Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.333335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My husband is a MARSOC Marine and suffered a loss of limb in October of 2012 while in theater. MARSOC Foundation provided the means to get my pregnant self to San Antonio in time to meet him as he was brought into the hospital. They covered the bill for a fender bender while in a rental car as well as the rental itself. They covered the expense to store 8 months worth of accumulated belongings in a POD and sent back to NC. My flight with our 2 month old back to NC when returning to his duty station was also covered by the MARSOC Foundation. This organization went above and beyond more than we could have ever expected. Their no-questions-asked assistance was humbling and refreshing. My husband has now been returned to fit for duty status and is currently deployed in the same capacity as before the incident. We are forever grateful for the assistance MARSOC Foundation gave us and hope they know and understand how much easier it made the process.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can't say enough good things about the MARSOC foundation. I am an active duty MARSOC Marine and needed assistance to attend the funeral of a fallen Marine. The government didn't have the funds to send me and I would have been forced to pay for the cost of attending the funeral out of pocket. I called the MARSOC foundation and had an airplane flight and hotel room in less than thirty minutes. The MARSOC foundation answers the call and provides timely service and assitance when the system fails or is too slow to respond to the needs of the Marine or Sailor. I will be a life long MARSOC foundation supporter!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This foundation is truly amazing! I dealt first hand with Sarah Christian and to hear how sympathetic and caring and dedicated she was to help us and others was and is so heartwarming! My husbands mother was passing from breast cancer and they made sure we were by her side when she passed! Sarah even constantly checked in with us to make sure we were doing ok, I could tell she truly wants to help as much as she can! Being a family of 5 it was almost impossible to make it home but the foundation made that possible! They know how much the MARSOC community sacrifices and they want to give back in ways that they can to help the MARSOC community! I have heard of so many ways that this foundation have helped the marines and it is unbelievable! I hope I'm able to somehow, someway, give back to this foundation as it will always hold a special place in my family's heart! Thank you MARSOC foundation and Sarah Christian for ALL you do for the MARSOC community!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The MARSOC foundation has been excellent as they have recently helped me with many travel arrangements to cordinate with families in the community. They actively seek on how to help you and are currently going to help me personally with the purchase of a bike so I can run an Ironman with a friend of mine's father. I could not be happier with my interaction and didn't even know organizations like this existed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The MARSOC Foundation was essential in starting the healing process and helping with the grieving process when our son was killed in combat. It was essential in connecting us with our son's unit and those he served with. We were able to go to the MARSOC Marine ball where we were able to meet the wives, girlfriends, and families of those deployed, those he had served in previous deployments, those that were wounded, and the widows of the fallen. We were able to meet his commanding officers and communicate with those actually serving where my son had served. We were able to witness the courage and dedication of these young men and women. We were able to hear stories of our son and what an impact he made on others. My wife and son were able to attend a four day bike ride to benefit wounded warriors and their families. The foundation helps put wounded warriors on bikes which helps in their recovery. I will be doing an Ironman triathlon with one of the young men who was severely wounded in the attack that killed my son . He wanted something to look forward to in his recovery. The foundation will be helping this warrior with entry fees and a bike. He knew my son had wanted to do an ironman with me but hadn't been able to, so this became his goal. The casualty officers have no way of doing this so there is a big disconnect between those assigned to help you and those who can. Because the casualty officers assigned are from a separate unit, they have no idea of what my son did. The foundation helped bridge this gap for us and gave us an understanding of why our son loved being marine and a part of MARSOC. Being around these young men and women was like being around our son. They believed in what they were doing and were proud of their accomplishments when given this seemingly impossible task. I would have felt empty and lost without the connections provided by the foundation to my family and the MARSOC Marine world of my son. Thank you MARSOC Foundation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a member of the MARSOC community. I am disappointed by the lack of transparency and assistance this organization provides to the MARSOC community as a whole. According to their bio they have raised over $64,000 last year. However, when the unit has benevolence need they are being supported, on the east coast, by Brothers in Arms Foundation and Hope for the Warriors and what ever the spouses at the battalions can raise. I am saddened by the lack of support shown by the MARSOC foundation to MARSOC as a whole and question the usefulness to the community this organization will provide if this continues. Given this organization has been in existence for some time now, I would expect to see a more integrated approach to assisting the unit and its families and a stronger presence in the community as a whole. I would expect when the unit experiences a loss the MARSOC foundation would immediately reach out to the battalion in question and provide support as needed. If this is not possible then I believe the foundation needs to provide more transparency and communication as to their status, when they will be able to start to support both the east and west coast etc. Instead of being just an organization bearing the logo and name of MARSOC. I'm also concerned with their promotional video being a misrepresentation of their work, as the amount of involvement the MARSOC foundation had in the recuperation of that Marine is misleading, to my understanding.

NB: In response to the comment. I have no argument that the foundation has provided support. However, the foundation has been unequivocally west coast centric. I am unsure as to how the foundation receives requests from the component and battalions as to solicit in this fashion is illegal, so I cannot comment on that information. Again, my experience, was watching while the spouses and marines of a battalion threw together a fundraiser to help pay for a celebration of life in 2012. The two organizations that stepped forward, unsolicited, were mentioned above. For MARSOC on the East coast, in their time of need, MARSOC foundation was audibly quiet. I can't imagine, the foundation that bears our name would require solicitation from the battalion to assist in this time. My argument stands, the MARSOC foundation lacks transparency and by your own admission you've not done a good job of putting yourselves out there, to, at the very least, the unit you support. With eMarine and the Family Readiness Officers, I cannot understand how, at the very least you are not providing your newsletter for dissemination and a bio on the eMarine page. I was going to write a letter, but again, I believe the lack of transparency provides just cause for this amendment as I'm not complaining about the organization for no good reason. At this time, as the assistance is sporadic and is not uniform across the board ie: families of the fallen from last year, ALL able to experience the wonderful experience of the individual above. Do not, all our MARSOC Marines deserve equitable service in this fashion, not just some. Whilst each case differs, as needs must, in the instance of casualties, the foundation would be aware of the individuals and should be the first charity to the table with support for ALL of the families in the same way.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers