Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12.64286345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 16, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 16, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

March of Dimes is an easily recognizable name as far as charities go. What is disconcerting is the proportion of funds MOD spends on fundraising. I just got an appeal with a dime in it. To me this is just throwing money away.

What made me check further into March of Dimes fundraising
is that there is a small insert with very hard to read "fine print". A pie chart is shown on this insert showing where MOD claims your dollar goes. MOD claims 75.8% goes to programs. After checking with Charity Navigator, I see the percentage is even lower at 65.9%. This undermines my faith in MOD and has made me scratch them off my list of organizations I will contribute to.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

In the past I have donated in different ways to MOD. Since reading the review in Charity Navigator it became obvious to me that their "fundraising" and "administrative expenses" are well above comparable levels in similar charities and thus I stopped donating, feeling my donations would be put to much more efficient use elsewhere. I am also non-plus'd by their high Executive Compensation levels. Naturally the donation requests continued to come in, in fact, between 11-01-11 and 12-01-12 I have received 17 solicitations, 3 by telephone and the rest by mail (some containing dimes). I have been unsuccessful in stopping these expensive solicitations but have become more convinced than ever that I will never again donate to MOD

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2012

more

December 11, 2012

Are these people robocalling or is someone spoofing their phone number? If it is this them, then it should be shut down. Only socipaths robocall.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have heard disturbing Stories about this organization. I hate to see them put dimes in mailings. Based on the return rate, I would assume most of these dimes go to waste. If I can afford to donate, I don't need their dime. Put the money to use the way it is intented. I think the Directors of this organization should take a serious look at how it is run. Their methods turn a lot of people off.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My only close contact with MOD was years ago, when I contacted them for assistance for a person who was a member of a non-profit that I was a very active volunteer with. MOD was able to give them some assistance, so I thought they were a pretty good group. But that was then. More recently, I've been getting phone calls (which I HATE and I have NEVER given any group that, I donated $$$ to, my private phone number ... because I do NOT want to be bothered). Anyway, now they are sending out letters with dimes in them. I almost threw out mine, without looking, until I noticed it contained money. I've noticed this with some other groups, also. They send potential checks or cash in hopes the receiver will return the checks/cash and add more. Well, I keep the cash and throw away the checks and doner letters, stickers, cards, wrapping paper, etc. (who NEEDS all that clutter???) and I remove the group from my doner list. I mean, if they can send ME money, they obviously have more than I have and are not fiscally responsible for the funds that they do have. Sad, but true.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

AMERICAN RED CROSS CEO[951,957SALARY PLUS EXPENSES PAID] UNITED WAY CEO [675,000 NUMEROUS EXPENSE BENEFITS.................] UNICEF CEO [1,900.OO PLUS ROLLS ROYCE WITH LESS THEN 5% GOING TO THE CAUSE, THIS IS THEIR SALARY FOR ONE YEAR, ( WOW)! HOW MUCH DO YOU MAKE A YEAR ? HOW DARE THESE PEOPLE EARN THIS KIND OF MONEY FOR CHARITY. THIS IS A SCAM FOR BIG COMPANIES TO USE AS TAX WRITE OFFS AND BULLY THEIR EMPLOYEES TO DONATE. HOWEVER, SALVATION ARMY IS VERY FAIR IN OFFERING THEIR CEO HOUSING AND A VERY MINIMAL INCOME OF 13,000 PER YEAR. THE VETERANS OF WAR IS A TOTAL NON PROFIT ORGANIZATION. MILITARY ORDER OF PURPLE HEARTS, DISABLED AMERICAN VETERANS AND VIETNAM VETERANS ASSOCIATION ALL NON PROFIT, WHILE AMERICAN RED CROSS, UNITED WAY AND UNICEF PAY THEIR CEO'S 3X WHAT THE PRESIDENT EARNS.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I made a donation 3 years ago and since then my phone hasn't stopped ringing.I wouldn't give them a dime now because they are the most annoying charity I've ever encountered.I have filed complaints with the federal do not call list at least 30 times and still they call everyday.I hope a Federal law is passed to investigate these telemarketers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My friend asked me for a donation to March of Dimes. This has resulted in a relentless barrage of robo-calls from morning to night, day after day, week after week. They hang up after a couple of rings; no one is on the line if I pick up. How did they even get my phone number? Check the Internet: many people have the same experience. Shame on you, March of Dimes. This charity is a good choice for people who want their donations to be used for harassment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 12, 2011

I've donated for years to this charity but starting about six weeks ago I started getting computer generated calls from MOD with a 914 area code. Whenever I answered the phone it was obvious this was a robo call and I never actually hear a live person after waiting 10 to 15 seconds. I would receive three to five of these calls PER DAY! Finally I waited on the line long enough to have the telemarketer answer at which time I unloaded! I wrote the CEO of MOD a letter this morning telling her that effective immediately my donations will stop. This type of phone harassment is unforgivable Also, the salaries for the CEO and staff are ridiculously high!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

hi i would like to know more about the CEO of march of dimes i want to get as much info as soon as i can. i am part of a club at my school and we are curently planing on spending time and money on March Of Dimes. we all know that money for schools is short so if i can help prevent this from being wasted that would be great and if you can help me please send me any info you have my email adress is meg.pb.95@gmail.com
and please help me prevent a waste of money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers