Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
429 Reviews
1234.951055
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

Two years ago, I started attending monthly meetings of this small group of volunteers. I've been increasingly impressed with the care and attention it gives in evaluating the needs that come to its ... more

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

For the last 3 years I've been increasingly impressed with the time given by volunteers for Mary Queen of All Nations Missionary Alliance. Each sees the fruits of its effort in helping the poor. The Board reviews all proposals and dispenses 100% of the donations it receives to the people/projects that can most benefit from being given a hand up. The support given goes to helping people rise up given some assistance.

The many success stories are testimony that MQAN's approach is an effective way of stretching donor
contributions.

Neither the Board, Officers, nor volunteers take and salaries and they have absorbed all expenses over
the past 30 years. This has led to the 100% distribution of all donations.

May current and future donors continue to share their generosity knowing that their hard earned money is being spent optimally in making a difference.

Jim C.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the message out as to how effective this model is to helping thousands who will lift themselves up with a little help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Two years ago, I started attending monthly meetings of this small group of volunteers. I've been increasingly impressed with the care and attention it gives in evaluating the needs that come to its attention usually through missionaries in countries such as The Philippines, India, & Africa. I've been equally impressed with the rigor The Alliance applies to the best use of every dollar that it receives from donors.

100% of the funds are distributed to the neediest people Over the last 28 years, many hundreds of thousands of dollars have been converted to the foreign currency & distributed to the neediest as outlined by the on-sight missionaries. Funding is often accomplished by giving a hand up rather than a hand out. For example, goats, cows, fruit trees, fishing equipment, sewing machines have fostered self-sustaining growth in villages, pride of accomplishment & independence.

I've been recently recognized as a Board member and know that the limited funds have left many
needs unmet. By certifying the value of this registered non-profit as a worthwhile charity, I hope that others might share in its mission. Donations, prayers, contacts, volunteer time, and suggestions are invited. Talent to help develop a web site would be most welcome at this time.

The rewards of participation are great in knowing that you can magnify your impact by helping the most amount of needy people and with 100% of your dollars being optimized and not diluted by
administration costs.

Jim

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 22, 2013

I am sure the Holy Spirit must have led me to know Merla, the founder of Mary Queen of all Nations Missionary Alliance and its wonderful works. At first I was not fully aware of the kind of organizati... more

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Speaking of charity, I don't think there is no other great person who can personify this other than Merla Ricafranca who is the founder of Mary Queen of all Nations Missionary Alliance in Dover, New Jersey. Come to think of it, she herself could have benefited from its great work since she had been aflicted with Cerebral Palsy since the day she was born; but instead, she offered herself up to the service of the Lord in helping those more disadvantaged than she was by sacrificing her meager income to help the poor helpless familiies in the third world countries and among them was of course, the Philippines where she came from. Then as soon as she was able to get a few members who were willing to give thier time and effort for such a wonderful cause, then it gradually extended to India, Bolivia, Kenya, Uganda, Nigeria, and so many other third world countries in desperate need of help. Mind you, the workers are volunteers who do not get paid for the work that they do including sending packages ot rosaries, books, school supplies as well as toiletries and even some viamins to the poor under nourished children of the villages. With the contributions it gets of which 100% goes to the missions, they are able to provide toilets for sanitation as well as chapels for places of worshipin the villages which are served by the number of ordained priests in the diferent provinces. Actually, there is much more work to be done but that sometimes become impossiblr to do with the limited funds it has. Only with God's help and the generosity of our much needed donors will His will be done on us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Solicit more contributions to this wonderful great non profit organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I am sure the Holy Spirit must have led me to know Merla, the founder of Mary Queen of all Nations Missionary Alliance and its wonderful works. At first I was not fully aware of the kind of organization it was until I started attending the monthly meetings. With just a handful of members, great things have been accomplished by the Alliance over the years by inviting a few donors who could spare a few hundred dollars so that we can wire some money to help some poor seminarians finish school and be ordained to the preisthood. Not only that but we also mail out much needed books and school supplies to poor students who do not have the means and resources they need. The families are able to start a lot of self help projects from breeding farm animals and growing and selling them so that they have some source of income. I really admire Merla for her unbelievable efforts in helping our poor brothers and sisters in the third world countries like India, Bolivia, the Philippines,etc. I can just imagine how much more that this non profit organization would be able to do if only it has all the funds it needs to share the world. I think Merla has become our modern day Mother Theresa with all the works she does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

1. Ask for its full recognition to be fully funded as 100% Non Profit organization. 2. Obtain a cure for Cerebral Palsy that has greatly affected its founder physically.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of this fantastic nonprofit organization for several years which really exists with the help of a few donors who recognize the needs of our poor brothers in the impoverised countries of the world from Africa to Bolivia, The Philippines, India, etc. It is amazing how we are able to help several seminarians be ordained as priests and be able to serve the neighboring remote provinces by sending them much needed used books and vestments. Mass intentions are sent out to them and they accept whatever is offered for their prayers. Families with no resources are encouraged to start up some home projects from the meager collections of our faithful patrons like getting them a couple of pigs to raise and multiply which give them a source of income, or even providing them with some contributions for a sewing machines so that the mothers are able to sew clothes for the children so that they can go to school. Occasionally, we usually send some school supplies and toiletries that are mostly needed. These are just a few examples of the endless work of charity which was started by our benevolent founder, Merla Ricafranca. I am really very proud to be a member of this great charitable organization which has the great support and blessing of the Sacred Heart Catholic Church of Dover, New Jersey.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

October 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 27, 2013

This organization helps a lot of poor people in many poor countries around the world. They help the sick, the blind, the orphans, the homeless, the seminarians and missionaries. She started this organ... more

October 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I live in Randolph and met Merla at Sacred Heart Church, Dover since 2009. She is the one who brings me to Church everyday. She talks about the needs of the poor and the works of Mary Queen of All Nations Missionary Alliance that gives 100% of donations to the poor around the world. This organization has helped so many poor people rise above poverty and are now able to support themselves, send their children to school and provide their families with food and clothing and some also health insurance for their families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

This organization helps a lot of poor people in many poor countries around the world. They help the sick, the blind, the orphans, the homeless, the seminarians and missionaries. She started this organization with her own personal money. Later, God sent her help to get her organization as a non-profit recognized by the Federal government, so that people can assist her to help many more people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This Alliance is a charity for the poorest of the poor. We review each request carefully and verify each one as carefully as possible. Since our funds are very limited we try to help the most needy with projects that will do the most good for the most people. Our director foots all the cost for office supplies and shipping expenses so that every penny that is donated goes for the projects the board deems worthy. For the board member and volunteers our rewards come in the form of letters of "thanks",pictures of projects completed,students graduatings,seminarians taking their final orders,children equiped with school supplies just to mention a few of our rewards. Our meeting always end with aprayer and wish that we could do more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this point and time I would not change this organization except to wish for more funds and more volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Today, I had the chance to read all the reviews written by everyone for Mary Queen of all Nations Missionary Alliance. It is really very heart warming to hear from the people around the world who are being being helped by this wonderful nonprofit organization. I am amazed at how it can continue to do what is being done to the poor of the poorest around the diferent countries in the world. With whatever it is able to collect from its donors, it is able to feed families through rice subsidy programs, even help build houses so they can have roofs over their heads to encouraging them in raising animals that multiply to maintaining some self-help projects like cultivating their own farms or providing a few sewing machines for the women to sew clothes to those who have none. If only they could get more donors so that they can continue to do their great work which serves the least fortunate of us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

spread the word of good news about the wonderful works of this nonprofit organization so that they can continue to provide for the needs of those in most need of our help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 6, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 15, 2013

This organization has helped the poorest of the poor, the orphans, widows and widowers, including the lepers, the blind, the mentally and physically challenge people, those forgotten by society and br... more

October 6, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Mary Queen of All Nations Missionary Alliance is a non-profit that is run by ALL VOLUNTEERS, now in their 29th year, no one in the organization have ever received any salary or any remuneration for the work done. 100% of all donations received are used for the poor. From the Director, who shoulders all the operational expenses, down to the members, all work done are voluntary and done out of their love for God and the poor. The goal is to help the poor rise above poverty and to know Christ who provides for everything. The poor is being assisted, not to be dependent on anyone, but to work hard to be able to stand on their own, become self-sufficient and once they are able to support themselves and their families, they in turn voluntarily try to also help another poor neighbor, to give them the same opportunity that they themselves received from MQAN.

One good example are the 30 widows in Rwanda, victims of genocide, who were provided with 30 pigs. The pigs multiplied and provided them with many piglets. They sold some of the piglets and from the money they earned, they were able to provide for their families, food, clothing and education of their children and even health insurance for the family. After they were able to rise above poverty, they in turn each help another widow by giving them piglets. This way they too could work hard and be able to rise above poverty. There are many other examples like this.

Another example are the students who were assisted in their education. Once they graduated and land in a good job, they in turn took care of the education of their siblings and some even tried to help other needy students in their educational needs.

In these ways, the work of the Alliance multiplied by itself. Where can you find a non-profit where the fruits of their labor multiplies? This non-profit is truly one of a kind. Where can you find a non-profit where all its members supports their own organization by giving their own donations to help out instead of taking from the donations for payment of their work? Where can you find an organization where all of its members goes to Mass and Holy Communion frequently, majority even daily, the source of their strength? Where can you find an organization that is run with utmost honesty, transparency and integrity, with pure and genuine LOVE for God and the poor?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

This organization has helped the poorest of the poor, the orphans, widows and widowers, including the lepers, the blind, the mentally and physically challenge people, those forgotten by society and brought Christ to them, letting them know that they have not been forgotten by God who loves them very much.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

This is my 11th year as Volunteer Treasurer of Mary Queen of All Nations Missionary Alliance (MQAN).

Merla, Founder and Director, pays particular attention to “Donor Intent” - 100% of donations received goes to the Missions to help our poor brothers and sisters rise above poverty. Merla,
herself, pays for all shipping expenses, postage, office supplies, items sent to the missions such as school supplies, basic necessities, etc. and all overhead expenses which are kept at a minimum in an effort to help as many people as possible.

Miraculously, donors, though few, are from different states who have heard from others about MQAN and Merla - or by reading her newsletters, accomplishment reports, or from word of mouth. Every donor receives a “Statement of Donations” each year, in January for Income Tax purposes. Accomplishment Reports are sent out annually and Newsletters periodically.

She personally tracks all funds sent to the missions. She has missionaries, both religious and lay, in charge of projects, who provide her with an accounting of funds received, progress reports and pictures of the projects. She keeps a record of all donations received, making Xerox copy of checks and cash, even coins that she received. Every penny is accounted for. You cannot be more transparent than this.

Letters of request from the missions are read and voted on by the Volunteer Board at monthly meetings. Our hope is for increased number of donors and increased donations, since our funds are so limited. We have missionaries waiting for funding for their requests for assistance. Merla believes in Self-Sufficiency, teaching and educating people to help themselves and teach others once they learn. She sends where the need is the greatest and can do the most good. Merla is still the biggest Donor to her own Mission. Every penny is used with great prudence. She would not waste any resources but would rather help our poor brothers and sisters with education, food, medicines, housing, self-sufficiency, etc. She touches the heart of the receiver – and also the giver - for it is in giving that we receive.

Merla, born with cerebral palsy, has cared for the needy as a young girl in the Philippines, continued throughout her college and career. When she came to the U.S. in 1966, she started a one-person ministry, using her own salary, trying to help the poor in every way and as much as she can, also to spread the devotion to the Holy Rosary and the Bible and her mission spread to 40 countries. Then in April 1984, she traveled all over India to attend to the ordination of the seminarian she assisted and to visit all the missionaries she was assisting. On Dec. 8, 1984, Mary Queen of All Nations Missionary Alliance (MQAN) was formed as a non-profit organization, 501(c)(3), recognized by the Federal and State governments and by the Catholic Church. Along with other Certificates, on her office wall, hangs a Medal and a Certificate, Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice, signed by Pope John Paul II, as a recognition of her Mission work, for the Church and the Pope. Also hangs on the wall is a Blessing from Pope John Paul II for Merla, for MQAN and for the members. She has knowledge of God which she blends into day-to-day existence. This year 2013, MQAN was selected to receive the Caritas Award.

Mary Queen of All Nations, pray for us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The founder of this Missionary Alliance is a very honest person. She is like a living saint. She has been helping the poor in many countries all over the world for almost 30years. But she has been doing self ministry even before the Alliance started. I am so happy to be part of the such a humble and awesome non-profit group. I encourage everyone to support this Alliance. You may email the founder on this email address mqanmission@gmail.com if you want to learn more about Mary, Queen of All Nations Alliance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

It is my privilege to be involved with this organization for the past 5 years. 100% of the amount donated is spent on various self-sufficiency projects throughout the world. Indeed the organization truly reflects God's call to serve our poorest brethren.
Please consider donating to this
charity. Your donation is much appreciated.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 27, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been involved from the very beginning of the founding of this organization. This organization in the past 28 years have helped thousands of individuals, families and even villages and small communities in the Third World countries, rise above poverty through education, self-sufficiency projects, sanitation, housing, nutrition, providing water, Rice Subsidy, Prison Ministry as well as in their spiritual growth. Self-sufficiency projects such as goats, sheep, chickens, pigs, cows and buffaloes provided the orphanages, families and individuals with means to earn an income as well as provide milk, food, clothing, education and some, also health insurance for their families. Other projects such as cycle rickshaw and tricycle van to provide transportation service to earn an income were provided. Also projects such as providing tools, instructors and materials for agriculture, carpentry, fishing, sewing, baking, cooking, hair cutting and other trades. Homes for Orphan Girls were provided with beds, bed sheets, tables and chairs, ironing board, kitchen utensils, etc. Nutrition Centers were built used not only to feed the children but also as clinic and as pre-school classrooms. Dispensary Centers had been provided with equipments and medicines. Emergency crisis funds were provided for medical emergencies and for those suffering from the effects of flood and cyclones. For sanitation and hygiene, toilets and latrines as well as water wells and water tanks were provided. Mineral water sheds were built to provide the people with purified water. Houses, churches, chapels were built and/or repaired. One of the chapels built was named by the Bishop as Mary Queen of All Nations Church. Vestments, chalices, etc. were provided to priests and Bishops. Priests were given motorcycles and boat to be able to reach and evangelize their people in the rural areas, to celebrate Mass and the Sacraments. Schools were provided with desks and chairs. Rice Subsidy, Prison Ministry and many other small projects as well as packages containing basic necessities such as clothing, shoes, toys, non-perishable food items, school and office supplies, books, bibles, rosaries and many other items were provided. People who were able to rise above poverty and able to provide for their families are also trying to help other families to give them the same opportunity that has been provided to them. Seminarians as well as secular students were assisted, mostly for tuition and school supplies. Many seminarians had since been ordained and are now serving in many parishes, in seminaries as rectors and professors, while some were sent abroad by their respective dioceses for further studies. Students who have graduated and gained employments are also trying to do the same, to give other students the same opportunity afforded to them. School for the Blind was provided with canes, clothing, shoes, tables, as well as transportation assistance. All the projects of this organization are small projects because of very limited funds but the effects on the families are tremendous and lasting. This organization is run by all volunteer board members, no one receives any remuneration and 100% of donations received are actually used to help the poor rise above poverty. Operational expenses are shouldered 100% by the Founder of this organization who willingly and lovingly gives everything she could possibly provide herself, resources, time and labor, providing all operational expenses and also for projects needing funds to keep the projects going with the graces and blessings from the Lord God Almighty.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers