Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
347 Reviews
1234.953895
Previous | 1 2 3...33 |
Write A Review
March 21, 2014

more

March 21, 2014

Our Rotary Club had an outstanding visit to Guatemala and projects with Mayan Families! The staff was so supportive before, during and after our project concluded. They are very well organized as a non profit to accomplish their mission. We met so many families in Guatemala that were very greatful to Mayan Families for their new stove, water filters, education for their children, senior feeding programs, housing, and much more. An non profit to be proud of!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More donations translates into greater assistance to the mayan families that really need the assistance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I coordinated a trip for a group of our donors in February 2014. Everyone at Mayan Families was extremely helpful throughout the planning process and while our visit was taking place. Our group was so impressed by the lengths the Mayan Families team members were willing to go to accommodate our group's needs. Thank you to Sharon, Dwight, Elizabeth, Hannah, Sergio, and everyone else at Mayan Families for making this such a positive experience!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is our third trip to Guatemala, and enjoyed working through Mayan Families, and seeing the greT work they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Along with the volenteers, they need to find some way to retain some of the great people who work there. With the high turnover, things fall through the cracks, causing everyone else to be spread thin. I would like to help many people also, however if things grow too fast, it's not good for anyone. They should try and limit the amount of people in the program until the infrastructure can handle it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 19, 2014

more

February 19, 2014

What a wonderful opportunity to help God's people. It is good to know that what is given for the Mayan families, goes to the people who need help. All the Mayan voluntees seem to love their roles and care about the Mayan people. They were so willing to do anything that we asked. It might be good to see the upper level school. We did spend a lot of time waiting for directions. Connie did a great job planning things for us to see. Sharon opening her home for us was wonderful. Thank you Hananna for all your help. It was a great experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better organized with directions

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 19, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
December 3, 2012

I have been working with Mayan Families for the last several yrs. and take groups down to Guatemala twice a yr. My groups have sponsored over 70 students in school and we are about to build our first ... more

February 19, 2014

I bring groups twice a yr. and am always so pleased with the work Mayan Families does here. I couldn't arrange these trips without all their help. My groups have sponsored over 70 students through Mayan Families to enable them to get an education along with helping the families with much needed food and clothing. We'll be back in Nov.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 3, 2012

I have been working with Mayan Families for the last several yrs. and take groups down to Guatemala twice a yr. My groups have sponsored over 70 students in school and we are about to build our first house for a family in El Barranco. None of this would have been possible without Mayan Families. They help with hotels, transportation and all the work and home visits we do.Guatemala has been a blessing to my life and Mayan Families made that happen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2012

I take mission groups to Guatemala twice a yr. to work with Mayan Families because they do such an incredible work in the highlands of Guatemala. In times of disaster they are the group that is there for the people...feeding,clothing and housing. They are the hardest working group of people I have ever seen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 19, 2011

I have been involved with Mayan Families for 3yrs and never cease to be amazed at what they are able to accomplish. They have made such an incredibly positive impact on the the Mayans of the highlands of Guatemala. My life is forever changed by having found Mayan Families.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

through the students sponsorship I have seen children lives changed. An education gives them hope for their future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more money channeled to Mayan Families so they could help more people.

February 16, 2014

more

February 16, 2014

I am a dental hygiene student and had the opportunity to work with the Mayan Families on a mission trip through school. As I worked with the Mayan families I was extremely surprised with how many great things the Mayan families did for the people of Guatemala. They did a great job organizing our activities while we worked with the Guatemalans. They truly have a love for what they do and they are very compassionate about their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 15, 2014

more

February 15, 2014

I am a dental hygiene student and a small group of dental hygiene and nursing students went to Guatemala and worked for a few days with the Mayan Families. I really enjoyed working with them and it was a great experience. This organization is doing amazing work for the Guatemala people. I was amazed at how organized they were and how much of a difference they are making for these families. I would love to work with them again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 22, 2014

more

January 22, 2014

I had the opportunity to bring 10 university students along with another professor to volunteer our health care services. It was truly a life altering experience. The experience we had with Mayan families far exceeded my expectations. It also gave us an opportunity to fact find and see what else we could do for Mayan families as we continue our relationship and plan on returning.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They were exceptional!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 21, 2014

more

January 21, 2014

I am nursing student that had the privilege to work with Mayan Families. I am absolutely impressed at how much of an impact Mayan Families has already made amongst the population. The staff is full of such great and caring people -- each person made me feel welcome and I enjoyed working with each one of them. After working Mayan Families and seeing what a positive impact they've created for these families, public health nursing and working with indigenous populations has now become an interest as a possible career path.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The week of Jan. 11-19 I led a group of nursing students in a Service Learning Experience in Guatemala. The week my group of nursing and speech pathology students spent working in Panajachel with Mayan Families was life changing for us. Mayan Families was one of the 10 best experiences of my life and having the support of directors, Sharon and Dwight and all the dedicated, committed staff made our ability to work with the people of Panajachel and surrounding communities a daily privilege. The authentic caring and respect for the people of Guatemala by all the people associated with Mayan Families was humbling for us. My students had an incredible life altering experience that will impact them for years to come and all of that because of the selfless work that is done by every single person at Mayan Families. Our university plans on having a continued relationship with Mayan Families and we know that we are the lucky ones!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

FIND THEM MORE FUNDING!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...33 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Install Fuel efficient Stoves, translate student letters, hand out donations and much more depending on our schedule! Volunteer