Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.730775
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I have been a member of MaleSurvivor since 1995. As a woman, a Weekend of Recovery facilitator, and a survivor, i believe that this organization is most committed, conscious and heart full . It is a privilege to work with the men --and the women --at MaleSurvivor, to watch men form community that is vibrant and lasting, and to see that recovery is absolutely possible.
Mikele Rauch
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I am a male survivor, a psychologist and addictions counselor, and the Co-Chairperson of the MaleSurvivor Weekends of Recovery. I attribute MaleSurvivor as being one of the major keys of my own recovery, and it is a resource I suggest to every male survivor I work with as a psychologist. Healing occurs best when a survivor is connected to a community of support, and that is what MaleSurvivor does best, whether it is through the Weekends of Recovery program, the moderated chat rooms, the bulletin boards where men can learn they are not alone, the therapist referral lists, or the international conference. The organization and its powerful website has important resources for professionals from many disciplines, for survivors, their partners, allies and advocates. I give the MaleSurvivor conference credit for providing me the most well-rounded, professional training in trauma treatment from the world's most competent and effective psychotherapists. The organization is well-run and administrative costs are well managed as well to convert most donations into active support for the men who need help to learn not only to survive, but also how to thrive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am hopeful that sometime in the near future, MaleSurvivor will be able to expand its professional training program as there are still way too few professionals in the field who are well-educated to provide for the immense needs of survivors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 1, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

more

March 1, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

Last year I took a course on Investigative Journalism at UCLA. We had an assignment to investigate and report our findings on the financial stats of our favorite nonprofits. I chose Malesurvivor.org as one of my case studies.

I was not surprised but most impressed by the findings of my
research on the internal integrity of MS and the wisdom of its administrators. MS is one of the top few nonprofits well worthy of its contributions and support, and testimonials of its life-changing impact are quite abundant in the worldwide community of male survivors of sexual assault.

MS.org offers retreats called "Weekend of Recovery" that are fully staffed and coordinated by professionals in every area of treatment, therapy, and managing the events. The expenses for these events are reflected somewhat in attendees' registration fees, but MS.org is quite generous and accommodating in providing assistance to those who request help in offsetting the registration fee.

MS.org reserves a considerable amount of money donated and forwards it on to help men attend these weekend retreats. The money goes to help men in need of assistance; this is why MS.org isn't set up with satellite offices and highly paid administrators.

I noticed a review here that accused MS.org of over-pricing its books on Amazon.com; that's Amazon.com, not MaleSurvivor.org. Well-written books on specialized areas of psychological treatment are not found in clearance bins at any store. I cut out Starbucks for 2 weeks and dropped the money in a jar to save and purchase the book I wanted.

Malesurvivor is probably not the place to work if you're seeking a high-paying job; its resources are directed to its cause.

As a resource, it stands out as a resource for men who have been sexually assaulted because:
* men can inquire anonymously
* men can discuss confidentially
* access to, and participation in, the online community (forums and chat) are immediate and require no payment or personal information
* membership is optional
* men meet others who share the experience and its symptoms
* MS.org is the gateway to endless resources
* MS.org is available 24/7, worldwide

I have volunteered and/or worked for several nonprofits over the past 30 years; MaleSurvivor towers above them all in integrity and transparency.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would probably seek ways for fundraising to employ more staff. It appears MaleSurvivor has not done this because, again, they direct incoming donations toward the cause rather than making life easier for administrators. They're more concerned with helping male victims of assault and less focused on growth and power; just a LITTLE dash of the latter would help the prior. Being primarily volunteer-driven, MS could use some support from more professionals in the field.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

MaleSurvivor has saved my life. MaleSurvivor has helped me become the person I was meant to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers