoes to many children, and visited our families we sponsor. They are also instrumental in providing medical and nutritional support to many impoverished families. I can't say enough good things about Mayan Families. They have a heart for these wonderful residents of Guatemala, and the things they have accomplished in 6-7 years is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our Rotary Club had an outstanding visit to Guatemala and projects with Mayan Families! The staff was so supportive before, during and after our project concluded. They are very well organized as a non profit to accomplish their mission. We met so many families in Guatemala that were very greatful to Mayan Families for their new stove, water filters, education for their children, senior feeding programs, housing, and much more. An non profit to be proud of!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More donations translates into greater assistance to the mayan families that really need the assistance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I coordinated a trip for a group of our donors in February 2014. Everyone at Mayan Families was extremely helpful throughout the planning process and while our visit was taking place. Our group was so impressed by the lengths the Mayan Families team members were willing to go to accommodate our group's needs. Thank you to Sharon, Dwight, Elizabeth, Hannah, Sergio, and everyone else at Mayan Families for making this such a positive experience!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...33 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Install Fuel efficient Stoves, translate student letters, hand out donations and much more depending on our schedule! Volunteer