Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
93 Reviews
1234.913985
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

These volunteers are doing noble work with their rescue, rehab, and release of marine wildlife. Our Oceans need more people like these, people who give back rather than take away via action and education. They're untold s/heroes!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

They do so much for the marine wildlife. Not just anyone can do what they do, they are special group of hard working, dedicated conservationist. They are amazing!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

I've been volunteering with this amazing crew since January. The compassion and cooperation of all people involved is unrivaled. It really is all about the animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding, bigger facility. The current facility is amazing but wouldn't it be nice to help even more?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

The MMC is not only doing good in the world of conservation, they are deeply involved with educating the public about what they do, why they do it, and what we, the visitors, can to to be involved! Not only do they do good in this way, but they are free to visit-a rare circumstance in these days' non-profits. This is a huge benefit to the community, especially those living in poverty who may not otherwise have the chance to experience and learn from an institution like this. Good job MMC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them more funding so they could hire me as an educator! :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

The Marine Mammal Center rescues,rehabilitates contributes to research and releases marine mammals that have at one time been in distress and whose chances of survival would be greatly impacted if it wasn't for the dedicated volunteers.
We have all been working very hard this year rescuing pups
that have been abandoned by their mothers and coming in to the centers malnourished and now with the algae bloom along the CA coast that is effecting Sea Lions causing a build up of neurotoxins in their system. The build up can cause seizures.
We have rescued more animals since January than we did all of last year!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

Great organization helping marine life. Keeps the public informed and recommends
Things everyone can do to help on any level.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Almost 20 years ago I and several others were attending an international conference in Monterey and were able to participate in the rescue of a baby seal. It was one of the most exciting and rewarding things I'd ever done. One conference attendees was from China and I don't think had ever seen a seal before. The volunteers were nice enough to name the seal after him which really made his day. I was impressed that day and am still impressed at the expertise and caring and the accomplishments of the Marine Mammal Center. Not only did we get to help save a life, we gained some knowledge and the Marine Mammal Center gained a donor for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't have enough knowledge to offer suggestions

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

Volunteering at the San Luis Obispo Operations is always fun. We've been extremely busy this year with large amounts of sea lion pups and then onto larger CSLs (California Sea Lions) that suffer from domoic acid as well as those who come in with traumas/entanglements/malnutrition. We have a dedicated team that has put in hours and hours of care for these animals. The two night supervisors are GREAT teachers who have a lot of knowledge to share but unfortunately they're retiring (one not by choice). In the 7 months I've been here I've learned more than I can even imagine!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think volunteers should be made supervisors until they've spent AT LEAST 2 years at the center. If a volunteer isn't meshing well with others and people refuse to work with them then they should be asked to leave, wish Sausalito would listen to concerns more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

I've been watching the amazing work of MMC for years! The work they do is difficult and sometimes dangerous, yet they are always there for marine mammals in trouble. They make wonderful use of the volunteers who contribute to all aspects of life with seals, sea lions, otters, and whales! (Remember Humphrey the Humpback who wandered into San Francisco Bay?) The Marine Mammal Center does make use of medical and scientific experts for the best solutions to problems. They are ready also to experiment, try new approaches, ad lib when nothing else seems to work.

They have a wonderful center just north of the Golden Gate Bridge, and other locations (most recently in Hawaii). They have all kinds of support from donors and volunteers. A great place to visit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to raise more money for their use!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

They are a wonderful group, doing great work! As beach going people, it is heartening for us to know that there are organizations like this out there caring for the sea animals we love!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't complain!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

unload frozen fish into buckets so the patients can get fed. Volunteer