Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.777785
Write A Review
December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

MCC not only provides services to families through programs such as Cribs for Kids and Early Head Start but is also working hard to make long-lasting change in the Philadelphia community for all families in the Southeast Pennsylvania region with their work in policy and research. It is an all-encompassing agency that is working diligently to affect change and provide a voice to women and children in the area and beyond.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have over twenty-fine years professional experience in the fields of maternal child health and early childhhod education. For over twenty of those years MCC has been a local, and often national, leader in policy and practice. MCC's growth from a small grassroots organization to a mid-size non-profit has been strategic, well managed and consistent with the needs of the communities it serves. MCC's staffing, organizational structure, financial management, and administration are efficient, effective and always in service of the needs of pregnant women, new mothers and children who are living in poverty. MCC stands out among non-profits on almost every measure. This is a non-profit worthy of support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

This organization supports famiies with young children with material assistance (cribs), rides for medical care during pregnancy, early head start programs for young children, and education about breast feeding, child safety, and many other important topics. The staff and the leadership of the Maternity Care Coalition are top-notch and dedicated. The values of the organization include growth for everyone who works there so that staff are valued as well as clients. The number of small and large grants that are pieced together every year to keep the engines running and the organization functioning are so many that the achievement of generating them is nothing short of astonishing. A policy staff advocates on the important policy issues and keeps the larger community aware of key developments. It would be impossible to say too many positive things about how well this group pursues it mission and succeeds.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I started volunteering with MCC after leaving a long career as an attorney to stay at home with my young kids. I realize how fortunate I am to be able to care for my children in an effective as well as loving way, because I have the necessary resources and support. MCC helps provide that support for others in ways that are both meaningful and empowering. To me, the fact that many of the people whom MCC helped at some point in the past go on to work or volunteer for the agency also speaks volumes. It is a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

My child was enrolled in an Early Head Start classroom. She thrived in the classroom. Prior to being in this classroom, she was in a regular toddler classroom setting. Everyday she would cry when I dropped her off and still be crying when I picked her up. Someone had suggested to me that I try Early Head Start for her. I met with a wonderful person that enrolled my child and assured me that they would work with my child and be patient with her separation issues. The first day I dropped her off I waited for the crying to begin but it never happened. The teacher welcomed us both warmly and made us both very comfortable. All week I waited for my daughter to cry and it never happened. She was always happy to go to school and see her friends. I was amazed at the change in her. The staff that enrolled me kept in contact with me to make sure she was adjusting well. The Center Family Advocate met with us regularly to talk about her development and to share information with me. My daughter is very successful in school now and I think that her education from Early Head Start and Head Start made that possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I was connected to an internship in the Public Policy Department of MCC through the Civic House at the University of Pennsylvania at the beginning of 2012. I really enjoyed my time at MCC - not only have I become much more knowledgeable on the maternal and child health policy issues facing Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and the nation as a whole, but I've also honed writing and communication skills. The work MCC does is truly inspiring, and the organization makes a huge difference in the community. My time at MCC has shaped my future career goals, and I strongly recommend getting involved in this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

When my grandson was two, he attended the EHS childcare program MCC offered at their south site. A therapist for another child, was in the classroom and noticed my grandson's behavoir. The therapist knew me, and shared her observations and suggested we have my grandson evaluated. I encouraged my daugther and Son-in-Law to do just that, my garndson was later diagnosed with ADHD. I applaued the services MCC's EHS program provided and the community partnerships they had in place. If not for MCC, and a therapist being welcomed in the classroom, my grandson may have went undiagnosed or worse mis-diagnosed. Instead he recieved services to assist with his continuing growth and development. He is now a third grader, on honor roll. Serveral years later when my daugther found out ,they were expecting again. Immediately after beginning prenatal care, which she knew was important, due to previous education and support MCC provided her, she called MCC and registered again!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 1, 2011

more

August 1, 2011

This summer I worked at Cribs for Kids (C4K) in the Maternity Care Coalition. I learned new facts about safe sleep and SIDS prevention for babies that I did not previously know. Additionally, I learned how to use this information and explain it to our clients during home visits, office pick-ups, and workshops. Along with this education, we provide Pack 'n Plays to families that cannot otherwise afford to purchase a safe place for their baby to sleep.

Everyone immediately welcomed me on my first day at C4K. I was treated as a C4K advocate and not just a summer intern. I was able to share the responsibilities of all of the team members. I was able to learn and do most of the components of the program from taking calls off our hotline, enrolling clients, scheduling their appointment, and providing the education. This was a wonderful experience for me because I was able to enhance communication skills with the clients that I will need as I advance in my career.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I personally experienced the results of this organization the most during home visits to our clients. This is the time where we provide the safe sleep education and SIDS prevention to clients in their homes. I have learned so much about the families we serve in this environment. It is so amazing to see the families grateful for the service we have provided.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.

August 1, 2011

more

August 1, 2011

I was placed at the Cribs for Kids at the Maternity Care Coalition via an internship program. During my time at MCC, I met many dedicated and driven individuals who understand the importance of giving families a healthy, safe, and educated start. The key to a healthy population is truly rooted in healthy mothers and babies, and MCC promotes this ideology in all of its services and goals. The best part of my experience with MCC was directly interacting with and visibly impacting underserved families. Whether through home visits or workshops, the Cribs for Kids team positively makes a difference by immersing themselves in the community, providing clients with safe cribs for their children, and connecting people with the resources they need most to improve and succed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in speaking with past and present clients who express the difference the C4K program has made for their children. They are grateful for our help in making sure their babies have a safe place to sleep and for the education we provide to help them give their children the best quality care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

_

July 20, 2011

more

July 20, 2011

I was an AmeriCorps member, placed at MCC through the Philadelphia Health Corps. The experience of working at such an amazing nonprofit organization truly helped to shape my future career and educational goals. From the moment I began working at MCC, I felt so connected to all of the work they do in the community. Becoming a member of the Cribs for Kids team allowed me to grow professionally and really learn what it means to work as a team and be flexible. Every experience I was afforded while working at MCC was enriching and fulfilling and I could not be happier that I was placed here. The people I met and learned from this year, whether they were fellow colleagues at MCC, clients of the Cribs for Kids program, or people I just happened to come into contact with through working at MCC all impacted my experience, and I am very grateful for that. I would love to work for MCC again in the future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the work that the Cribs for Kids team does. We not only provide education and cribs to families, but we provide important maternal support. When clients are able to open up about their experiences and share common concerns about parenting, I feel this is one of the most important aspects of the programs that MCC runs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us deliver items to our program sites, make calls to current donors thanking them for support, or deliver holiday gifts to families. Volunteer