Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

“This is and has been an amazing program for many years, Even with limited resources,they consistantly have the best hands on and teaching staff around. From their camper programs to Boat trips and the enthusiastic staff, this is truly a gem in the bay area. We are so lucky to have programs like this that teach our young people about Marine Science and the needs and care of our Bay and the animals that live there. Your support will help keep this worthwhile program going for generations to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep doing what your doing, your staff is one of the best, and most enthusiastic I've ever had the pleasure of knowing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

I was lucky enough to have been invited as an adult volunteer to two of many field trips held through an MSI grant with a sixth grade class. One was a tide pool expedition and the other a search for the endangered snowy plover. Once beachside, the MSI volunteers launched right into hands-on activities which were both educational and fun. This experience was especially exciting for those children who had never seen the ocean, and introducing them all to science in a hands-on method made a positive impact on everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

I teach at a local middle school and MSI has provided many field hands-on science experiences for my students over the years. For the past several years they have also provided many in class hands-on educational experiences as well through our partnership. I have found all their staff not only to have excellent content knowledge but also great experience with working with students in keeping them engaged as they encourage their questions and answers. Last year one of my classes partnered with a high school class. With guidance and support from MSI my students visited the high school campus for a tour by their students and the high school students visited my class twice to advise my students as we completed environmental projects. How fortunate my students have been to have such a resource available to them and as a teacher of science I too have felt fortunate to have colleagues with whom to plan and work to provide rich science experiences for my students. I often felt isolated as an elementary school science teacher. However, working with MSI has kept me focused on teaching science, and I continue to learn along with my students on every field trip even after many trips.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I always felt it would be easier if MSI could somehow provide transportation for the students to attend field trips. The cost of buses is so high. I believe they investigated acquiring a bus and all the related costs and found it too expensive. My district serves many low income families, and even though we are only a few miles from MSI, the transportation cost is from $300 to $600. The former is the cost if our school bus is available.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I spent a few weeks volunteering for MSI over the past two summers and it is always a highlight of my summer. The field trips we go on with camp create a wonderful background for learning about our bay and oceans and adds to the invaluable hands on learning experience available to campers. It never ceases to amaze me the amount of learning the counselors and instructors are able to pack into one week while still making the camp exceedingly fun. Not only that, the camp is able to instill a lasting environmental awareness and morals that I have now had for more than half of my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

I had the privilege of working with MSI on a grant they'd been awarded to support my high school students working with a nearby middle school. My students got to mentor & support the middle school students' development of environmental stewardship projects. I was thoroughly impressed with MSI's organization, their staff members professionalism, and their flexibility to make the program work for me, my students, and the middle schoolers as well. The even made their site available to us one afternoon when we were coming back from a different field trip, and their staff member was incredibley helpful and impressive with her management of our rowdy students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funding !!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

Volunteering for the Marine Science Institute for summer of 2014 was nothing but fun! I really enjoyed seeing kids of all ages have a great time while learning all about our oceans, bay and environment. I learned a lot this summer and am very happy that I chose to volunteer. I went to MSI as a kid and loved it. Being around our younger generation and seeing them enjoy it as much as I did was heartwarming. We went out on the Robert G. Brownlee, Planted gumplants at the Lucy Evans Nature preserve, went tidepooling at the Bean Hollow State Beach, learned about native plants at Pescadero State Beach and visited the Gulf of the Farallons Marine Sanctuary. I couldn't picture myself enjoying anything as much as I enjoyed helping out with the Marine Science Camp. Volunteering for the Marine Science Institute was a wonderful experience. I would do it all over again but am hoping to become a conselor next summer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No major changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

I am so glad that i decided to volunteer at MSI this summer. It was such a great experience, and I loved working with the kids! Not to mention, I had a lot of fun participating in all their activities as well, and learned quite a lot from them. It amazed me how much these tiny kids knew! I also loved working with the counselors and instructors. They were all so friendly and nice to talk to. The program itself is also very enriching. It is filled with field trips, fun educational activities, games, hands on interactions with different marine animals, and lots and lots of FUN!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2012

For about 20 years, MSI has provided top-notch hands-on science education for my students. Instructors are knowledgeable and great with kids. The ship is fantastically designed like a mini-NOAA vessel... more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

More than 20 years of Discovery Voyages, and every single one of them a total hit with students! Many were so fascinated that they went on in high school and college to study the sciences in more depth; a good number have been led to careers in the sciences!
In those 20 years, my fellow
teachers and our students have also experienced land programs, tide pool programs, and in-house (at school) presentations. Each and every contact with MSI has brought our students motivation to be better caregivers of our Bay, experiential time in Life, Earth, and Physical sciences, and memories for a lifetime.
For all MSI field trips, parents can hardly wait to sign up to chaperone; often, we have had a drawing to see who gets to come with us!
The office staff and field trip instructors are so professional, so friendly, and unbelievably good at what they do. Their credentials and experience are awesome.
I will continue MSI participation with my students for as long as I am teaching.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

-provide time for kids to buy items, such as T-shirts for themselves and educational posters and books.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2012

For about 20 years, MSI has provided top-notch hands-on science education for my students. Instructors are knowledgeable and great with kids. The ship is fantastically designed like a mini-NOAA vessel, so every student gets a chance to handle all kinds of equipment safely and with ease. The station work is well designed, instructional, and fun. Five stars to MSI for their Discovery Voyage program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I volunteered at MSI camp all summer and had so much fun! The people are amazing to be around not only because they are fun but because they are helpful and want to help everyone learn. I have learned a lot this summer and can not wait to go back as a counselor next year. I will hopefully also be sending my sister back to camp again next year. She had an amazing time as well. When I have kids, they will most definately be at this camp. Absolutely love MSI and can not reccomend it enough!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any. It is awesome!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 15, 2014

more

January 15, 2014

I have organized student trips with MSI for many years as a way for our city to educate its youth regarding stormwater pollution to our waterways. I am always impressed by MSI's professional and enthusiastic staff. Every Californian should be required to take a Discovery Voyage on the SF Bay...to help all citizens discover and appreciate this wonder-full world we live. Positive behavior changes always flow from this hands-on experience. No longer are students apathetic polluters or oblivious of the ecosystems in the heart of California. Instead, their environmental compasses are realigned towards becoming the good stewards of Planet Earth God requires of humanity.

For example, I had one 5th grade group, who while on board, thanks to staff inspiration, renamed their environmental club to "Earth Keepers". The MSI person had the kids at every station yell out, "Earth Keepers! Save the World!" To this day, the Earth keepers are meeting on Fridays at their school site in Lodi, doing street and campus cleanups. And yes, they still end each day with their rallying fell, "Earth Keepers! Save the World!" Keep up the good work, MSI!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers