Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.915795
Write A Review
September 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

Awesome organization, great cause, fantastic and inspiring success stories. Thank you to all of the volunteers who make this happen. : ) more

September 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I love the knowledge and experience I gain when I come to this marine mammals center. Its so fun and such a worthwhile cause. Please help them and recognize their work. The teach the public about how we can help and what our impacts are on marine mammals. They also respond to numerous calls from the public about stranded animals. They have a fantastic visitors' center too. They're work is dirty and hard and they need all the support that they can get.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Awesome organization, great cause, fantastic and inspiring success stories. Thank you to all of the volunteers who make this happen. : )

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with the Marine Mammal Center for about 9 months. I started volunteering right when the busy season started up, and I got to see first hand what a great place this is. We worked late nights, had many fish smoothies to make, and lots of dishes to clean. It was well worth it, and I left feeling great every week knowing i was doing my part. I now am more careful about the what I throw away, and am more environmentally conscious now that I volunteer here. I am more aware about how my actions can affect out ocean friends.

TMMC takes in thousands of Marine mammals and with the help of caring staff and volunteers rehabilitate these animals and get them back to their ocean homes. I am truly blessed to be part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

TMMC rescues and provides medical services for thousands of animals. More than this, they help populations of animals and help the environment. Teaching children and conducting scientific research helps the animals in the hospital, but also helps the entire planet! Because The Marine Mammal Center focuses on all levels, not only do people have a great experience volunteering, but the research may have human health impacts on diseases such as diabetes and autism. Raising issues of global pollution problems helps individual hospital patients, each species and the environment as a whole. I recommend coming to a scientific talk or a docent tour at The Center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We watched the National Geographic episode about this center and then came to visit. We did the docent led tour of the facility and learned about the different kinds of seals, how they get rescued, how they receive medical treatment, how "fish milk shakes" are prepared for them and how they are released. We were impressed by the educational and environmental mission of this organization at work. The volunteer docent was informed and inspiring, and was engaging for all the members of my family on the tour.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 16, 2012

more

December 16, 2012

I continue to be amazed by The Marine Mammal Center in my early months as a volunteer. In mid-July, I had an opportunity to release nine sea lions back into the Pacific and share in the absolute pride while watching them rush out to the sea. These were nine of the 800+ pinnipeds that are rescued, rehabilitated and released by TMMC every year. Then in mid-Sept, I truly lived a lifelong childhood dream of joining Jacques Cousteau on the Calypso by spending the morning with his eldest son and ocean explorer, Jean-Michel. Standing alongside Jean-Michel that Thur morning and seeing the pride he shared w the entire TMMC team as more three sea lions were released, was my once in a lifetime moment to actually live my wildest childhood dream … The groundswell of support I’m getting from my family and friends is a testament to how our efforts touch so many people who only dream of the volunteer work and organization we’re privileged to support …

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2012

more

December 12, 2012

I have recently been active with the Stop Diablo Canyon Seismic Testing, and have been fortunate enough to have met Volunteers with MMC. I am Very Grateful for their Fabulous efforts, and without them and others who care, our Oceans, Our Lives, and our Grandchildren s' Lives would not be very Hopeful! Great Work!! Great Gift Ideas... Adopt a Seal !! The 2013 Calendars are Fabulous!.... THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU ! I can't wait to Visit the Center! THe Health of Our Oceans are a True Representation of Our World Health and Future!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Ily what you guys do!! im 14 and my passion is to be a marine biologist!!!! i love you guys so so so much!!!!! i have a fundraising page for the marine mammal center!!!! btw if anyone wants to please donat at http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/savemarinelife/yasminehavlinsfundraisingpage thanks!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I follow Marine Mammal center on Facebook because the work they do touches my heart. I deeply care about all life on this planet, and support the loving work done by these folks. I live in land-locked center of the states, but have a strong bond to the ocean and the amazing mammals that live in and around it. They are some of my favorite creatures. It encourages me to follow the efforts of this worthy non-profit. For all the damage we humans have done to the planet and seas, it is so good to see people like this working to offset that destruction. Keep up the excellent work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Awesome! If you want to be around smart, kind, and smart people. TMMC is your place to be!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Amazing organization! As a conservation biologist, I know that it is the organizations like the marine mammal center that are the heart and soul of our important work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

unload frozen fish into buckets so the patients can get fed. Volunteer