Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
166 Reviews
1234.789165
Write A Review
July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 24, 2013

I found out about Maryland New Directions recently when I was invited to speak at a Connections Friday event. The experience was so moving that I asked many others from my business network to share t... more

July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first found out about Maryland New Directions when someone from the Development team reached out to ask if I would share my career story with the clients of the organization who were looking for information and inspiration about having success at work. After sharing my story, many people came up to me afterward and shared theirs. I found I was the one who received the information and inspiration! I got much more than I gave. Since then, I have invited many others of my business colleagues to come share their stories and make donations. I was invited to join the board this year, and have really enjoyed the chance to make a meaningful contribution to the lives of my fellow Baltimoreans. If you are reading this and are considering making a financial donation to Maryland New Directions, as I have, your gift will make a huge difference. For $1500 you can support one motivated job seeker for an entire year! Please give now. Thanks!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I found out about Maryland New Directions recently when I was invited to speak at a Connections Friday event. The experience was so moving that I asked many others from my business network to share their stories at future events. Also I have joined the fundraising committee to help the organization reach its short term goals. I would encourage anyone interested in making a difference in people's lives to check out Maryland New Directions and the many ways to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

Maryland New Directions helps people who are willing to help themselves. There are few things more encouraging to me than someone who is willing to invest in their own development. MND invests - time, resources, training - in those types of people to help accelerate their career and professional developement. It's personally rewarding to me to see our clients grow personally and professionally in pursuit of their independence.
June 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

Having been a founder of MND I have special understanding of what it takes to provide quality services to many of the most vulnerable persons. It is truly a wonderful experience to see people come fro... more

June 6, 2013

As the organization celebrates its 40 th year of serving the Maryland citizens and primarily the Baltimore community I continue to be amazed at the influence it has had on those who seek help and those who give help. The number of volunteers who,through those 40 years have given of their time ,talents and resources has been incredible. Lives have been enriched by the dedication and caring individuals who go the extra mile .MND continues to attract staff members who care deeply about helping people.Volunteers give freely and the general atmosphere at the center is warm and inviting ,encouraging those who turn to MND ,often at a point in their lives when they have been beaten back by circumstances that are self defeating.I am extremely proud of the reach of MND and the impressive and positive approach to life it has generated in hundreds of lives through those 40 years .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Love to find those who have contributed to the ongoing influence of a caring organization which has made such a difference in so many lives. It is important that they be thanked and appreciated. The giving of time,talent and resources can not be underestimated. Monetary resources are always a concern and MND is an amazing steward of the gifts that support the work of the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

Having been a founder of MND I have special understanding of what it takes to provide quality services to many of the most vulnerable persons. It is truly a wonderful experience to see people come from the lowest points in their life journey with renewed strength and purpose.this organization is blessed with dedicated staff and talented volunteers who see each day the value of their efforts. Funding is always an issue

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

As I start my fourth year on MND’s board, here’s what keeps me energized, involved and always looking for ways to do more: 1) our clients; 2) our staff & volunteers; and 3) our “home grown” Ex... more

April 10, 2013

Why I Serve Maryland New Directions: Four years ago, I was invited by MND’s founder to volunteer my real estate expertise in relocating MND to larger and more functional offices to accommodate their growing Career Focus program. In the course of that six month project, I became a committed supporter of the transformative work that I personally saw the MND staff, volunteers and the program participants achieve together. I joined the Board of Directors three years ago and regularly engage with Career Focus graduates during their mock interviews. Seeing the determination and confidence of the graduates keeps me energized to carry the MND story to prospective donors and employers throughout the Baltimore area in my role as head of the Development Committee.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

As I start my fourth year on MND’s board, here’s what keeps me energized, involved and always looking for ways to do more: 1) our clients; 2) our staff & volunteers; and 3) our “home grown” Executive Director.

At our recent 39th anniversary celebration, one of this year’s crop of
client’s, Johnny DeQuair spoke eloquently about his experience under MND’s guidance to persevere through difficult personal issues & unemployment, discover his passion and create a new & successful future. I see these client successes year after year after year and know that MND’s signature “Career Focus” program really works and is making a difference in the lives of the clients we serve.

Our staff and volunteers believe in MND’s mission. Their belief, their pride for their work with others, their caring and their commitment – all shine brightly in the life & career transitions they facilitate daily.

Nurtured by MND’s founder’s, ED, Grace Lee has grown and emerged with the vision, the passion, the “chutzpah” and the leadership to drive MND’s continuing success. It is her strength of character that guides MND in every way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I am so proud to be a part of an extraordinary orginization known as Maryland New Direction's. MND just celibrated its 39th Anniversary and put on a fabulous event at University of Baltimore. The event was excellent and well done in so many ways. The setting, the staff, the clients, the decorations, the food, the program, and the marvelous look-a-likes all combined to create a fantastic event. All of the speakers gave inspiring and moving speaches that showed why Maryland New Directions is so important to individuals going through difficult life transitions. Way to go MND!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist clients in our computer lab with job search, resume writing, and typing skills. Volunteer