Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.763645
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
January 15, 2014

more

January 15, 2014

I have organized student trips with MSI for many years as a way for our city to educate its youth regarding stormwater pollution to our waterways. I am always impressed by MSI's professional and enthusiastic staff. Every Californian should be required to take a Discovery Voyage on the SF Bay...to help all citizens discover and appreciate this wonder-full world we live. Positive behavior changes always flow from this hands-on experience. No longer are students apathetic polluters or oblivious of the ecosystems in the heart of California. Instead, their environmental compasses are realigned towards becoming the good stewards of Planet Earth God requires of humanity.

For example, I had one 5th grade group, who while on board, thanks to staff inspiration, renamed their environmental club to "Earth Keepers". The MSI person had the kids at every station yell out, "Earth Keepers! Save the World!" To this day, the Earth keepers are meeting on Fridays at their school site in Lodi, doing street and campus cleanups. And yes, they still end each day with their rallying fell, "Earth Keepers! Save the World!" Keep up the good work, MSI!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 26, 2013

more

November 26, 2013

The Marine Science Institute (MSI) provides a realistic hands-on science program for my students to connect with everyday, real-life experiences about the importance of the watershed, the San Francisco Bay, and the inhabitants that live therein. MSI helps to creates an awareness of the necessity of the Bay and links us to direct evidence of the health and condition of Bay that not only fosters an appreciation of SF Bay, but develops stewardship for protection of the Bay for future generations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

The Marine Science Institute offers one of THE best, educational, yet fun-filled trips you could ever imagine! I took students on a Discovery Voyage a couple of years ago, and they had a blast (so did I)! MSI will do everything within their power to ensure that underprivileged students are not left out; that includes offering very generous grants towards your travel expenses - if yours is a Title1 school.

We did the 'Biomimicry' trip, which was fantastic!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow payment via RPO, perhaps?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

My students and I felt so lucky to have Marine Science Inst. come to our school through the Inland Voyage program. The program was not aligned to what I was teaching but it was engaging and fun.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It was great, I would not change anything

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

My fourth grade students and I were excited to visit tide pools, but I had no idea how thorough this academic experience would be. Before our trip, the children were introduced to the scientific method, practiced data collection, and handled live ocean specimens. After the tide pool exploration, the data collected at the pools was used to create bar graphs. This was one of the most complete science units I've seen.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

As a parent who researches and schedules field trips for a K-8 school, I was thrilled to learn about all the programs offered by Marine Science Institute ("MSI"). Our community (teachers, parents and students) has had the opportunity to experience some of their field trips and Inland Voyage programs. We love everything about MSI! The knowledgeable and friendly staff always make their hands on science programs fun and educational for everyone involved. The excitement, before during and after a program with MSI make it a top pick for our school year after year.
Thank you MSI, for providing us the opportunity to be part of and experience science and not just read about it!
Dina Casanova
Parent Volunteer Field Trip Coordinator

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

As a teacher I took my class here for the first time many years ago. I am now at a new school who had never heard of it, so I organized a grade level wide field trip over four days so all 1st graders could experience the amazing field trip program they put on. The students love it and it ties in to our science standards. Plus, it is BEAUTIFUL!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

So many great things about MSI: (1) Real exposure to the real world. Mud face painting and petting sharks. (2) The level of engagement of the staff is exceptional. They're sensitive, considerate, professional and smart. (3) Non-commercial...no gift shop! (4) Yet you always leave with something cool (shark hats, for example). Our 5 y.o. has been out on the boat twice and loved it. Our 3 y.o. has only done shore programs, but likes those a lot too.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

My son loves MSI...and his two younger sisters can't wait for the day when they are old enough to experience their fisrt voyage on the Robert G. Brownlee. We are so thankful for the opportunity for our children to cultivate a love and appreciation for the ocean through MSI's camps and family events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure they have the financial resources to continue to play a key role in educating Bay Area children about the marine environment and cultivating a love and respect for the ocean.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013

more

May 31, 2013

I was a student for the Marine Science Institute in my 6th grade year. I had been a struggling reader and felt stupid most of my childhood. When we were on the boat, a world of science opened up to me. We collected a previously unidentified species and I really wanted to know what it was. The captain plunked down a huge book in front of me, showed me the basics of fish ID, and I set about figuring it out. It was hard, but not a struggle. When I figured out what it was (the black-finned sucker fish) I beamed with joy. I finally felt like I was good at something: Science.

In high school, I volunteered for the summer. One day, an instructor was suddenly sick and I had to teach a station on the ship. It was the first time I had ever had to teach somebody something, and it was the second big life lesson I learned from my time at MSI: I could share my knowledge with others.

I studied environmental science and geology in college, returned to MSI as a marine instructor. For two years I worked on board the ship and was transformed by the experience. I became a science teacher after I moved on from MSI, and always look back on how my time at MSI shaped me. I cannot think of a better organization to learn and grow from.

MSI nurtures the curiosity of young scientists, for creates a wealth of data free for scientists to analyze, and raises awareness of environmental issues. Their contribution to the lives of people who explore with them is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a second ship!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers