Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.725495
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

MaleSurvivor is the prime example of an organization that truly provides a meaningful and useful service to all its members. As a professional, I have worked with the Executive Director in an advocacy capacity and benefitted from membership through conferences and the general education and services MaleSurvivor provides to men who have experienced sexual violence. I always talk about this organization to each client I work with and recommend that they at least visit the website to make sure they know about the organization. I highly recommend MaleSurvivor to both professionals and survivors alike.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I am a male survivor and Co-Chair for the MaleSurvivor Weekends of Recovery program. This program and the overall organizations is providing unprecedented services for male survivors. The lives of thousands of survivor have been changed by the incredible work of this organization. The volunteers who work with the multiple projects sponsored by MaleSurvivor offer the highest quality clinical services and integrity.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I have worked for many years with the healing process of men who have experienced abuse. MaleSurvivor is an invaluable, sometimes life-saving resource and support in this area. I am impressed with the depth of their compassion, commitment, and clinical expertise in the services they offer. I highly recommend their supportive online community, and the wealth of resources and services. They change lives for the better!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

double their funding

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a psychotherapist who has been working with survivors of childhood sexual abuse for 35 years. MaleSurvivor is an amazing resource for my male clients. The online information and discussion boards help them to move out of their isolation. The Weekends of Recovery offer professionally led retreats for men, providing a safe environment for healing and connecting with other survivors.
Every client I have sent to an MS weekend has returned with renewed energy, hope, and determination. And many of them have received a scholarship from MS in order to attend!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The change I wish for MS is to get a lot more funding so that they can pay their hardworking volunteers and so that they can offer more Weekends of Recovery.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a survivor of childhood molestation and was raped by an older man when I was seventeen. I can not tell you how much this site has helped me overcome the feelings of guilt, shame, and anger from what happened to me. I joined it five years ago. Talking to other members about what has happened to us has really been a great help. I have worked with teen boys and young adults for over ten years now who have been molested and I always reccomend this site.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

As a licensed psychologist who specializes in the treatment of males who were sexually abused as boys and/or sexually assaulted as men for years I have relied on Male Survivor to assist my clients and... more

June 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Because I the author of Abused Boys: The Neglected Victims Of Sexual Abuse, and of Honor Betrayed: Sexual Abuse In America's Military, I have had many clients who suffered sexual abuse. I always suggest they go the website as a way to get support and information on recovery from sexual abuse. I frequently suggest to these men that they attend one of the Weekends Of Recovery. Every one that has attended has reported it was a powerful healing experience. When I have present workshops for treatment professionals I always mention the conference as a excellent place to obtain practical training on the topic of sexual abuse treatment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See to it that they had a steady income source.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a licensed psychologist who specializes in the treatment of males who were sexually abused as boys and/or sexually assaulted as men for years I have relied on Male Survivor to assist my clients and their loved ones. The first thing a recommend they do it go to MaleSurvivor.org to access the articles, private chat rooms, and other information that is available there. They can order helpful books that may not be available in their country. The mail order book service is useful for those men who are too embarrassed to buy a book on sexual abuse at their local store. This website is an excellent source of free, and more importantly, accurate information. As author of the books Abused Boys: The Neglected Victims Of Sexual Abuse, and, Honor Betrayed: Sexual Abuse In America’s Military I am contacted by men and their loved ones looking for resources. Even those people in rural area or countries where mental health resources are not available can use this site to reduce their sense of isolation. I also suggest my clients attend on the Weekends Of Recovery put on by Male Survivor. Every one of my clients who has attended these weekends has described it as a profound life changing experience. When I am contacted by other treatment providers seeking training on working with male survivors I always suggest attending Male Survivor’s conference in New York City, where people from all over the world come together to exchange the latest information on recovery from sexual abuse. It is the one conference I have always attended since it started.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

MaleSurvivor is a first-rate organization. One of the few dedicated to helping men who have been sexually abused. This one actually does something to help, unlike others.

It has offered me connections with others who were abused, and even some lifelong friends. It has an online bulletin
board that is heavily utilized.

MaleSurvivor offers weekend retreats that are excellent. They're affordable, in varying locations around the U.S., and at different levels of experience and recovery. Scholarships are available.

The organization is trustworthy and very well run.

As someone who has run other non-profits and served on various boards, I know firsthand that MaleSurvivor is a GREAT Non-Profit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the donor base and get better funding. It's well-deserved.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

THis organization has been around longer than any of the others geared to male survivors and it has a terrific group of programs including Weekends of Recovery, an intensive weekend experience with a great facilitator/survivor ratio; conferences every two years or so that welcome both survivors and professionals of all kinds; a Dare to Dream program that has been brought to venues around the country, based on an appearance of 200 male survivors (many from this organization) on Oprah!, which informs the public about the problem and encourages survivors to get help; and a website that in addition to having a lot of resources also offers a chat room and Discussion Forum where survivors can network anonymously and feel less isolated. Several of my patients have gone on a Weekend of Recovery, and the phrase "life transforming" was used by more than one. WIth time, I believe MaleSurvivor will offer services to a wider group of survivors, especially men assaulted in adulthood, as well as family and loved ones (who are, however now served on the Discussion Forum and occasional Weekends of Recovery for men and their partners). All in all, this is a vibrant program with dedicated volunteers that has done an enormous amount of good to an under-served population.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

reach out to survivors of adult sexual assault

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a counselor at a rape crisis center. Most of the professional conferences and trainings I have attended focus primarily on helping female victims of sexual violence. When I was contacted by an adult male survivor of extensive childhood sexual abuse, I was not sure how much I could help him. I did know that there was no way I could turn him away. I searched on line for resources to help me understand the different dynamic when working with men. I am extremely thankful for MaleSurvivor.org as a resource. It has helped me help the men I now work with. I always refer male clients to the sight and have only heard positive feedback from those who visit the site. As my counseling career continues, I am struck by how many men disclose abuse and who, sadly, have been suffering in silence for years. MaleSurvivor is safe place where men can learn an important part of healing - they are not alone, they are not responsible for what was done to them, they have nothing to be ashamed of and are worth loving. Keep the conversation going!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers