Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Matthews Help Center is a real blessing to some many peop experiencing difficult times. It is also a blessing to those of us who are privileged to volunteer ther.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The Matthews Help Center is a wonderful example of community coming together to help those in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The Matthews HELP Center is a tremendous asset to the people Matthews. My company contributes to the Bounceback BackPack Program, which provides a backpack of food each weekend to 60 needy children in our local elementary school. The kids really look forward to receiving the backpack at school each Friday, because it means they won't have to worry about finding something to eat that weekend. It is a great way for local companies to get involved in serving their local community.

We also adopt a family at Christmas thru the HELP Center. While the recipients of our donations are grateful for the gifts, we too are grateful for the opportunity to help them.

Without the coordination of the HELP Center, we would not have known that this need exists. Thank you for making us aware of the struggles in our own backyard, so we can assist our neighbors and grow as a community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I can honestly say that this nonprofit is impeccable in its handling of donor goods and dollars. There is no fluff and the decisions made are always made with the client's best interest at heart. If you have ever donated to an organization and wondered just how much of that donation actually made it into the hands of the clients served, this is the place for you. It is reasonably staffed, and they are not overly paid. It has a board of caring and dedicated people who are committed to oversight, and has internal controls to prevent issues from within. The social workers have a heart for the mission and do what they do because they love helping people. There is a very large volunteer force of people devoted to the mission of "Helping Ease Local Poverty." The staff of Matthews HELP Center are the most creative bunch of people I've ever met and they are constantly trying to address client need in new and different ways. They truly do treat each client with dignity and respect. Wonderful place. Wonderful mission. Wonderful people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I volunteered at the Matthews Help Center in 2012-2013. It was the most amazing experience I had ever had. I was a recent college graduate at the time looking for an opportunity to serve my community and volunteering here was the most rewarding experience I could of had. I learned so much. The people at the organization are truly amazing and wonderful. All the wonderful programs they have to offer the community and the kindness of everyone there warms my heart. I am truly blessed to have meet everyone that works or volunteers there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I volunteered at this wonderful organization from 1986 until I moved from the area in 2010. I served on the Board for many years, and volunteered at least three days a week. Joan Uhrich was the director during most of this time period and was an amazing leader. Tracey Doyle is to be credited for the success of the thrift shop. I will always cherish my time at the Matthews Help Center, and I shop there now with my granddaughter as often as possible.
Susan McDonald

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

During fortunate and unfortunate changes in our lives there are always options as to what to do with a surplus of "living essentials & supplies". Through several of these life events we chose to not sell or consign. We donated to the Matthews Help Center. The Leadership, and Volunteers are heart driven and so compassionate with each car-load and truck load of donations. It is often difficult to remove meaningful and valuable items from your home. Knowing the value those items will be to another family while helping an organization to further help others...makes it all worthwhile.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Great place to shop. People are extremely friendly and I never leave without finding something to take home. I always find a toy for my grandson at a low price which he will enjoy for a while and after he has outgrown it, I re-donate it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I began volunteering with MHC shortly after moving to the area 3 years ago. Since then I have helped out a bit in the food pantry and have helped with the Christmas program, the Back 2 school program and the Bounceback Backpack program.

Having volunteered with and worked with several
nonprofit organizations in the past, I have been extremely impressed with how well MHC is run. The unbelievable staff manage donations and volunteers efficiently and in order to maximize every penny and volunteer hour. They pull off unbelievable service to the Matthews community and do so with such grace, giving each person they encounter dignity and respect. I feel honored to be a small part of this amazing place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing I would change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have been volunteering at the Help Center in an administrative capacity for a little over a year. The organization is highly professional and efficient. They use the monies raised to help the clients and are constantly thinking of innovative ways to do so. I started volunteering because I saw some of their "Bounce Back Backpacks" in my kids' elementary school. These are backpacks filled with food that children who would otherwise go hungry over the weekend without their school meals can take home and eat. This program is just one of the many that truly impact people who live in our community. They serve Matthews and nearly surrounding areas - if charity starts at home this is the place to begin your efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

greet clients and visitors as a receptionist, sort clothes in the thrift shop, help out in the food pantry, do some yard work, help care for the building, etc. Volunteer