Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.910455
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This fabulous organization provides hands-on rescue and care of marine mammals, and educates in the process. Professional, reliable full hospital and rehabilitation services are provided to animals in need. Wonderful, necessary, inspiring place!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The work the Marine Mammal Center does to care for our precious wildlife is amazing. They run a complete veterinary, basic research and most importantly care facility all from donations. It is a truly wonderful place.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Marine Mammal Center in Sausalito, CA is a well-run professional marine mammal hospital and rehabilitation center. They also educate the public and offer tours for school children and other group. They do fantastic work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I visited the center and was able to see how much this organization does for marine mammals. They are compassionate and caring and their work is so important in saving the lives of many animals!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have contributed to the Marine Mammal Center for years and plan on continuing. The Center does extraordinary work caring for mammals that would otherwise suffer terribly and die. There are not many organizations with such expertise and dedication in this area.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a general member of the public that has donated to this organization from time to time. The wonderful life saving work they do is beyond extraordinary! They have helped countless seals, whales, dolphins, and too many to name. When these animals are caught in nets, lay dying on beaches from gunshot wounds, starving, and the list goes on, it is these amazing humanitarians to the rescue. Please visit their center and/or please consider a donation. Please see my recent letter to them: Dear Marine Mammal Center,
Words cannot express my gratitude at all the good your organization accomplishes. It is heartbreaking to see some of the photos of these animals in pain, especially the many that were intentionally caused by humans. And yet, such joy at seeing an animal that has been rescued and is now healthy.

To all the wonderful people that work and volunteer at the Marine Mammal Center, please accept my humblest gratitude. May the monsters that harm these beautiful creatures receive a (short) lifetime of intense suffering, and may the future bring the need for your center to be lessened.

Best wishes and good karma to you all!

Linda Shamis

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 16, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 16, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have been very impressed by this organization ever since I first learned of it many years ago. Not only have they contributed to the rescue of many many marine mammals, they have also made significant contributions to the science behind effective diagnosis and treatment of the critters they rescue and rehabilitate. They are often the driving force behind helping whales get back to the ocean when they have wandered into the Bay. All in all, a terrific group.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have lived in San Francisco for 14 years & have heard much about the Marine Mammal Center, but sadly have never visited. I have heard very good things about their work, have watched their videos online, and seen stories on the local news - and have been very impressed. I donated for the first time this year, as I made a personal promise to give donations as Xmas presents to a few different charities that focus on animals. The Marine Mammal Cntr was one I easily selected, though I was a bit disappointed to see that their rating was not as high here as I would like. I have some small complaints, one is that I found the website a bit difficult to navigate. More than that, I was surprised to see the difference b/w the individual membership ($25/year) and family membership ($125). I had hoped to buy 2 family memberships for friends after just seeing how affordable the individual membership was. When I looked further, a few days later, I realized that I could really afford only one. While I don't begrudge them the money, it seems to me that exposing two families to the Center, instead of just one, would be good for the cause. It is my hope that my friends' children will visit the center, and have an alternative to a day's visit to the zoo. To my mind, it's so much better to be exposed to and learn about wild animal rehab and release, than it is to grow up seeing animals that are kept primarily for our entertainment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

5% executive comp is high fund raising is way too high. I'm glad that their rating is going up. when they reach 4 stars I will donate

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

none

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

reduce comp to the big dogs and reduce fundraising expenses

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers