Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 17, 2013

more

June 17, 2013

Marina's Kids is fantastic. We have a lasting vision for our kids and families. Encouraging families not to JUST host but to mentor for the future. We work hard not only for the kids but our host families. Families most graciously share their hearts and love of Christ with our amazing children making families VIP's. Returning the children to Ukraine is very difficult and we work to keep families connected with their child/ren. Families want to stay connected with their children and children want to continue to feel special after returning to Ukraine. We are giving families the ability to connect with the children through letters, little packages, birthday parties, skype or phone calls when available. There is such a great distance between families and child/ren It is very important to help keep them connected. We plan our first mission trip for host families to visit their children in the spring of 2014.
This is about mentoring a child through some tough times and focusing not only on the time here in the U.S. but also making them feel special when they return to Ukraine. We see such amazing changes in the kids and families it is an experience like none other. The kids return to Ukraine stronger and healthier, their grades go up, self confidence goes through the roof. For many children who have no family in their life knowing that someone cares about them, and that someone simply has their picture on the wall is life altering. Hosting and mentoring makes such a positive impact for the future of our children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A change to include other countries in this program would be my wish.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Marina's Kids has made a big impact in the lives of many orphans in just the 2 years it has been around. The kids everyday lives have improved from better facilities, clothing, hygeine supplies and much more. The orphans eagerly await Marina's twice yearly visit and are sad to see her go. But she stays in contact with many of them in between visits .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

We founded Marina's Kids to help disadvantaged children to build a better future. We are currently working with orphans in Ukraine in a few locations. We work to improve their living conditions through facilities improvements. We also provide needed personal items, supplies for the orphanages and technical school, and clothing for children. Marina visits the children twice a year, and remains in contact via phone calls to build relationships with the children and to mentor them. This winter we are undertaking our first hosting program to give orphans the opportunity to visit the US. The board members and officers are not paid for their time which allows us to allocate the maximum available funds to the projects we take on for the children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

This ministry started from a life long desire to help orphans. I was 14 when I got to know an orphan, girl in Riga, where I lived at the time. I knew then, helping kids like her was my calling in life. Over time I have worked in different capacities with different kids needing help. After my trip back to the country of my birth, Ukraine, in December of 2010, I realized that it was time for the next big step, our own organization. That would enables us to do so much more, help so many more orphans- make a difference in their lives. Through our organization we can also enable others to do the same. I am amazed at how much we have been able to accomplish so far, but it is still just scratching the surface. I would like to encourage you to join us on journey. See more of what we have done on our website and how you can help. www.marinaskids.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers