Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.85
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I know MAP since I learned Mangrove Restoration Techniques since 2005. MAP has been doing great non profit work with available facilities and with great number of volunteers. The techniques that I learn from MAP, has established successful mangrove restoration in my region. Mangrove Action Project is also organizing and technically supporting several small non profit organizations across the world. I have visited their field sites, villages and office in Thailand that showed how they are strongly connected with their commitments, community and mangroves. I respect their effort of making great differences in mangrove conservation and restoration especially in the remote parts of developing countries. MAP's key strength is volunteers and networking with great enthusiasm and generous communication support. MAP has been making platform for several mangrove conservationists and coastal managers through Ecological Mangrove Restoration Group. My best wishes for their more achievements to restore the degraded mangroves and associated livelihoods.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

I have served the Mangrove Action Project as an advisor and colleague for twenty years, since MAP was founded. I am a professor of rural sociology with nearly 40 years of experience in coastal fishing and aquaculture in Asia and Latin America. To me, MAP plays an essential role in drawing attention to the issues faced by coastal residents in the tropics, and does so by highlighting the intimate relationship between people and mangrove around the world. Other groups which share these concerns have come and gone, but MAP has been in the field for two decades. By this I mean that MAP has a presence, works with people and mangroves, engages people in restoration and appreciation. Their calendars featuring children's art on mangrove themes are simultaneously beautiful and poignant. MAP is an essential clearinghouse for information, publishing weekly MAP News from around the world. I am proud to support MAP and believe MAP is deserving of recognition as a Great Non-Profit. Conner Bailey, Professor of Rural Sociology and Immediate Past-President, Rural Sociological Society, Auburn University, AL 36849-5406 USA.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2012

more

September 23, 2012

My name is Donnapat Tamornsuwan. I’m an ecologist with particular in applied wetlands conservation and natural resource management in South of Thailand where I have been working for 10 years. I have been involved in conservation projects in Thailand including development projects for the responsible use of natural resources, biodiversity assessments, and promoting community participation in conservation projects and several major projects in Krabi and Trang provinces. I join MAP work with Ecological Mangrove Restoration project in Krabi. This project can help local people to understand, how to planting mangrove and get high survival rate.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm join MAP with many projects, Student camp in Ranong and PhangNga province, Mangrove rehabilitation project in Krabi province, Wetlands conservation project in Trang and Krabi province.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

How did you learn about this organization?

I learn about Mangrove ecosystem and the way to planting Mangrove in right site and right species.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Partnering with mangrove forest communities, and local governments to conserve and restore mangrove forests.

What is its top priority in the long run?

MAP very strongly promote local participation in Mangrove restoration in community. This very importance for success in Mangrove restoration.

May 2, 2012

more

May 2, 2012

My experience with the Mangrove Action Project in Thailand far exceeded my expectations. MAP gave me a fantastic opportunity to develop my professional skills, gain experience of working in conservation and discover Thailand. Being part of a small, dedicated team enabled me to get involved in a variety of activities and gain a full understanding of the importance of the organisation’s work. My
work was split between the office and the field where I assisted with identifying funding opportunities, applying for grants and producing information materials on sustainable mangrove products. I also got the opportunity to work on Koh Phra Thong with mangrove communities assisting partner organisations with conservation projects and understanding how MAP could assist further in the future.

MAP provides a network for local and international organisations working in mangrove forest and wetland conservation. On several occasions we met and worked with other groups which gave me an insight into the importance of knowledge sharing and collaboration.

My time with MAP was made unforgettable by the warm welcome and support I was given by the team. I not only had an amazing working experience but MAP opened up my eyes to Thailand - the food was incredible and there was not shortage of interesting people to meet. An unforgettable experience that I would not hesitate to recommend and only wish I could repeat!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

April 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work for Mangrove Action Project (MAP), www.mangroveactionproject.org, specifically on our Question Your Shrimp campaign. I have found that most people are not aware of the ecological harm industrial shrimp farming in the global south is doing to the whole planet. Once they become knowledgable of the issues they are more than willing to sign our pledge to reduce their consumpsion of shrimp and only eat shrimp that is sustainably harvested in North America. They also say they will spread the word.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Coming from an enormous international NGO to MAP a few months ago was a big change. MAP is incredibly pro-active compared to their size and resources, yet volunteering with them is adding a healthy smoother rhythm to my life. They work in harmony with nature: non-stop, persistently, but coherently with life. They respect and conserve not only the natural resources, but also people, both the local community and all of us that contribute to MAP's work. I feel many conservationist have still a lot to learn from MAP when it comes to considering how important it is to take into account humans and their needs at all levels.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Koh Phra Thong Island, where a new alternative livelihood group and a community conservation center are running almost 100% on their on after the project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve their communication materials and ways to reach the public.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It definitely did! One one hand I improved important fundraising skills (from networking to proposal writing and donor seeking); on the other hand, I learned how to have a big impact in my projects while keeping a healthy working rhythm (it's all about team work and planning!)

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Healthier.

April 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Mangrove Action Project works tirelessly to preserve imperative mangrove wetland forests and support the sustainable livelihoods of traditional coastal residents. They're consistently working with local villages as well as local, national, and international nonprofits, nongovernmental, and relavant governmental organizations. The connections made with fisherfolk and their families, University students, and nonprofit members were educational and enlightening in the intricacies of managing this precious resource. The Thailand office welcomed me as family and were prepared to answer any and all questions about mangrove science and Asia-specific management issues. Their impact in Thailand is vast and their commitment impressive. With globally dispersed offices, MAP's overall commitment to betterment of the life of coastal people and the preservation of mangroves and the diversity of life that they support is unparalelled.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sustainable education and the positive effects on the quality of life and the livelihoods in coastal villages. Improvements in the regulations in the shrimp farming industry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Improved my grant research/writing skills, expanded my knowledge of the diversity of mangrove species and resident animal species, gained cultural sensitivities.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

More flexible in my views of conservation, as there are always so many factors to consider, particularly in the area of economically challenged households relying on natural resources. Although this makes the task of finding solutions more difficult, I was still left feeling hopeful, with the knowledge of people such as employees of MAP and community members such as those whom I met. Openminded, determined, and hopeful.

April 8, 2012

more

April 8, 2012

Each dollar spent goes a long way with the Mangrove Action Project, as they work with individuals in the field and have a large and diverse web of contacts that produces results.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer with MAP in Thailand, I learned an incredible amount about mangrove conservation and the valuable work that is occurring on the ground everyday to strengthen coastal communities' ability to protect their environment and, ultimately, their future. Over the years, MAP has shown a clear dedication to supporting local communities in their efforts to protect their environment by playing a key role in networking government agencies and large international NGO's around the world. A simple search online regarding the terms 'mangrove conservation' reveals MAP at the top of the list. Overall my experience at MAP played a key role in informing my later independent research at Yale and other institutes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers