Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
12.62791345
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
October 9, 2012

September 2012 article in Bloomberg & NPR found much of the donations going to a telemarketer, InfoCision. This charity will not get my money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

AMERICAN RED CROSS CEO[951,957SALARY PLUS EXPENSES PAID] UNITED WAY CEO [675,000 NUMEROUS EXPENSE BENEFITS.................] UNICEF CEO [1,900.OO PLUS ROLLS ROYCE WITH LESS THEN 5% GOING TO THE CAUSE, THIS IS THEIR SALARY FOR ONE YEAR, ( WOW)! HOW MUCH DO YOU MAKE A YEAR ? HOW DARE THESE PEOPLE EARN THIS KIND OF MONEY FOR CHARITY. THIS IS A SCAM FOR BIG COMPANIES TO USE AS TAX WRITE OFFS AND BULLY THEIR EMPLOYEES TO DONATE. HOWEVER, SALVATION ARMY IS VERY FAIR IN OFFERING THEIR CEO HOUSING AND A VERY MINIMAL INCOME OF 13,000 PER YEAR. THE VETERANS OF WAR IS A TOTAL NON PROFIT ORGANIZATION. MILITARY ORDER OF PURPLE HEARTS, DISABLED AMERICAN VETERANS AND VIETNAM VETERANS ASSOCIATION ALL NON PROFIT, WHILE AMERICAN RED CROSS, UNITED WAY AND UNICEF PAY THEIR CEO'S 3X WHAT THE PRESIDENT EARNS.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I made a donation 3 years ago and since then my phone hasn't stopped ringing.I wouldn't give them a dime now because they are the most annoying charity I've ever encountered.I have filed complaints with the federal do not call list at least 30 times and still they call everyday.I hope a Federal law is passed to investigate these telemarketers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My friend asked me for a donation to March of Dimes. This has resulted in a relentless barrage of robo-calls from morning to night, day after day, week after week. They hang up after a couple of rings; no one is on the line if I pick up. How did they even get my phone number? Check the Internet: many people have the same experience. Shame on you, March of Dimes. This charity is a good choice for people who want their donations to be used for harassment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

Worst place I have ever worked in my entire life...I can attest to misuse of donated funds, improper behavior by management, and absolute disregard for all paid staff members and volunteers. Not only did this happen at corporate in White Plains, NY, but also in the chapter in North Carolina.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I used to donate to this charity until I found a percentage of proceeds goes to doing lab tests on animals. Search it on Google. Never will I ever donate money to this organization again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

February 1, 2012

I have been a March of Dimes Volunteer for almost 20 years. My daughter was born with a birth defect and directly benefited from neonatal intensive care technologies and therapies funded through March of Dimes research. The March of Dimes executive leadership and staff are some of the best, brightest, and most dedicated professionals I have ever met; always putting the mission of improving the health of babies by preventing birth defects, premature birth, and infant mortality first and foremost. This is an organization dedicated to its mission and to the many volunteers across the country that support them. Being able to fundraise and assist the organization all these years has been a true privilege! Thank you March of Dimes!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I've donated for years to this charity but starting about six weeks ago I started getting computer generated calls from MOD with a 914 area code. Whenever I answered the phone it was obvious this was a robo call and I never actually hear a live person after waiting 10 to 15 seconds. I would receive three to five of these calls PER DAY! Finally I waited on the line long enough to have the telemarketer answer at which time I unloaded! I wrote the CEO of MOD a letter this morning telling her that effective immediately my donations will stop. This type of phone harassment is unforgivable Also, the salaries for the CEO and staff are ridiculously high!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am quite shocked by the March of Dimes lack of response to two serious allegations. They will look into it? Have you all in senior management not been watching Penn State, The Citadel and Syracuse?

You need to make a publlic acknowledgement to reassure your volunteers and staff before
this goes viral.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not personally been affected by prematurity, but someone in my family has been

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

apparently change the leadership. Perhaps their Board of Directors needs to be aware of this situation.

November 29, 2011

I volunteer at the March of Dimes and have been impressed with their hard working, dedicated, and first class staff. The charity itself seems to be making great inroads against prematurity by government statistics released from time to time. Where I would reduce their rating from five stars to four is the somewhat high ratio of administrative and fundraising costs to total revenue.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering in the Head Office and seeing the great emphasis in recruiting volunteers, giving them outstanding training and using them in key positions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make an effort to reduce the ratio of administrative and fundraising expenses to total revenues.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers