Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.730775
Write A Review
October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I have found a new life in part to MaleSurvivor.org. Through my therapist, i found out about the MS website where I really began to understand what had happened to me as a child. I found a safe haven to read about others who shared in my pain and personal shame. I was not alone. I found others who 'got it' and a place where I didn't have to explain things...these other men understood. Understood a lifetime of depression, suicidal thoughts, and self loathing. Having this organization as a source of information and support has literly saved my life. I've attended three workshops, the MS World Conference in NYC, been in the audience for Oprah's 200, contibuted to a book on healing, and am now thriving all in part because of MaleSurvivor. I am proud to call all these other men I've connected with through MS, my Brothers. This organization and the people who serve in it, is and are trully amazing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I was one of the lucky ones who found Male Survivor in my earlier years (late 20's). In this organization, I was freed from secrecy and shame, and I can almost say today that the abuse was not my fault. Just in the healing and growth I have received to date, I am a completely changed person. I know that I am not alone and I walk with my head held high. I want to thank the MaleSurvivor organization for facing one of the most difficult issues of our times. MaleSurvivor fosters healing for men, and in turn, heals relationship, families, and communities. Thank you to the staff and counselors of MaleSurvivor. Their compansion, courage, and leadership are extraordinary! Truly one of the best gifts of my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I found malesurvivor in the midst of the worst crisis of my adult life. At the age of 51 my world (which appeared to most as wonderful) was falling apart. I did not understand what was happening to me, my dreams, the flash backs, panic attacks, dissociation... uggh and thoughts of suicide. It was than that I found malesurvivor. To say that this organization, and the therapists involved, saved my life is not an exaggeration. I have attended the level one and level two weekends of recovery, I attended a weekly support group for two years and I now have had the opportunity to share my story at several university's. I was raped when I was 12 years old and never once told anyone about what had happened to me. Malesurvivor was the only place that gave me the safety and understanding to began to talk and heal from the trauma of my past. Thank you Malesurvivor..

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Malesurvivor is the world leader in the area of sexual violence towards men and boys. And sexual abuse of men and boys is statistically one of the largest social issues on the planet. That demonstrates how important Malesurvivor is as an organization. I first learned about Malesurvivor through their incredible webiste, that offered so much resources of healing, support and hope. And it was there I disocovered their Weekend of Recovery Program which I atteneded when it was held in Ontario, Canada. That weekend not only changed my life, it saved my life. It was a pivitol point in my healing journey that continues today. And now as an alumni I continue to recieve support from from Malesurvivor. They are without a doubt the most important not-for-profit , the work that they do is priceless.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the opportunity to attend three weekend workshops provided by malesurvivor and it has been a life changing experience As a boy of eight I was abducted and raped. I did not realize had much this assault affected my life. I have so much gratitude for these men and women that volunteer their time and energy to help men. They provide a safe place for men to come together and heal. The weekends are a time to grow and connect with people

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

10 stars. MaleSurvivor is a one-of-a-kind organization with the best people imaginable. I've been to 3 Weekends of Recovery with them, and they have changed my life from victim to SURVIVOR.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a survivor of childhood male sexual abuse, my first days of awareness were filled with terror as memories flooded my being and left me crippled to perform in the outside world. I had blocked out the traumatic events from childhood and they eventually surfaced as an adult. I ran across Male Survivor over a decade ago as I began to understand the realm and depth of what I was experiencing. I attended a number of retreat workshops and learned that I wasn't alone, that there was a brotherhood of affected men and boys who shared similar traumas. Male Survivor provided a safe and therapeutic environment in which I was able to explore those memories and fears without them destroying me, and eventually I was able to grow enough to be able to step back and give back to the community some of the gained wisdom and knowledge. Today, I have returned to work and am thriving doing what I love to do; my childhood dream of being an Electrical Engineer has come to light, and I am learning to coexist with the past and present 'me'. As much as I've grown, I've seen Male Survivor grow as well. They have always provided excellent support, but they grew as a voice and a presence that ended up giving them much needed exposure. The world began to understand that men are significantly affected by childhood sexual assault, and Male Survivor's core Board dug in their heels and focused on holding a strong administrative foundation in order to be there when the world needed them. I'm extremely grateful to Male Survivor for being there for me and showing me first-hand that it's possible to recover and thrive from childhood male sexual abuse.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I kept my mouth shut for many years in fear, and tried a couple times to take my own life for what was done to me; but one day I went on the web and just put malesurvivor in google. What I found truly saved my life. I went to one of their weekend recoveries and was scared at first; but imagine being in a room with people who cared and wanted to hear, and wanted to listen. They did all that and more. I had something that someone said that I got triggered. For the first time in my life, I had someone stand by me and never left my side for over a hour. I felt like I mattered. I later went to one of their advanced weekend in Utah and these people rememebered my name and gave me a hug and meant it. Again I was with my brothers and regardless of race, religion, sexual preference, anything; everyone just exhaled and breathed. I remember what I said at the end of the first meeting. " I came with a brick wall and some of those bricks fell, but I feel great" I was asked to be part of Oprah's 200 men show in November 2010. I couldn't have had the courage to go if it wasn't for malesurvivior. When I was there, for the first time in 50 years I felt me feet planted on the ground, and that I mattered, and no one was going to tell I didn't matter. Oh, and by the way those feelings of doom; they are gone. I FEEL GOOD!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

When I casually mentioned I was sexually abused as a child, my therapist suggested I look at MaleSurvivor’s website. Unbeknownst to me, my abuse has led a lifetime of personal conflict. Through the website, the Dare to Dream Program, and Weekends of Recovery I have finally been able to, after 30 years of repression, explore and confront my thoughts/feelings of the childhood sex abuse. Without MaleSurvivor my secret would continue to weigh me down, suppress my self-worth, and made view the world in a very negative light. MaleSurvivor is the only reliable place for male sex abuse survivors to find support and resources. MaleSurvivor has helped me recover from innocence lost and to bounce back from the trauma with increased self-confidence, enthusiasm, and self-compassion. We all have personal dragons to slay. MaleSurvivor has been my tool on their journey to recovery.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I have been working through the effects of sexual abuse as a pre-teen for many years and MaleSurvivor has offered consistent support, empathy and compassion even when I have felt I needed to apologize for taking the occasional break. I can't emphasize enough how grateful I am that members "get it" no matter what I am revealing in my story or struggling with in terms of my emotions. The shredding of stigma, the encouragement, and the flexibility of writing on a message board or safely chatting with others bring together men from all over the world, with the experience of a wide range of resources. I always sign out of MaleSurvivor feeling much better than when I signed in!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers