Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.96975
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Matthews Help Center is a real blessing to some many peop experiencing difficult times. It is also a blessing to those of us who are privileged to volunteer ther.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I volunteered at the Matthews Help Center in 2012-2013. It was the most amazing experience I had ever had. I was a recent college graduate at the time looking for an opportunity to serve my community and volunteering here was the most rewarding experience I could of had. I learned so much. The people at the organization are truly amazing and wonderful. All the wonderful programs they have to offer the community and the kindness of everyone there warms my heart. I am truly blessed to have meet everyone that works or volunteers there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I volunteered at this wonderful organization from 1986 until I moved from the area in 2010. I served on the Board for many years, and volunteered at least three days a week. Joan Uhrich was the director during most of this time period and was an amazing leader. Tracey Doyle is to be credited for the success of the thrift shop. I will always cherish my time at the Matthews Help Center, and I shop there now with my granddaughter as often as possible.
Susan McDonald

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I began volunteering with MHC shortly after moving to the area 3 years ago. Since then I have helped out a bit in the food pantry and have helped with the Christmas program, the Back 2 school program and the Bounceback Backpack program.

Having volunteered with and worked with several
nonprofit organizations in the past, I have been extremely impressed with how well MHC is run. The unbelievable staff manage donations and volunteers efficiently and in order to maximize every penny and volunteer hour. They pull off unbelievable service to the Matthews community and do so with such grace, giving each person they encounter dignity and respect. I feel honored to be a small part of this amazing place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing I would change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have been volunteering at the Help Center in an administrative capacity for a little over a year. The organization is highly professional and efficient. They use the monies raised to help the clients and are constantly thinking of innovative ways to do so. I started volunteering because I saw some of their "Bounce Back Backpacks" in my kids' elementary school. These are backpacks filled with food that children who would otherwise go hungry over the weekend without their school meals can take home and eat. This program is just one of the many that truly impact people who live in our community. They serve Matthews and nearly surrounding areas - if charity starts at home this is the place to begin your efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I have been volunteering at Matthews Help Center for 2 years, and in all of the organizations that I've ever been a part of and volunteered with, I've never felt so honored or so part of a "family" as I do here. All of the volunteers and employees pull together and work hard to ensure that the store looks great and most importantly, the client's needs are met. I'm proud to a part of the Matthews Help Center and will continue to volunteer my time there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Well, if it were possible I would love to see them have a larger space where they could really spread out, but that is really the only change that I would make to this organization. I think that this organization is very well managed and very well put together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 11, 2011

Volunteering at the Matthews Help Center on Fridays is my favorite day of the week for that very reason. I look forward to spending my day with like minded women who are congenial and thoro... more

October 16, 2012

I began my volunteer partnership in 2008 with the Matthews Help Center. In this case, the HELP is an acronym for help ease local poverty. I was invited by a friend who told me she volunteered there and how much she liked it. I guess you could say she recruited me. I am thankful for her persistence because not only is the Matthews Help Center an outstanding organization for the Matthews community but also because the staff treats their volunteers like royalty. Though not federally funded, the Matthews Help Center is supported by generous people who give contributions as well as from the proceeds of the Backporch Treasures Thrift Shop. As a result, many people are assisted with financial needs including but not limited to payment of rent, utility bills, Christmas gifts for the needy and a whole range of other services. Depending upon the need, clients may be eligible for food from their food pantry and/or clothes from the thrift shop all for FREE. The staff is very congenial and lovely to work with. Though I like to sort the clothing as the donations come in, I'm privileged to provide assistance in whatever is asked of me. The Backporch Treasures Thrift Shop has clothing and housewares for the entire family. The clothes sorters get first dibs (yes, we pay for the merchandise) on the donations and the deals are spectacular. The staff honor the volunteers in several ways in the month of April during National Volunteer month. All in all, volunteering at the Matthews Help Center is a win-win success story. Brandy M.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 11, 2011

Volunteering at the Matthews Help Center on Fridays is my favorite day of the week for that very reason. I look forward to spending my day with like minded women who are congenial and thorough in their duties.
I can't begin to tell what a blessing this organization has been to
my life and that of my family. Tracy Doyle and Bonita Summers treat their volunteers like kings and queens in their overall demeanor as well as with events to honor us and discount coupons for shopping at the Backporch Treasures Thrift Store. They also encourage us to give suggestions and feedback at various times.
Kim,, their director, sporadically gives us updated reports concerning the number of clients they serve and how our work as volunteers directly impacts their mission. I consider it an honor to be part of such a kind and compassionate group.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The prices of the clothing are totally reasonable and at times incredible. Twice a year they have what is known as a bag sale. At this sale, people are encouraged to fit as many clothes and shoes into a brown paper bag all for the unheard of price of $5.00.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask that the volunteers not buy gifts for each other for the annual Christmas party. Instead, I think we should donate $5.00 each to the Matthews Help Center.

February 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 15, 2011

After moving to Matthews I looked around for a place to volunteer in my new community. I began volunteering in the thrift shop at the Matthews Help Center in 2008 and have found it a wonderful place... more

February 16, 2012

I've been a volunteer here since 2008 and am repeatedly impressed by the way the Help Center keeps finding new and better ways to serve the community. The thrift shop maintains a high standard of quality merchandise, imaginatively displayed. Plans for future expansion show a continuing commitment to helping the people of Matthews and beyond. Backporch Treasures is a great place to shop and a wonderful place to be a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2011

After moving to Matthews I looked around for a place to volunteer in my new community. I began volunteering in the thrift shop at the Matthews Help Center in 2008 and have found it a wonderful place to work. From sorting donations behind the scenes to working in the thrift shop itself, I feel my donated hours go toward making an important difference for those in need. I can see people being helped each time I am there. I recommend it to my friends as a place to donate and a place to shop.

Recently I've also been able to volunteer at ESL classes held at the Help Center in the evening. Students come from many countries speaking many languages ready to work hard to improve their English-speaking skills. They appreciate this class very much and it is a welcome opportunity for them.

Matthews Help Center gives to our community in so many ways. I'm glad that it exists, is so well-managed and that I can be a small part of it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in getting to know customers and volunteers in the thrift shop.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would make even more information about the details of help given available to the volunteers. Management does a good job with this, but it's always encouraging to hear about all the work that's being done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Staff makes a huge effort to let volunteers know their work is appreciated. They do this very well.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Connected me to charitable work going on in the place where I live.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

More a part of my community.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 21, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2011

Besides having totally enjoyable and fulfilling experiences volunteering once a week, the employees of the Matthews Help Center are top-notch people and dedicated workers. The volume of people served financially, and the volume of food, school supplies and Christmas toys distributed has tripled and quadrupled in the last few years, and the staff has been stretched, yet they have remained steadfast to the mission of helping families in our community. Our thrift boutique is a popular place to shop for clients and the public, donations are constantly coming in, and the sales from the shop have dramatically increased each year recently. The center is making a great impact for the community and the volunteers. I cannot say enough good things about the Matthews Help Center!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

getting to know many like-minded people and working alongside them with a mutual goal of helping those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no changes to suggest.

February 13, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 13, 2011

I volunteer in the Thrift Store...I am so impressed with this organization and the work that it does. The Store is more like a boutique than a thrift shop and people are waiting at the door on Saturday for us to open. I am also impressed with the amt of money the store brings in. The volunteers are truly dedicated to the help this center provides and all share a common goal for the Help Center to be successful. It is the most cheerful place I have ever worked...the volunteers, staff and shoppers always seem happy. I wouldn't change a thing about this experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Every time I work there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing...this organization should be used as a model around our city and across the country.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

greet clients and visitors as a receptionist, sort clothes in the thrift shop, help out in the food pantry, do some yard work, help care for the building, etc. Volunteer