Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

We hosted a boy this past summer of 2013 and we will be hosting the same boy this winter. When we found out about Marina's Kids, we did not know too much about what hosting would involve. We knew others who had hosted and fostered before, but we had never done so ourselves. Thankfully, everyone volunteering with Marina was very supportive, informative and patient! We had a wonderful experience and are so excited to be working with them again for the winter hosting! Our lives have been forever changed and my husband and I would highly recommend getting involved with Marina's Kids. It will not only impact the lives of orphans as they experience what unconditional love is but it will impact your life as well. Their whole team have such hearts for these children and are each genuine, incredible people wanting to make a difference! I am happy to say that we are in the process of adopting the sweet boy we hosted this summer. God is so awesome!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

We were first introduced to Marina's Kids in January 2013, and I can say with certainty, that this organization will forever be a part of our lives. We went to our first meeting about orphan hosting without fully understanding what it entailed, and to be frank, with great hesitancy. My husband and I left that meeting changed people. When we learned about what Marina's Kids does for Ukrainian orphans....not just the orphans who get chosen to be hosted, but for all the orphans and the orphanages she works with...we knew that we had just taken part in a life changing event. We saw pictures of one of the orphanages she was trying to raise money to renovate, we saw pictures of boxes and boxes of shoes she had purchased, and then we saw the children. When we made the decision to host, Marina and her volunteers did an excellent job in helping to guide us to children who would fit best with our family. They were able to do this, because they actually take the time to get to know the children and develop relationships with them. Shortly after we chose a sibling group that we wanted to host, Marina happened to be visiting at their orphanage. She allowed us the opportunity to speak with them by phone while providing translation. We gave the oldest sibling our email address and we were able to exchange a number of emails before we even met! While the children were with us during the summer, Marina and her volunteers were always just a phone call away for any issues that arose. The day the kids had to fly back to Ukraine was a very sad day for all of us, however, Marina has been to visit the kids since then and we were able to send her money to buy some things for our host children and for the orphanage. Marina's Kids does everything they can to help foster a lasting relationship with the children you have hosted. I believe Marina's Kids goes far above and beyond what I have heard other hosting agencies do to help with continued contact after the children leave. The other aspect of this program that was so impressive to me was the level of education we were provided with prior to hosting. We received guidance about cultural differences, potential behavior issues, food and recipe suggestions, and advice about how to handle delicate issues such as the child's past. I can not speak highly enough about this organization, and especially Marina herself.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

We hosted a child through Marina's Kids twice and both times were exceptional. They are very well organized and communicate daily. They encouraged us to share stories and pictures of our hosting and were always there to help answer questions and concerns with clarity and kindness. We continue to see all the work they are doing to help orphans by regular emails and posts with photos and stories that bring tears. Marina and her entire staff of volunteers have hearts of Gold and we feel very blessed by them.
Sincerely, Courtney and Glenn Klugel

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have always had a heart for children. For years I have looked for ways to be more involved, but could never seem to find an organization that had the "whole package". Then I was introduced to Marina's Kids. Right away it was clear to me that Marina was a special person. Her heart and passion for the children she helps is evident. We hosted through the program...but Marina's Kids has an impact far outreaching hosting. It includes providing medical care, orphanage renovations, shoes and clothing, and FUN for ALL of the orphans. Even after they "age out" she continues to maintain relationships and provide a safe place for these young people to land as they navigate the beginnings of their adult lives on their own. My husband appreciates their financial transparency as they can account for every dollar donated! I can't say enough about this organization or the wonderful woman behind it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Marina is an awesome women running an awesome program. She loves and cares so much for these kids and helps make their lives better. she is amazing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers