Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.915795
Write A Review
November 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The MMC is an awesome nonprofit and I am privileged to have been volunteering there for almost 4yrs now. Started with my daughter as she was going into marine biology in college. We enjoyed spending our Saturday nights together. After she left for college I continued. Volunteering there gives a sense of accomplishment and pride. Long hours...You Bet....with shift starting at 6pm...there were times I didn't leave until 6am. That's because I sat with the Harbor Seal Patients who were recvg iv fluids and on the brink. But we made it through. Weather conditions...we grin and bear it. Lots of coffee and clothing layers. But its peaceful. When your sitting with the Harbors in the ICU....its quiet. You calm them and allow them to recuperate. They make their noises and watch you with their big eyes. But all the while lettg them remain wild and non habituated to eventually return home. TMMC is an organization with volunteer heart. One big happy family. Through happiness and sorrow we get it done.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

As both a donor and a 13-year veteran staff member, I can attest to the fantastic work The Marine Mammal Center performs on a daily basis. It is so amazing to work for an organization that is focused on making the world a better place, one marine mammal at a time. Each day I look forward to hearing the latest on current patients or learning about urgent calls from the public concerning an entangled animal seen swimming off a beach, or what the education team is hearing from school children who often have never even been to a beach.

The Center has just completed a new hospital in Hawaii to save an entire species - the Hawaiian monk seal is the most endangered pinniped in the US, and there are fewer than 1,100 remaining.

Perhaps the most amazing thing about the Center is the 1,000+ dedicated volunteers: truly the heart of this place! So if you want to give to an organization that has a track record (18,500+ rescues!) of innovation and success, give to The Marine Mammal Center!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

The marine mammal center does amazing work for seals and sea lions that have been hurt or need rehabilitation. They have many success stories of patients that have gone in to the center with little chance to live, but have been rehabilitated through their hard work and have returned to their ocean home. Truly a great place that does excellent work for the world and the oceans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 26, 2014

more

July 26, 2014

I love The Marine Mammal Center. They provide rescue, rehabilitation, and education. Saving marine mammals is a work of love. Each and every person who works at TMMC is dedicated and enthusiastic.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

The Marine Mammal Center helps so many! In addition to all their great work in CA, They have expanded to HI recently to help the very endangered monk seals. They provide opportunities for kids, teens and adults to volunteer as well as internships for teens to learn veterinary care. There are many educational programs at the Marine Mammal Center for the public to learn about keeping oceans clean and helping and interacting with marine animals. Money is raised not only ny donation, but also in creative ways through their store and classes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

Should not saving the world's oceans and marine life be one of humanities top priorities? These creatures have never violated or harmed or taken advantage of me. The least I can to is returned the favor in whatever way I can. We all possess the deepest most effective healing device in the universe, Love, compassion, caring and protecting other all living beings and our world's oceans.

Thank you Marine Mammal Center and great good karma to all,
Ambriel G.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would create a 5 thousand more Marine Mammal Centers... we need you so much!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 20, 2014

more

July 20, 2014

The work done on behalf of marine animals at the Marine Mammal Center is without equal. These animals, often in huge numbers, more often than not the victims of human cruelty or human greed, have essentially nowhere else to turn. Injured, sick, blind, abandoned, no matter. The MMC is there for them. A combination of incredible facilities, amazing science, dedicated staff and volumes of tireless volunteers, the MMC is one of precious things in our world that makes you feel good to be human.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Double it in size and triple it's resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 20, 2014

more

July 20, 2014

I live on the coast and spend a lot of time at the beach. Whenever I see something that concerns me...a sealion behaving oddly, one time a beached/dead porpoise, I call the Marine Mammal Center and they always address my concerns. When I found the porpoise, they came immediately to my aid (I stayed) until they got there because I was not entirely sure if it was dead. They also took the corpse from the beach and explained how it would help them understand beachings better. They are amazing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 20, 2014

more

July 20, 2014

I have volunteered for six Harbor Seal pup seasons during Saturday Day Crew. The Marine Mammal Center is a wonderful place. It is a beautiful and modern facility dedicated to rescue, rehabilitate and release of several kinds of sea mammals. All of the people I have met at this facility truly care for the patients. The environment is clean, save, comfortable and protected for the health and care of the animals. I feel privileged to get to volunteer here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

I read the updates from this Centre daily and am always impressed by the genuine care and attention they provide to marine wildlife. The oceans are a part of our lives as humans also. Keep up the great work ! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise more money for them to continue on their noble quest

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

unload frozen fish into buckets so the patients can get fed. Volunteer