Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
12.62791345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
March 1, 2013

The March of Dimes is a wonderful organization that does a lot of work behind the scenes helping moms have healthy pregnancies. You don't hear about their successes much because they don't make a spe... more

February 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

As a parent who nearly lost a daughter who was born very premature, it is heartbreaking for me to see how many people are misinformed about the March of Dimes. I have volunteered with the organization for the last 10 years and know first hand how wonderful the March of Dimes is. I want to clarify a few things that are being said because they are incorrect and it's important to get the right information out there.

1) The March of Dimes does not provide funding to individuals. What they do is provide funding for research and services that help prevent preterm birth, birth defects, and infant loss. Things like smoking cessation courses, research into genetics that might help determine why some babies do better or worse after being born preterm, and programs to teach pregnant teens about the importance of proper medical care during pregnancy are the types of programs they support.

They have helped fund research that developed surfactant therapy (a chemical put in premature babies lungs that help them breathe) and has saved the lives of countless babies, including my daughter.

Anyone who takes a prenatal vitamin with Folic acid can thank the March of Dimes for funding research that showed that chances of Neural tube defects could be decreased by taking folic acid during pregnancy.

Remember that APGAR score your child got when they were born? Dr. Virginia Apgar worked for the March of Dimes and helped develop this quick test to evaluate how a baby is doing after birth.

How about that drop of blood the doctors took from your child's foot right after birth? That's because the March of Dimes has shown that detecting certain diseases earlier gives a better chance for treatment and outcome for the child. It's called Newborn Screening and is required at different levels in every state in the country.

In more recent years, the March of Dimes has started a NICU family support program in every state in the country. The March of Dimes puts a staff member on site in a NICU to help the families dealing with a birth crisis. These people will sit and hold your hand and listen as well as help answer any questions you have about your child and what lies ahead. They can help parents figure out different ways to find financial support as many NICU stays have a price tag in the hundred thousand dollar range. They set up "sibling events" so the other children in the family can start to bond with their brother or sister while they are in the hospital. But seeing it's not present in every NICU yet, many families don't know about this great service.

So if Joe Smith walks into a March of Dimes office and asks for money to pay for his baby's medical bill they can't do that. But they can help find information on assistance he can get to help cover his bills (medicaid, social security, etc). This is similar to most charities. You can't walk into a Red Cross office and ask for $100 and expect them to give it to you. It's just not the way these charities work.

2) The March of Dimes manages a website with the help of amazing volunteers called Share.marchofdimes.com. The website is basically an online support group for anyone who is dealing with a pregnancy that did not turn out as they expected. There are parents there who have children with birth defects, children who were born premature, and sadly, many parents who have lost a child. It's a heartwarming and supportive place to get advice when you are dealing with your own pregnancy/baby problems. This is the place to go when you need help with your situation, these families have walked in your shoes and can answer just about any question you have.

3) Yes, the March of Dimes does many appeals for donations, but every other charity I have donated to does the same thing. It is important to note that the March of Dimes does not pay for advertising. Anything you receive or signs you see are because a sponsor has covered the cost of that advertising.

4) The March of Dimes is making a difference! Prematurity rates have gone down in the last few years despite the number of women receiving infertility treatments going up. Women who receive fertility treatments are more likely to give birth to multiples which puts them at risk for being born early. So the more that rate goes up the more babies who are likely to be born preterm. But we are still seeing a decrease so what they are doing DOES work.

I guess what I'm saying is that while you may not see the work they are doing first hand, any baby born is benefiting from the March of Dimes. My 25 week preemie wouldn't be alive today without medical advancements made through March of Dimes funding and my full term son was still touched by their mission through folic acid and newborn screening tests. ALL babies are helped by the March of Dimes whether you see it or not.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the mission more visible. Many people do not understand what the organization actually does.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The March of Dimes is a wonderful organization that does a lot of work behind the scenes helping moms have healthy pregnancies. You don't hear about their successes much because they don't make a specific product or have their name out there as much as other organizations. But I assure you, their success are HUGE.

What they ARE doing is providing money to support programs and do research to help moms have full term, healthy pregnancies. Out of every dollar donated to the March of Dimes, $0.76 is spent on research and programs. For example, They work with local groups to provide funding to help pregnant women stop smoking, to teach them about nutrition, and to help them give their baby the best start in life.
They provide funding nationally to do research that SAVES LIVES. My daughter is one of countless children who survived her early birth due to medical developments paid for by the March of Dimes.

Did you know that drinking alcohol while you are pregnant is bad for your baby? You did? Great! Then the March of Dimes has touched your life. Ever hear that you are supposed to take folic acid while you are pregnant? That was the March of Dimes too. They funded research that proved taking folic acid during pregnancy decreases the chance of neural tube defects (like spina bifida). When your child was born did the nurse take a drop of blood from his or her heel? That's due to the March of Dimes newborn screening program which checks for a number of disorders that can be better treated the earlier they are caught. So you may not see them, but the March of Dimes is all around you.

My connection with them is personal. They funded research that developed a chemical called surfactant that allowed babies with underdeveloped lungs to breathe. My daughter received this medication when she was born 3.5 months premature weighing only 1 lb 15 oz. Without it, she would have died. Lucky for me the March of Dimes does exist and their research saved my daughters life. They continue to try to find ways to stop premature birth and in the short 9 years I've been a supporter of the March of Dimes, I've seen the prematurity rate drop. So they are making a difference!

Everyone should support the March of Dimes, because everyone deserves to have healthy babies. And their babies deserve to have healthy babies.....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013

more

May 10, 2013

March of Dimes does a tremendous job standing behind the families who are touched by their mission as well as the families who are celebrating full-term healthy babies. I have no doubt that the money collected is being used for great things and have experienced it first hand!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am writng about the March of Dimes in Orange and Sullivan Counties in New York. I have found these folks very giving of their time and enthusiastic about their cause. The are also very dedicated to the families who have benefited. As a volunteer I have been very happy with my connection and expect to give of my time for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

There are a lot of grumpy people on this site who know very little about philanthropy and running a major non profit. Look up the other non profits and be dismayed. The March of Dimes gives back more on the dollar than most non profits out there. Many materials for mailings are donated. Each of you that says that you donated to the March of Dimes but they never helped you. A) It's not all about you and B) where do you think the advances in medicine came from and were funded by? Did you get a polio shot? Did your child get a polio shot? - Thank the March of Dimes! Did you get a heal stick genetic marker screening at birth or your child? - Thank the March of Dimes! Did you know to take folic acid and not drink alcohol while pregnant? Yep! Thank the March of Dimes. Did your child receive surfactant through a ventilator preventing weeks on a vent? Yes...you guessed it, thank the March of Dimes? Did you stop to read about all the genes they have discovered that contribute to major birth defects? Probably not. So, for all of you who want nothing to do with the March of Dimes. Go ahead, get polio, don't take folic acid while pregnant and let potential birth defects set in. If you're not happy with the March of Dimes, pick up and call them. Don't bash them. They are a fundraising organization to raise money for research for cures, and they are very open about this. If you need emotional support, call a Pastor, go to a counselor, reach out to a friend but don't knock them for who they are clear they are not. I love the March of Dimes. Because of them, I knew to take folic acid, my son received surfactant therapy and I don't have polio. I also thanked them for the heal stick test which gave us important information about our premature child. God bless the March of Dimes and all the babies they have saved including the grumpy people on this site who are clearly misinformed. The March of Dimes has done research on the mailings and the return they get is worth it. Not every person is an angry person. I am not a staff person but a volunteer who is so eternally grateful for their research and support! Also, charity navigator is way off on their financial records. March of Dimes gives between 76-86% of each dollar earned. Disappointing that a wesbite like this would report inaccurate information without pulling financials. Even Forbes gets it right! Sounds like an angry employee who states of mismanaged funds. Our chefs auction took home $135000 this year to the organization and only had 10000 overhead. The NICU support team is funded through grants and grants come and go if you wonder where that money might be - there's your answer. The March of Dimes is clear that it does not pay the NICU support specialist's salary. This is a hospital funded position via grants in partnership with the MOD. The other reviewers on here don't even sound like they called to volunteer but just wanted to be given when they have already been given so much! It's not the Red Cross that gives direct money or supplies. Call your state's healthy smart program if you need that. Be thankful, they likely have saved many of our lives if not yours. The emotional support to the NICUs is awesome! I know, I was in a NICU for three months. Thanks for letting me clear up a few misleading posts who are misinformed and never volunteered or perhaps is a disgruntled employee.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with the March of Dimes now for over a year and love the charity and all they have done for my family. They constantly support the NICU/PICU'S in our area. they provide support to families in need and show gratitude to nurses and doctors on a regular basis. They constantly make an effort to reach out to families who need support and we were one of them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 22, 2013

This is a wonderful charity who has done wonderful things for families of premature babies who have survived and those who have not.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

March of Dimes are anonymous cowards who have harassed me by phoning my house three times per day for over three consecutive weeks. Last week I was home from work to answer and agreed to distribute the mailers to neighbors ( because the caller argued and wouldn't take "no thanks"). They CONTINUE to phone me all hours of the day from 914-294-2276!!! I did research to discover March of Dimes is a scam and should not be considered a charity by the FCC. The CEOs pay themselves close to $700,000.00 a year salaries, and if you ever agree to help they will punish you with unrelenting phone calls indefinitely!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

September 2012 article in Bloomberg & NPR found much of the donations going to a telemarketer, InfoCision. This charity will not get my money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2012

I have been a March of Dimes Volunteer for almost 20 years. My daughter was born with a birth defect and directly benefited from neonatal intensive care technologies and therapies funded through March of Dimes research. The March of Dimes executive leadership and staff are some of the best, brightest, and most dedicated professionals I have ever met; always putting the mission of improving the health of babies by preventing birth defects, premature birth, and infant mortality first and foremost. This is an organization dedicated to its mission and to the many volunteers across the country that support them. Being able to fundraise and assist the organization all these years has been a true privilege! Thank you March of Dimes!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am quite shocked by the March of Dimes lack of response to two serious allegations. They will look into it? Have you all in senior management not been watching Penn State, The Citadel and Syracuse?

You need to make a publlic acknowledgement to reassure your volunteers and staff before
this goes viral.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not personally been affected by prematurity, but someone in my family has been

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

apparently change the leadership. Perhaps their Board of Directors needs to be aware of this situation.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers