Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been involved with the Mangrove Action Project (MAP) since it was founded over two decades ago. Although MAP is a small organization with limited funding, MAP has certainly had a considerable impact on the issues that it has engaged with. If it had more funding, it would have been able to do much more. It never wastes money, and its director has proven to be very ethical. He pays himself very little, and he never puts himself first. MAP has had much more influence than its funding would indicate. Money donated to MAP is certainly money well spent. Nothing is wasted. In addition, MAP has concentrated on pushing the right causes. It has not only been on the side of environmental protection. It has also been on the side of local people living in mangrove areas, and this is crucial. It is on the side of the disadvantaged small-scale fishers. It is a friend of small organizations on the ground around the world. It has always fought for equality and fairness. The only problem has been its limited financial resources. It hasn't sold out, and MAP definitely deserves out support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 28, 2012

Looking for a direction after too much time in advertising, Jim, MAP and the training session he ran in India in 2005 helped all the pieces drop into place. It literally changed my life. In less than ... more

October 18, 2012

My mangrove journey started with volunteering with MAP, and taking their training. It's gone through working for the Thai team as a paid consultant, friend of Jim and Ning's, and now an advisory board member. Their enthusiasm and professionalism has been a constant inspiration, helping me to stay in the Thailand when my own job was not working out. Encouraging me to take a PhD in mangrove conservation despite the challenges. MAP is a lean, passionate, dedicated NGO, which sticks to its knitting. Bravo, chaps.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Teaching with Jim and Ning in various different countries. Mangrove restoration techniques. One of the most fulfilling things I've done

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them core funding so they can focus on what they should be doing, rather than scrabbling around for funds

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Internet

What is its top priority in the long run?

Preserve as much current mangrove as possible. Restore as much degraded or lost mangrove as possible... largely by encouraging and teaching the local people to do it, and letting them get on with it

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Looking for a direction after too much time in advertising, Jim, MAP and the training session he ran in India in 2005 helped all the pieces drop into place. It literally changed my life. In less than a year I closed my business in the UK and moved to Thailand to work with Wetlands International, but in the same mangrove area as MAP. MAP is how small NGOs should be: passionate, very well informed, very well connected,sticks to its knitting, whippet-lean and efficient. It's the only NGO that tries to take the tens of thousands of scientific papers on mangroves and mangrove restoration and give this information, in an appropriate form, to local people and NGOs who need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

I have served the Mangrove Action Project as an advisor and colleague for twenty years, since MAP was founded. I am a professor of rural sociology with nearly 40 years of experience in coastal fishing and aquaculture in Asia and Latin America. To me, MAP plays an essential role in drawing attention to the issues faced by coastal residents in the tropics, and does so by highlighting the intimate relationship between people and mangrove around the world. Other groups which share these concerns have come and gone, but MAP has been in the field for two decades. By this I mean that MAP has a presence, works with people and mangroves, engages people in restoration and appreciation. Their calendars featuring children's art on mangrove themes are simultaneously beautiful and poignant. MAP is an essential clearinghouse for information, publishing weekly MAP News from around the world. I am proud to support MAP and believe MAP is deserving of recognition as a Great Non-Profit. Conner Bailey, Professor of Rural Sociology and Immediate Past-President, Rural Sociological Society, Auburn University, AL 36849-5406 USA.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2012

more

September 23, 2012

My name is Donnapat Tamornsuwan. I’m an ecologist with particular in applied wetlands conservation and natural resource management in South of Thailand where I have been working for 10 years. I have been involved in conservation projects in Thailand including development projects for the responsible use of natural resources, biodiversity assessments, and promoting community participation in conservation projects and several major projects in Krabi and Trang provinces. I join MAP work with Ecological Mangrove Restoration project in Krabi. This project can help local people to understand, how to planting mangrove and get high survival rate.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm join MAP with many projects, Student camp in Ranong and PhangNga province, Mangrove rehabilitation project in Krabi province, Wetlands conservation project in Trang and Krabi province.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

How did you learn about this organization?

I learn about Mangrove ecosystem and the way to planting Mangrove in right site and right species.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Partnering with mangrove forest communities, and local governments to conserve and restore mangrove forests.

What is its top priority in the long run?

MAP very strongly promote local participation in Mangrove restoration in community. This very importance for success in Mangrove restoration.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers