Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

At Marian, the staff truly lives the mission, that the cycle of poverty can be broken through education. It is moving to hear the success stories of the alumnae, and I am proud to be part of a community that has such a deep impact on these girls' lives.

My experience in Marian's Young
Friends committee has shown me how worthwhile Marian's mission really is. Personally, the greatest evidence of this was at Marian's 8th grade graduation last year. In hearing their stories, you can really tell that Marian's mission really does make a difference.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I've known of Marian since my participation in high school with raising money for the school. As I returned to St. Louis from college and a job that was out of St. Louis, I look to immediately get involved in the community. I was honored and thrilled to be a part of the Young Friends committee, which I currently participate in. Marian lives out its mission every day through the students, families, staff and community. I am constantly proud of every alumnae's story and passion for education and confidence you see grow within the girls year after year.

The school's leadership and my fellow volunteers' passion and actions speak volumes to the commitment to Marian Middle School's mission and future development. We believe the girls can, and will, achieve anything they put their minds to.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

We were looking for a middle school for my daughter when we happened upon the name Marian Middle School.We assumed it was a public school but after reading more about it, found out otherwise. Our daughter has struggles and Marian has met her where she is rather than where some chart expects her to be. We as parents are overwhelmed by the support and encouragement from the staff and administrators. Our daughter comes home talking about how she enjoys school which makes it so much more amazing.
November 6, 2013

more

November 6, 2013

I was directly involved with Marian Middle School very early in its formation as a Board member, and I served in that role and in different capacities as Chair of Membership Committee, Chair of the Long Range/Strategic Planning Committee, Chair of the Policy Review Committee, Vice Chair and Chair of the Board, and Member of the Academic Committee as well. I have seen the wonderful work of the school up close for a number of years. It is a stellar model of the Nativity-type school, and it has a wonderful record of success serving the underserved educationally. One cannot but sense the great spirit among those one encounters when entering the building and meeting students and staff! The positive energy, the upbeat tone of all involved, and the warmth of presence is palpable. Others have made this observation as well. It has a very strong and broad base of involved volunteers to support its efforts, an outstanding reputation as a supportive and nurturing educational environment underpinned by a capable, committed professional staff and excellent leadership from the Board and Administration. Additionally, the school has a wonderfully supportive parent body and community engagement. From my experience it is a model for others to follow. In my view, educational reform could learn a great deal about what it takes to make significant changes in the education of American youth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue vigorously to tell its story and to demonstrate the ways of successful schooling which puts the important needs of learners, particularly the underserved in our communities, as the focus of the endeavor.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

My time at Marian Middle School has been one of the most challenging and rewarding experiences to date. The mission of the school, the staff and most of all the students make this place a wonderful space. I was grateful to have the opportunity to volunteer here. Although the staff is small, everyone works together as a team to help students and build a strong school character. Every day was different, memorable and enjoyable none the less.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I do not have kids but was asked to help Marian with some assistance to their IT environment 9 years ago.
I was captivated by the how the school seemed like a family and how the students were not just being educated in a variety of subjects but helping them prepare for their life beyond
school.
Marian doesn't just help them through middle school, they support them through high school and college to help break the cycle of poverty.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Marian story is a hope-filled, exciting one. I was part of the original group of three Sisters who envisioned a Nativity School for girls and "got the ball rolling." Within two years of planning, Marian opened its doors, because a dedicated group of volunteers believed in the mission, hoped against hope and told the story. Many joined us in this venture because of their interest in giving young women with limited resources a chance at a good, solid, faith-based education. Maureen Herrmann brought wonderful leadership to Marian and took the school to a new level in fund raising, some financial stability (though this will always be a challenge),and getting the word out about Marian. Christy Tobin as its present principal has a profound sense of the Marian mission, a hand that reaches out to the students as individuals, and challenges each teacher and student. The staff are all persons who truly want to be there in a school that is making a difference in the lives of young women. As the administrator of a private Catholic high school, I have been on on the other side as we welcomed Marian grads to our school. The Graduate Support Program has grown to be a very helpful and necessary program fostering success a these young women move through high school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to further help the Graduate Support program financially.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Marian since their inception and have walked with them the whole way to what they are today. An amazing school that develops their students through giving them a chance to learn and grow through challenges, hard work and perseverance. The staff and Board are unselfish in giving of their time and talents. All are pulling together to make the students succeed. I am proud to be a part of the Marian Mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The work done at MMS is absolutely incredible. The cycle of poverty can be broken through education and the staff at MMS lives this mission every day. When I listen to the stories of our students I am always struck by how their lives have changed as a result of MMS and what life would be like for them without MMS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Marian Middle School is an exemplary educational program, serving a challenging population of students, and doing so with a great desire to break the cycle of poverty. The principal, Christy Toben, is outstanding, and has a deep faith that shines through in her work with students and families. The staff at Marian is dedicated, hard working, and centered on developing each girl to her highest potential. Many volunteers support the program through tutoring and other contributions of time, because they believe in the mission and vision of Marian, and want to assist the staff in changing lives. Marian Middle provides hope for every girl, and the opportunity to live a better life by providing them the educational foundation they need to successfully attend college prep high schools.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers