Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12.25345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

Terrible customer service. Upsetting and bad management of sensitive information. Way too expensive. Also has a very, very high euthanasia rate that no one ever talks about. Before I knew about alternatives, I thought it was the only place to go for emergency veterinary care, but now I would work hard to go elsewhere unless absolutely necessary.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I found a nice little dog, and wanted to adopt. He had a long "wait list". I said I want to adopt him, I had everything I needed, all documentation etc. They said there are others before me but I insisted on filling out the documents. Why is this dog in a cage when I have a good home for him? I come back every day, and he is still "waiting for people who are going to adopt him who came first". 5 days I come in and take the dog out, and still they are waiting for someone else to adopt him. I finally call corporate and rip them a new one. I have donated to this charity, and now I know they are taking care of dogs who could have been adopted to good homes, but they won't cooperate. I don't know who they were holding this dog for, but he was someone's pawn. I wouldn't go away, so they finally let me adopt him. There were others who wanted this dog before me, but the squeaky wheel got the oil. They all acted nice, but there's something rotten in Denmark (or in this case Methuen).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The MSPCA saved my cats' lives. My boys were being kept in a tiny, filthy cage in a hoarder's house, and if the MSPCA had not rescued them I'm not sure who would have. This organization helps so many abused animals who have no where else to go. My cats were in miserable condition after being rescued, and the MSPCA made sure they received all the veterinary care they needed (which cost them far more than the adoption fee I paid). We have since brought them to meet with three different vets (including two specialists) and were extremely pleased with their friendly, compassionate and knowledgeable service. I can sleep easier knowing their emergency services are available 24/7. I also appreciate that they work to create comfortable environments for their animals, who have more living space than they would at many other shelters. They also keep many animals (even older ones!) up for adoption for long periods of time, truly trying to give them the best chance at a new forever home. The tragic reality is that millions and millions of US pets are homeless, and the MSPCA should not be blamed for being unable to help every animal in need. Their lifesaving work reaches thousands of animals each year.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing how much my two boys love life after being neglected and abused for so long.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think all shelters should regularly reevaluate their policies to ensure they help as many animals as they possibly can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 17, 2011
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 17, 2011
11 people found this review helpful

MSPCA/Angell.....Where should I begin? If I could give you negative stars for this review I would! This once great humane society is now nothing more than a bloated, mismanaged, corporate nightmare! This organization has squandered millions upon millions of dollars on their bloated executive salaries and benefit packages as well as throwing away countless millions building massive animal hospitals-only to close the doors less than 10 yrs. later!
They invest only the tiniest of their dollars towards spay/neuter campaigns and they kill HEALTHY animals in their shelters all the time without a second thought.
Don't believe me? Just read their 990's from the past 20 years and then ask yourself where all those countless hundreds of millions of dollars went. The answer won't be towards helping animals.
MSPCA needs a NEW Board of Directors and a clean sweep of their lazy, greedy, full of themselves management. This is NOT the way to run a humane society in the 21st century. Shame on you Mspca!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've known countless people who turned to the Mspca for help for a needy pet and received NONE. I've known countless people who have surrendered HEALTHY stray animals to their shelters only to learn that the animal was destroyed immediately for no good reason. I've spent thousands of dollars in their hospitals only to have my pet treated by an inexperienced veterinary student. Thank God there are other options for emergency Vet care nowadays. Angell will never get another dime of my money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of the BOD and Management and get with the 21st century of animal sheltering and advocacy. With this organizations vast money and resources they should be ashamed of themselves for how they have FAILED the animals.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers