Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.730775
Write A Review
December 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I suffered from intense PTSD from simply being around women. I was very suspicious of kindness, and especially female attention. What few friendships I had were strained. I was barely holding on to my job. I spent the first few hours of each day just lying in bed. A psychology student pointed me towards Male Survivor. Two years later, I'm healing, have my dream job, and even one of those healthy relationship things people talk about. The support, acceptance, and education were life changing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advocate MRM organizations, provide better options for gifts and apparel.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Bear with me as I explain my connection to MaleSurvivor.org.

I'm a single female and while surfing some offbeat websites with chat functions, a man contacted me who wanted to talk with me. He had a photo up and he was attractive, so I chatted with him online. Over time, we emailed
quite a bit, spoke on the telephone and eventually met. But the truth was, although it turned out he was very successful, he was also very erratic in his moods and really didn't like anyone to get too physically close to him. He would make dates then cancel them. This went on for months. He alluded to some childhood sexual abuse, but didn't discuss it in depth.

After about 4 months of this, I REALLY wanted to know what was going on with him, so I started looking for answers. It took me another 4 months to find the website MaleSurvivor.Org, but I'm so glad I did. I went to the discussion forums and read and read and read and read when men had posted about their feelings about their abuse, and the effects on almost every area of their lives. After a bit, I began posting and sending private messages to some of the men, the men who seemed to have the most similar symptoms to the man I was communicating with. There was one man especially, an older gentleman, who had a lot of the same issues who pointed me to about 6 or 7 books to read, and 3 movies, to help me understand. They did help me immensely, and finally, about 12 months after first contacted by my friend, I got a clue. If you haven't been abused, and haven't had a heart to heart talk with anyone who has been, it's impossible to imagine all the problems it causes, just crazy off the wall stuff an unabused person would never think of.

I will say, it was kind of hard to endure some of the remarks from the women in the "Friends and Family" section. They didn't approve of the nature of my communication with this man, and they certainly let me know it. However, when I realized I had a friend with a 12 year old boy inside of him, I couldn't refuse to communicate with the 12 year old. He was lonely and appreciated someone talking with him.

Dealing with an adult who has a child inside him, and enduring the inner conflict this engenders in a man, is no easy task. Takes the patient of Job.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

On their discussion forums, since they focus on sexual abuse, they declined to set up a discussion section for those physically abused as children, such as being beaten. This is unfortunate because I believe these forms of abuse have similar effects. One of the most pathetic men I ever spoke with in my life had been viciously beaten by his father for years as a child. The man was totally broken and lost, and he was DEFINITELY an "underserved" population.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I am a survivor of sexual abuse and I stumbled upon this site by accident. Let me tell you, it was the best accident I have ever had. It offers the help you need when going through something like this. I told my family and nobody knew what to say. Nobody ever knows what to say or do unless they have been through it. This is a place where men of all ages come to help and get help with one common issue. It has been the rock that has kept me together through telling my family and starting my treatment. I honestly do not know if I would have ever had the courage to open up about my abuse if it weren't for MaleSurvivor. They really are amazing. There are not enough places or organizations that are for males dealing with sexual abuse. They make it possible to get help no matter where you live.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

What is most important in overcoming sexual abuse is to seek out healing and Malesurvivor is a vital part of the process. I am a survivor of sexual abuse and Malesurvivor has played a large role in that healing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

I am a survivor of childhood sexual abuse & incest. I attended the conference held by Male Survivor (then known as NOMSV) in the fall of 2001 in NYC. Eleven years later, the conference & the panels I attended are still vivid in my mind; the memory of that conference is profoundly healing for me. It was extremely informative, but more, it helped ease my lifelong sense of isolation. The more I can internalize the fact that I am not alone, in either my suffering or my recovery process, the more healing I get. Male Survivor's very existence continually reinforces this truth.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers