Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
94 Reviews
1234.914895
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 20, 2014

more

July 20, 2014

I have volunteered for six Harbor Seal pup seasons during Saturday Day Crew. The Marine Mammal Center is a wonderful place. It is a beautiful and modern facility dedicated to rescue, rehabilitate and release of several kinds of sea mammals. All of the people I have met at this facility truly care for the patients. The environment is clean, save, comfortable and protected for the health and care of the animals. I feel privileged to get to volunteer here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

I've been volunteering with this amazing crew since January. The compassion and cooperation of all people involved is unrivaled. It really is all about the animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding, bigger facility. The current facility is amazing but wouldn't it be nice to help even more?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

The Marine Mammal Center rescues,rehabilitates contributes to research and releases marine mammals that have at one time been in distress and whose chances of survival would be greatly impacted if it wasn't for the dedicated volunteers.
We have all been working very hard this year rescuing pups
that have been abandoned by their mothers and coming in to the centers malnourished and now with the algae bloom along the CA coast that is effecting Sea Lions causing a build up of neurotoxins in their system. The build up can cause seizures.
We have rescued more animals since January than we did all of last year!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

Volunteering at the San Luis Obispo Operations is always fun. We've been extremely busy this year with large amounts of sea lion pups and then onto larger CSLs (California Sea Lions) that suffer from domoic acid as well as those who come in with traumas/entanglements/malnutrition. We have a dedicated team that has put in hours and hours of care for these animals. The two night supervisors are GREAT teachers who have a lot of knowledge to share but unfortunately they're retiring (one not by choice). In the 7 months I've been here I've learned more than I can even imagine!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think volunteers should be made supervisors until they've spent AT LEAST 2 years at the center. If a volunteer isn't meshing well with others and people refuse to work with them then they should be asked to leave, wish Sausalito would listen to concerns more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

They get the word out in a caring and non frightening way.. Great articles and a good source to learn at any ageā€¦. Very cringe people , god at networking.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering for this wonderful organization is a truly life changing experience! I have always loved the ocean and the creatures that live in it but to care for the animals that we rescue and to send them back to their home is magic! As sad as it is that we can not save all of them , to be able to release the many animals that we do rehabilitate is so rewarding . Working with such a great group of dedicated people has been the experience if a lifetime!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To expand the center to help more animals

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Found my passion after retirement. Wonderful organization, people, and volunteer opportunity. The best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

Volunteers! Volunteers! Volunteers! The most amazing people are drawn to The Marine Mammal Center by their love and compassion for these animals. I have worked alongside dedicated volunteers in the driving rain rescuing a large seizing sea lion on the beach in the dark. They work all hours of the day and night providing humane care for seals, sea lions, otters and sea turtles. An amazing amount of rescue, rehabilitation, research and release is provided by a relatively small paid staff and a tremendous number of volunteers. This organization provides so much "bang for the buck" for its donors - a world-wide respected organization educating so many about the health of the ocean and the ocean's inhabitants. Watching the healthy animals being released back to their natural habitat never ceases to bring a tear to my eye. Thank you TMMC for giving me the experience of a lifetime!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more money to fulfill its mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Since 1975 The Marine Mammal Center has rescued, rehabilitated, and released literally thousands of Marine Mammals - Sea Lions, Harbor Seals, Stellars, Harbor seals, Fur Seals, Elephant Seals, and when in need - whales, dolphins, porpoises, otters, and other endangered species. With state of the art medical care facilities, brilliant veterinary staff, and animal husbandry volunteers by the 100's working tirelessly to treat, then nurse these animals back to health, there is nothing quite like it anywhere else in the world. TMMC is currently expanding operations to Hawaii to provide rescue, hospitalization, and release support for critically endangered Monk Seals as well.

TMMC also conducts scientific research with animals while in treatment and post mortem to study their health, environment, attendant illnesses as a result of environmental impairment AND the impact of human influences resulting in injury or death in marine mammals all toward improving long-term survival of all species. TMMC's findings are shared internationally with academic and scientific communities. By sharing the wealth of knowledge gleaned from TMMC, other countries are benefiting in their efforts to preserve and assist other endangered species unique to their region. TMMC's outreach programs educate well in excess of 30,000 children and adults each year; teach them about these magnificent animals, about what we do and why we do it - and to help them understand that marine mammals are a sentinel species. Everything we either throw or flow into the ocean - the frailties and illnesses we find in these animals as a result of environmental impairment which affects THEM - has the potential at some point to affect US.

Much of this work is supported by private donors who understand and appreciate the our mission statement and good works TMMC does on every level. I cannot tell you how proud I am to be one of the MANY volunteers supporting the animals and medical staff, working toward that happy ending: release back into their natural habitat. It's the best job I've never made a dime from - but really? The BIG paycheck is opening that crate and watching them bolt for home, healthy and whole once more

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have to sit here all day trying to think of one ;)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with the Marine Mammal Center for about 9 months. I started volunteering right when the busy season started up, and I got to see first hand what a great place this is. We worked late nights, had many fish smoothies to make, and lots of dishes to clean. It was well worth it, and I left feeling great every week knowing i was doing my part. I now am more careful about the what I throw away, and am more environmentally conscious now that I volunteer here. I am more aware about how my actions can affect out ocean friends.

TMMC takes in thousands of Marine mammals and with the help of caring staff and volunteers rehabilitate these animals and get them back to their ocean homes. I am truly blessed to be part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

unload frozen fish into buckets so the patients can get fed. Volunteer