Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

We rescued 2 dogs from Marilyns Voice over the years after doing tons of research about puppy mill rescues. The dogs we rescued had some issues that they needed help getting over and truth be told one dog is still having some issues but im sure we all would if we endured what these animals endured. I would not recommend this rescue if you are an inexperienced dog owner or if you dont fully understand the unique needs of a puppy mill rescues. The staff conducted a thorough interview of us and asked questions aboutout home. The foster moms of our dogs were always helpful and honest in the issues the dogs were having and we still talk with them and share photos of our babies progress. We drove to Ohio from NY to pick up our second dog and with our first the foster mom met us in Pennsylvania. Again, with any rescue, do your research on puppy mill dogs and their unique issues before considering using these folks. They are a lot of work but worth the effort.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

You will NOT be provided with the entire history behind their rescues, just bits n pieces.
They will give just enough to bait you with the warmth of a rescue. We were told of 2 issues on the 8 yr. old sweetheart that we took home on a Saturday. After reading the vet reports we found out that
this poor lil sweetheart had been to the vet 6 times in a matter of 6 weeks including a surgery we were NEVER told about! She had severe emotional scaring, rotting teeth, heart murmur (we found this out as we walked thru a Pet Smart Store with one of the volunteers!) No one told us before we made our huge emotionally torn decision. There is so much more to write but enough hurt has been endured by us & Lil Sweetheart that we had to return her to the Foster Mom after 3 days of discovering more major life/ health issues. Such horrible, sad & needless hurt & pain from this so called compassionate organization. They have hurt & it's deep!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

Recently adopted a dog from Marilyn's Voice. I was not made aware that the dog was not house broken (instead I was told he was doing really well with his house training...really well to me means rare accidents...not multiple times a day.) I was also never informed of the dog's agression. All of the reps from MV were INSISTANT that he was the sweetest little angel while in foster care. But how does a dog magically start biting the second he gets to another home? We went through trainers, every potty training idea in the book, money, and tons of time all to have to give the dogs back after almost 5 months. We loved the dog but couldn't risk him biting the wrong person (after he'd already bit every one of our neighbors multiple times.) Not only did we have to give up basically one of our family members but MOST of the staff at MV was very defensive and rude through the process. Do not adopt from MV...they omit the truth and then refuse refunds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 16, 2009

more

December 16, 2009

Marilyn's Voice is a grass roots puppy mill rescue group. Founded in April 2007, to date, we have rescued, rehabilitated, and found loving forever homes for over 300 dogs. We have done this solely with donations and volunteer support. I have been with this organization almost since it's inception, and while we have come a long way; there is still a long way to go. Our goal is to help end the puppy mill industry particularly in our home state of Ohio, but also all over the country. We have developed a growing reputation for excellence and professionalism in our community and within the rescue world. We take pride in what we do, growing stronger and more determined with each puppy mill dog we rescue. We take each dog into rescue, rehabilitate them physically and psychologically; and through an adoption application process, find the best and most appropriate home for each dog. We are active in protests of pet stores selling dogs obtained from puppy mills; educate the public through community outreach programs in colleges, schools, 4-H, etc. We are active in the legislation process to secure better regualtions to make sure that treatment of these helpless creatures is at least humane, until an end is in sight. We are a voice for the voiceless.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the dogs themselves. I have seen a dog that has never been brushed, bathed, a kind word or hand; scared of it's own shadow, become a playful, loving companion animal. I have seen the amazing results of the love and training received while in foster care.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

that every day I feel as if I am truely contributing.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

for all walks of life. Each volunteer and team leader brings their own knowledge and life experiences. We are like a family and support each other and the dogs as a family.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

truely make as impact on the puppy mill industry. With each dollar and each dog rescued, we move closer to, "untill they all have a home".

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers