Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12.68182345
Write A Review
February 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

It's a scam. Don't trust them. They will take from all of us but when we need it they won't give. They love only this $$$$$$$

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with the March of Dimes now for over a year and love the charity and all they have done for my family. They constantly support the NICU/PICU'S in our area. they provide support to families in need and show gratitude to nurses and doctors on a regular basis. They constantly make an effort to reach out to families who need support and we were one of them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 4, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 4, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I previously worked for the March of Dimes Missouri Chapter for three years. I left the organization due to management and poor usage of program funds. The organization has since cut their funding of the NICU program and cannot provide detailed explanations of where the money is going. When I worked there management couldn't even tell it's employees where the money is going.

Everything in the Missouri Chapter is politically driven and they struggle retaining employees because of the mis-management of funds. They spend money on lavish "gifts" for "patrons" and most of their events, especially their Signature Chefs Event, isn't profitable due to how much they spend on the event space itself.

Their mission is a great mission, if they actually funded it. There are many other foundations that help premature babies and if I were a donor I would research those foundations and donate to them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 27, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I know this charity has been around forever, but how can I, in good conscience, donate to a charity where the president of that charity makes over $600,000 per year? It's simply unconscionable.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 22, 2013

This is a wonderful charity who has done wonderful things for families of premature babies who have survived and those who have not.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

In the past I have donated in different ways to MOD. Since reading the review in Charity Navigator it became obvious to me that their "fundraising" and "administrative expenses" are well above comparable levels in similar charities and thus I stopped donating, feeling my donations would be put to much more efficient use elsewhere. I am also non-plus'd by their high Executive Compensation levels. Naturally the donation requests continued to come in, in fact, between 11-01-11 and 12-01-12 I have received 17 solicitations, 3 by telephone and the rest by mail (some containing dimes). I have been unsuccessful in stopping these expensive solicitations but have become more convinced than ever that I will never again donate to MOD

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2012

more

December 11, 2012

Are these people robocalling or is someone spoofing their phone number? If it is this them, then it should be shut down. Only socipaths robocall.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have heard disturbing Stories about this organization. I hate to see them put dimes in mailings. Based on the return rate, I would assume most of these dimes go to waste. If I can afford to donate, I don't need their dime. Put the money to use the way it is intented. I think the Directors of this organization should take a serious look at how it is run. Their methods turn a lot of people off.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My only close contact with MOD was years ago, when I contacted them for assistance for a person who was a member of a non-profit that I was a very active volunteer with. MOD was able to give them some assistance, so I thought they were a pretty good group. But that was then. More recently, I've been getting phone calls (which I HATE and I have NEVER given any group that, I donated $$$ to, my private phone number ... because I do NOT want to be bothered). Anyway, now they are sending out letters with dimes in them. I almost threw out mine, without looking, until I noticed it contained money. I've noticed this with some other groups, also. They send potential checks or cash in hopes the receiver will return the checks/cash and add more. Well, I keep the cash and throw away the checks and doner letters, stickers, cards, wrapping paper, etc. (who NEEDS all that clutter???) and I remove the group from my doner list. I mean, if they can send ME money, they obviously have more than I have and are not fiscally responsible for the funds that they do have. Sad, but true.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

March of Dimes are anonymous cowards who have harassed me by phoning my house three times per day for over three consecutive weeks. Last week I was home from work to answer and agreed to distribute the mailers to neighbors ( because the caller argued and wouldn't take "no thanks"). They CONTINUE to phone me all hours of the day from 914-294-2276!!! I did research to discover March of Dimes is a scam and should not be considered a charity by the FCC. The CEOs pay themselves close to $700,000.00 a year salaries, and if you ever agree to help they will punish you with unrelenting phone calls indefinitely!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers