Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.915795
Write A Review
July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What a great way to teach kids about animals and a way to motivate them to learn even more. Nothing beats hands on experience with accurate information for students to grow and learn.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Center's rehabilitation of injured/sick aquatic animals is laudable. They are an irreplaceable in asset in monitoring environmental effects on the aquatic ecosystem's inhabitants and protecting same.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

na

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Marine Mammal Center, located in Sausalito, California, is an astounding organization of highly dedicated professionals and volunteers rescuing marine mammals who are found stranded on beaches all over the state. Their rescues include Pacific Harbor Seals, Northern Elephant Seals, California Sea Lions and others. This year, despite the pressure of a record number of strandings, the Marine Mammal Center has successfully rehabilitated scores of animals and released them back to the wild where they belong. I am impressed by their responsiveness, their efforts to educate those who may come upon stranded marine mammals, their expertise, and their efficient use of donations. I am a small donor yet they make me feel significant to their efforts, and I am able to rest assured that my dollars are wisely used. They communicate just enough to keep donors advised of their efforts. They deserve the support of those who care about our oceans and the mammals in them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out how to increase its funding levels so that everything they need or wish to accomplish would be possible.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm not sure what the world would do without this wonderful organization. We need more people like this to help our friends who live in the ocean. I will always be a supporter and I strongly urge anyone who can help to do it!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Found my passion after retirement. Wonderful organization, people, and volunteer opportunity. The best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

Volunteers! Volunteers! Volunteers! The most amazing people are drawn to The Marine Mammal Center by their love and compassion for these animals. I have worked alongside dedicated volunteers in the driving rain rescuing a large seizing sea lion on the beach in the dark. They work all hours of the day and night providing humane care for seals, sea lions, otters and sea turtles. An amazing amount of rescue, rehabilitation, research and release is provided by a relatively small paid staff and a tremendous number of volunteers. This organization provides so much "bang for the buck" for its donors - a world-wide respected organization educating so many about the health of the ocean and the ocean's inhabitants. Watching the healthy animals being released back to their natural habitat never ceases to bring a tear to my eye. Thank you TMMC for giving me the experience of a lifetime!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more money to fulfill its mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

My daughter and I have been going here for over 10 years. Beautiful setting and the animals and cared for well. The docents are educated and so helpful. We learn something new each time we go.

Living along the SF Bay, I have had to call the center a few times over the years regarding
stranded mammals. They are quick to respond and we are able to track how the mammals are recovering.

Take an amazing tour of the facility and head on over to the beach across the street. A fun full day.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is Perfume, of who's release I witnessed on Sept 7th. While reading this article I found links to other released patients, but sadly, also those who did not survive. Sad at how many don't survive, compared to how many do. Almost seemed equal. Thank god for organizations like The Marine Mammal Center, and her dozens of paid staff, and the 1000s of volunteers, who do all they can to help heal & release all those that they can. Well Done TMMC, and those like you! I will surely continue to support you as much as I possibly can

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing. From what I have seen, read, & heard, they are doing a marvelous job. Keep up the GREAT WORK, TMMC!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Since 1975 The Marine Mammal Center has rescued, rehabilitated, and released literally thousands of Marine Mammals - Sea Lions, Harbor Seals, Stellars, Harbor seals, Fur Seals, Elephant Seals, and when in need - whales, dolphins, porpoises, otters, and other endangered species. With state of the art medical care facilities, brilliant veterinary staff, and animal husbandry volunteers by the 100's working tirelessly to treat, then nurse these animals back to health, there is nothing quite like it anywhere else in the world. TMMC is currently expanding operations to Hawaii to provide rescue, hospitalization, and release support for critically endangered Monk Seals as well.

TMMC also conducts scientific research with animals while in treatment and post mortem to study their health, environment, attendant illnesses as a result of environmental impairment AND the impact of human influences resulting in injury or death in marine mammals all toward improving long-term survival of all species. TMMC's findings are shared internationally with academic and scientific communities. By sharing the wealth of knowledge gleaned from TMMC, other countries are benefiting in their efforts to preserve and assist other endangered species unique to their region. TMMC's outreach programs educate well in excess of 30,000 children and adults each year; teach them about these magnificent animals, about what we do and why we do it - and to help them understand that marine mammals are a sentinel species. Everything we either throw or flow into the ocean - the frailties and illnesses we find in these animals as a result of environmental impairment which affects THEM - has the potential at some point to affect US.

Much of this work is supported by private donors who understand and appreciate the our mission statement and good works TMMC does on every level. I cannot tell you how proud I am to be one of the MANY volunteers supporting the animals and medical staff, working toward that happy ending: release back into their natural habitat. It's the best job I've never made a dime from - but really? The BIG paycheck is opening that crate and watching them bolt for home, healthy and whole once more

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have to sit here all day trying to think of one ;)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

I had heard of the marine mammal center but never visited until I participated in a fun run fundraiser last year. I was so impressed - by the center itself, and the amount of outreach and education being done, and and the amazing job they are doing with the rehab and release of sick and injured wildlife. This is an extremely well run operation, I'm proud to have this wonderful group in my community! BTW the fun run is my favorite event of the year, and the gift shop is super fun too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

unload frozen fish into buckets so the patients can get fed. Volunteer