Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Before learning that I would be a breast cancer survivor i joined this great organization to help in the fight of this far to common disease. I have volunteered for 6 years now at Komen Maryland and feel very fortunate to work with such dedicated employees and volunteers. We will find a cure it is just a matter of when. Everyday this organization works to help so many through this journey.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

This was my first year signing up for the event; I was so looking forward to the day and all it had to teach me about being a member of such a special club - a club of women who support other women. Every step of the process from applying, coaching a team and achieving my personal goals was encouraged by various members of Susan G. Komen. Unfortunately, on the morning of the race/walk our family received news that my Uncle John (the largest contributor to my personal campaign) had passed away from lung cancer and I was unable to attend. Brittanie Stuber was immediately contacted and she was very supportive and understanding of our family crisis. While I wanted to be with my "sisters", that day was spent with my family - and in observance, I wore the Komen t-shirt to my Uncle's memorial "party" (which just happens to have the day of his passing printed on it). When I sign up for next year's event, although I will receive a new t-shirt, I will be wearing the one from 2012 in honor of my Uncle John. Thank you...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Thank you Komen Maryland for being such a professional and giving organization that has centered all of your time and energy in helping breast cancer survivors like myself to know of the various resources that are made available to breast cancer survivors and their families. When I moved to Maryland several years ago, I immediately reached out to the Komen Maryland Affiliate and offered to become a volunteer; and they welcomed me with opened arms. I am so happy that I did, because it gave me the opportunity to work shoulder to shoulder with a group of wonderful and caring people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been volunteering with Komen MD for 3 years. The expereince has been awesome. I love working with all of the staff and the volunteers. The Komen MD staff put in so much hard work and effort in to everything they do. I had no idea how much work goes into the Race for the Cure. I am glad to help out in any way that I can. I feel honored to be a part of the Komen MD family. You know that everyone at Komen MD cares and that makes a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been volunteering with the Komen for the past five years. They are a wonderful organization who work very hard to ensure that all the participants and volunteers understand that through their efforts the benefits that are provided to the citizens of Maryland.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My volunteer opportunity with Komen Maryland started 6 years ago...helping out a friend who is a breast cancer survivor and volunteer. The experience has been fantastic. I have met some of the most dedicated people on the staff and race committee at Komen Maryland. The volunteers that help put the Race for the Cure on each year are equally dedicated. To feel the energy in the Race Village on race morning is truly a magnificent feeling and surely a feeling you won't forget. Knowing that 75% stays in Maryland to support programs for the many women and men afffected by breast cancer is reason enough. Everyone knows "someone" affected by breast cancer. Until there's a cure...i'll be supporting Komen Maryland.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with Komen MD for the past six years after five of my friends were diagnosed with breast cancer within a two year period. The simple fact is that early detection provides the best chance of survival and there are ample opportunities to educate the public about breast health through their active volunteer program. My volunteer duties have included helping at the annual education symposium, health fairs, a Play for the Cure event, the People's Preakness, pre and race day registrations for The Race for the Cure in Ocean City and Hunt Valley and a Pin Project. I have rarely met a more passionate and dedicated staff for a cause I believe so much in. Come to one Race for the Cure and you will never want to miss another as you experience 20,000+ coming together for a single cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

The Maryland Affiliate of Susan G. Komen for the Cure is a great non-profit organization! As a cancer survivor, I can say first-hand how much I appreciate the work of this group. Up to 75% of the money raised through Race for the Cure funds local programs. The remaining 25% of funding supports national research efforts. It’s a true honor to volunteer to support Komen MD’s efforts. Participating in the annual Race for the Cure has become a meaningful family tradition. I’m reminded of the number of years I’ve participated (and been a blessed survivor!) each time I go to my closet to grab one of my Race for the Cure T-shirts! The staff at Komen MD is wonderful. They inspire their volunteers through their incredible passion, tireless efforts, and dedication to the cause. Thank you Komen MD for all you do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been a volunteer for Komen MD for over 4 years. As a breast cancer survivor myself, it has provided a wonderful opportunity for me to share with the community the need for early detection. Komen MD is a much needed organization in our community, providing free mamogram screenings for those who can't afford them as well as grants for other services. The organization has created fantastic awareness for breast cancer. No one can go through the month of October without seeing pink. That is all due to the hard work over many years led by a fantastic staff. The Komen MD staff is positive, energetic, and a whole lot of fun. The annual Race for the Cure is an event not too be missed. It is positive and inspiring for everyone who participates. The organization that goes into putting that event together is truly amazing. I enjoy being a volunteer for Komen MD and hope that others will give it a try.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have participated in Komen Maryland's Race for the Cure for several years and have been an official volunteer for Komen Maryland for almost a year now. I have always found the staff to be friendly, organized and grateful for my contribution. This organization offers a wide variety of ways to volunteer - from clerical work to speaking engagements to events like Race for the Cure and the Mervis Million Dollar Invitational golf tournament. I highly encourage anyone who wants to help erase breast cancer to contact this group and find out how you can help!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers