Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
123.445
Write A Review
December 15, 2014

more

December 15, 2014

We adopted a jack russell terrier in 2014. She was a year old and we were told she was found running on a highway, probably a puppy mill dump. She had obviously been bred- my guess is that she lost her litter (too young and small) and was not profitable at that point. Their loss, our gain!

The adoption procedure was thorough, and I respect that. The foster family was absolutely wonderful. We have gained a delightful little dog!

Having read some negative reports from adoptions that did not go as well as ours, my heart goes out to these families. I have been involved with animals coming from abusive situations for many years. Dogs that have not been raised in loving families, particularly in their early years, can have issues that alter them from other dogs. We also have an adopted dog from a local shelter, now 12, who was pretty much a ferrell dog until she found herself in the dog pound and I brought her home at 11 months old. While she is a wonderful dog now and the absolute love of my life, she is still "different" and her adapting to family life was not easy. I think people need to understand that some of these dogs may or may not completely become "normal" pets, but the reward is great if they can at least adjust and learn to love in their own way. They just may not bond to humans in the same way as a "family raised" dog.

As I said, our adoption experience has worked out so well, we have a wonderful little dog that warms everyone's heart who meets her. She was obviously not emotionally scarred which is a bonus for her and us. She has changed over the months here, coming into her own little personality, and we are thrilled that she is ours. Jack Russells are a dog on duracell batteries! I am thankful for rescue groups out there on the front lines of fights we should never have to fight. I know the heartbreak of rescuing, but also the good endings of many. I will always be thankful for those who picked up and rescued our little dog!
June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

We rescued 2 dogs from Marilyns Voice over the years after doing tons of research about puppy mill rescues. The dogs we rescued had some issues that they needed help getting over and truth be told one dog is still having some issues but im sure we all would if we endured what these animals endured. I would not recommend this rescue if you are an inexperienced dog owner or if you dont fully understand the unique needs of a puppy mill rescues. The staff conducted a thorough interview of us and asked questions aboutout home. The foster moms of our dogs were always helpful and honest in the issues the dogs were having and we still talk with them and share photos of our babies progress. We drove to Ohio from NY to pick up our second dog and with our first the foster mom met us in Pennsylvania. Again, with any rescue, do your research on puppy mill dogs and their unique issues before considering using these folks. They are a lot of work but worth the effort.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

You will NOT be provided with the entire history behind their rescues, just bits n pieces.
They will give just enough to bait you with the warmth of a rescue. We were told of 2 issues on the 8 yr. old sweetheart that we took home on a Saturday. After reading the vet reports we found out that
this poor lil sweetheart had been to the vet 6 times in a matter of 6 weeks including a surgery we were NEVER told about! She had severe emotional scaring, rotting teeth, heart murmur (we found this out as we walked thru a Pet Smart Store with one of the volunteers!) No one told us before we made our huge emotionally torn decision. There is so much more to write but enough hurt has been endured by us & Lil Sweetheart that we had to return her to the Foster Mom after 3 days of discovering more major life/ health issues. Such horrible, sad & needless hurt & pain from this so called compassionate organization. They have hurt & it's deep!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

Recently adopted a dog from Marilyn's Voice. I was not made aware that the dog was not house broken (instead I was told he was doing really well with his house training...really well to me means rare accidents...not multiple times a day.) I was also never informed of the dog's agression. All of the reps from MV were INSISTANT that he was the sweetest little angel while in foster care. But how does a dog magically start biting the second he gets to another home? We went through trainers, every potty training idea in the book, money, and tons of time all to have to give the dogs back after almost 5 months. We loved the dog but couldn't risk him biting the wrong person (after he'd already bit every one of our neighbors multiple times.) Not only did we have to give up basically one of our family members but MOST of the staff at MV was very defensive and rude through the process. Do not adopt from MV...they omit the truth and then refuse refunds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers