Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.763645
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

So many great things about MSI: (1) Real exposure to the real world. Mud face painting and petting sharks. (2) The level of engagement of the staff is exceptional. They're sensitive, considerate, professional and smart. (3) Non-commercial...no gift shop! (4) Yet you always leave with something cool (shark hats, for example). Our 5 y.o. has been out on the boat twice and loved it. Our 3 y.o. has only done shore programs, but likes those a lot too.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

My son loves MSI...and his two younger sisters can't wait for the day when they are old enough to experience their fisrt voyage on the Robert G. Brownlee. We are so thankful for the opportunity for our children to cultivate a love and appreciation for the ocean through MSI's camps and family events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure they have the financial resources to continue to play a key role in educating Bay Area children about the marine environment and cultivating a love and respect for the ocean.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013

more

May 31, 2013

I was a student for the Marine Science Institute in my 6th grade year. I had been a struggling reader and felt stupid most of my childhood. When we were on the boat, a world of science opened up to me. We collected a previously unidentified species and I really wanted to know what it was. The captain plunked down a huge book in front of me, showed me the basics of fish ID, and I set about figuring it out. It was hard, but not a struggle. When I figured out what it was (the black-finned sucker fish) I beamed with joy. I finally felt like I was good at something: Science.

In high school, I volunteered for the summer. One day, an instructor was suddenly sick and I had to teach a station on the ship. It was the first time I had ever had to teach somebody something, and it was the second big life lesson I learned from my time at MSI: I could share my knowledge with others.

I studied environmental science and geology in college, returned to MSI as a marine instructor. For two years I worked on board the ship and was transformed by the experience. I became a science teacher after I moved on from MSI, and always look back on how my time at MSI shaped me. I cannot think of a better organization to learn and grow from.

MSI nurtures the curiosity of young scientists, for creates a wealth of data free for scientists to analyze, and raises awareness of environmental issues. Their contribution to the lives of people who explore with them is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a second ship!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I was a volunteer for Marine Camp for 6 years and it was always the highlight of my summer. I was originally interested in volunteering because I had such a great experience when my 6th grade class took a trip out on the bay on the Robert G. Brownlee. MSI has a way of inspiring kids to love science and the bay as much as they do and I believe it is because of the passion that all of the people there have. I have watched hundreds of kids come into camp on a Monday morning not knowing anyone and looking rather scared and shy, and by the end of the week they have mud from the bottom of the bay on their face, are grinning from ear to ear, and are begging their parents to let them stay just a little bit longer. MSI is truly top-notch.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

My daughter and son loved going to camp at MSI at ages. They had a great time and learned so much about our local waters. Great program.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

My 7 year old has been doing MSI programs for 3 years now. He has done low tide walks, summer camps, and after school classes and loved all of them. The instructors have such deep knowledge of Marine Science, I feel lucky that they choose to teach and share that love of the water with our children. At the camps, he always comes home happy, dirty and tired - what more could a little boy want from summer!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

MSI has terrific events as well as summer classes for kids to learn and explore our lovely bay.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I have a six year old daughter who absolutely loves going to the marine science expeditions that MSI organizes. They are absolutely invaluable in terms of the exposure my daughter gets by going to them.The staff is super dedicated and enthusiastic. Could not say enough good things about them!! they absolutely amazing

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

We go to MSI several times a year and love the educational value. Marine Science Institute does so much with a tiny budget and has a very dedicated group of youth and adult volunteers. They are super passionate about educating people about the Bay and Pacific. They have been very generous and accommodating with the underserved kids that I've been involved with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I first discovered MSI when I went there for a teacher training during the summer. I was impressed by the facility, the level of care for the animals, and the knowledge of the staff. When I found they subsidize the cost of a bus to take my students, I arranged a field trip then and there. I took two classes of low income mostly second language learner third graders to the shoreside program. For many, it was the first time they went to a beach, the first time they held an animal, and the first time they were able to touch a shark. The children had a great time, learned a lot, and got really flithy... all signs of a great field trip. We had four docents assigned to our groups. All four had different styles and covered the information differently; but all four were very knowledgable and adapted the information to meet the differing needs of some challenging learners. I highly reccomnd The Marine Science Institute as a destination for school field trips as well as family excursions. I am taking my students again next year!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers