Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

I have been volunteering with MAP in Thailand at their Asia office for a little over a month now, and words can't describe the level of dedication and hard work I see every day. From mangrove restoration projects with large NGOs and local communities to community building along the west coast, the staff at MAP are committed to working at their highest capacity to do what works to conserve mangrove ecosystems. Their approach to restoration, working with nature, termed ecological mangrove restoration just makes sense. This approach takes into account the conditions of the site and provides a kick-start for the ecosystem to regenerate itself. When undertaking conservation work it is important to consider the local conditions and doing what works. The MAP staff know what works, and spend the time themselves undertaking these initiatives. I hope this review helps to bring attention to the great work being done in this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

Mangrove Action Project (MAP) has been working with coastal communities for a number of years. Through my association with them I have had the opportunity to work closely with an island community on local conservation issues in southern Thailand. The people at the MAP Asia office have been working very hard and are very productive. However, it remains a recurring question how that high level of performance can be maintained with limited resources, especially the limited support for salaries.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

In 1996, I made all the field organizing and transportation arrangements and then co-led a two week mangrove replanting project to the coastal island of Muisne in Ecuador, sponsored by the Mangrove Action Project. Our group numbered 12 or 14 participants from the United States. We collaborated with a local NGO to replant mangrove 'propagules' in areas that had been ecologically destroyed by improperly maintained shrimp farms. We succeeded in replanting several hectares during our time there. In 1997 I participated in another mangrove replanting project in southern Thailand. Ever since then, I have been a constant supporter and donor to the Mangrove Project. I recommend this organization highly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

May 2, 2012

more

May 2, 2012

My experience with the Mangrove Action Project in Thailand far exceeded my expectations. MAP gave me a fantastic opportunity to develop my professional skills, gain experience of working in conservation and discover Thailand. Being part of a small, dedicated team enabled me to get involved in a variety of activities and gain a full understanding of the importance of the organisation’s work. My
work was split between the office and the field where I assisted with identifying funding opportunities, applying for grants and producing information materials on sustainable mangrove products. I also got the opportunity to work on Koh Phra Thong with mangrove communities assisting partner organisations with conservation projects and understanding how MAP could assist further in the future.

MAP provides a network for local and international organisations working in mangrove forest and wetland conservation. On several occasions we met and worked with other groups which gave me an insight into the importance of knowledge sharing and collaboration.

My time with MAP was made unforgettable by the warm welcome and support I was given by the team. I not only had an amazing working experience but MAP opened up my eyes to Thailand - the food was incredible and there was not shortage of interesting people to meet. An unforgettable experience that I would not hesitate to recommend and only wish I could repeat!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 18, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 28, 2012

Looking for a direction after too much time in advertising, Jim, MAP and the training session he ran in India in 2005 helped all the pieces drop into place. It literally changed my life. In less than ... more

October 18, 2012

My mangrove journey started with volunteering with MAP, and taking their training. It's gone through working for the Thai team as a paid consultant, friend of Jim and Ning's, and now an advisory board member. Their enthusiasm and professionalism has been a constant inspiration, helping me to stay in the Thailand when my own job was not working out. Encouraging me to take a PhD in mangrove conservation despite the challenges. MAP is a lean, passionate, dedicated NGO, which sticks to its knitting. Bravo, chaps.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Teaching with Jim and Ning in various different countries. Mangrove restoration techniques. One of the most fulfilling things I've done

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them core funding so they can focus on what they should be doing, rather than scrabbling around for funds

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Internet

What is its top priority in the long run?

Preserve as much current mangrove as possible. Restore as much degraded or lost mangrove as possible... largely by encouraging and teaching the local people to do it, and letting them get on with it

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Looking for a direction after too much time in advertising, Jim, MAP and the training session he ran in India in 2005 helped all the pieces drop into place. It literally changed my life. In less than a year I closed my business in the UK and moved to Thailand to work with Wetlands International, but in the same mangrove area as MAP. MAP is how small NGOs should be: passionate, very well informed, very well connected,sticks to its knitting, whippet-lean and efficient. It's the only NGO that tries to take the tens of thousands of scientific papers on mangroves and mangrove restoration and give this information, in an appropriate form, to local people and NGOs who need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work for Mangrove Action Project (MAP), www.mangroveactionproject.org, specifically on our Question Your Shrimp campaign. I have found that most people are not aware of the ecological harm industrial shrimp farming in the global south is doing to the whole planet. Once they become knowledgable of the issues they are more than willing to sign our pledge to reduce their consumpsion of shrimp and only eat shrimp that is sustainably harvested in North America. They also say they will spread the word.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Coming from an enormous international NGO to MAP a few months ago was a big change. MAP is incredibly pro-active compared to their size and resources, yet volunteering with them is adding a healthy smoother rhythm to my life. They work in harmony with nature: non-stop, persistently, but coherently with life. They respect and conserve not only the natural resources, but also people, both the local community and all of us that contribute to MAP's work. I feel many conservationist have still a lot to learn from MAP when it comes to considering how important it is to take into account humans and their needs at all levels.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Koh Phra Thong Island, where a new alternative livelihood group and a community conservation center are running almost 100% on their on after the project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve their communication materials and ways to reach the public.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It definitely did! One one hand I improved important fundraising skills (from networking to proposal writing and donor seeking); on the other hand, I learned how to have a big impact in my projects while keeping a healthy working rhythm (it's all about team work and planning!)

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Healthier.

April 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Mangrove Action Project works tirelessly to preserve imperative mangrove wetland forests and support the sustainable livelihoods of traditional coastal residents. They're consistently working with local villages as well as local, national, and international nonprofits, nongovernmental, and relavant governmental organizations. The connections made with fisherfolk and their families, University students, and nonprofit members were educational and enlightening in the intricacies of managing this precious resource. The Thailand office welcomed me as family and were prepared to answer any and all questions about mangrove science and Asia-specific management issues. Their impact in Thailand is vast and their commitment impressive. With globally dispersed offices, MAP's overall commitment to betterment of the life of coastal people and the preservation of mangroves and the diversity of life that they support is unparalelled.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sustainable education and the positive effects on the quality of life and the livelihoods in coastal villages. Improvements in the regulations in the shrimp farming industry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Improved my grant research/writing skills, expanded my knowledge of the diversity of mangrove species and resident animal species, gained cultural sensitivities.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

More flexible in my views of conservation, as there are always so many factors to consider, particularly in the area of economically challenged households relying on natural resources. Although this makes the task of finding solutions more difficult, I was still left feeling hopeful, with the knowledge of people such as employees of MAP and community members such as those whom I met. Openminded, determined, and hopeful.

April 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer with MAP in Thailand, I learned an incredible amount about mangrove conservation and the valuable work that is occurring on the ground everyday to strengthen coastal communities' ability to protect their environment and, ultimately, their future. Over the years, MAP has shown a clear dedication to supporting local communities in their efforts to protect their environment by playing a key role in networking government agencies and large international NGO's around the world. A simple search online regarding the terms 'mangrove conservation' reveals MAP at the top of the list. Overall my experience at MAP played a key role in informing my later independent research at Yale and other institutes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers