Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.655
| 1 ... 2 3 4 | Next
Write A Review
October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

When I needed help in the Summer of 2008, I quickly discovered that there were almost no real resources for male survivors of sexual violence. While searching online, I was referred to MaleSurvivor and joined the forum. The postings, community spirit and free online resources were of great assistance to me as I began my healing. MaleSurvivor is an incredible resource and I highly recommend it to other male survivors in need of assistance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

What is most important in overcoming sexual abuse is to seek out healing and Malesurvivor is a vital part of the process. I am a survivor of sexual abuse and Malesurvivor has played a large role in that healing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

I am a survivor of childhood sexual abuse & incest. I attended the conference held by Male Survivor (then known as NOMSV) in the fall of 2001 in NYC. Eleven years later, the conference & the panels I attended are still vivid in my mind; the memory of that conference is profoundly healing for me. It was extremely informative, but more, it helped ease my lifelong sense of isolation. The more I can internalize the fact that I am not alone, in either my suffering or my recovery process, the more healing I get. Male Survivor's very existence continually reinforces this truth.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Quite simply, MaleSurvivor is an organization that routinely saves the lives of men who have been abused to the point of wishing for any end to the intense and often life long agony they have suffered at the hands of the most wicked individuals on the face of the earth. As a fellow survivor who has taken advantage of the weekends of recovery offered by MaleSurvivor, I can speak firsthand about the incredible work done by the facilitators at these weekends. All the volunteers are truly committed and competent. The experience was nothing less than life changing. I shudder to think where I might be if not for MaleSurvivor. Instead, where I am today is a really good place. My recovery has been aided tremendously by MaleSurvivor

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I'm a survivor of childhood incest. This site/organization made me realize I'm not alone and put me in touch with other survivors, support groups and counselors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Male Survivor has helped me out and changed my life. I was able to attend a Weekend of Recovery and it helped me in my healing from being molested. All of the Members who ran the weekend were all volunteers and were there on their own time. That is so amazing and I am so grateful that Male Survivor is around. The Website is a big first step towards getting on the path of recovery and healing. Male Survivor gave me the hope that I was looking for.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a male survivor of sexual abuse from the age of 5 till the age of 10, I have struggled my whole life with the fallout. I never understood my rage, feelings of guilt and shame, and the unhealthy behaviors and attitudes I used to mask my real feelings. Then, at the age of 55 I discovered MaleSurvivor through an appearence by Dr. Howard Fradkin on the Oprah Winfrey Show, along with Tyler Perry and 200 men who were all survivors of abuse as children. I wanted so much to be able to stand up there with them on that stage. I wanted to let people know what I have been through and to be seen and counted for the first time. Then on their website I learned about their Weekend Of Recovery programs. I attended one in Dahlonega Georgia, and spent the weekend with 28 men who were just like me, but from every walk of life, faith, color, orientation, and stage of recovery and relationship status. WOW! The support this organization has given me is overwhelming. And on these weekends the faciitators are the best of the best in their fields. On my first weekend Dr. Fradkin was there and so ill that he was hospitalized at the end of the weekend, but he stuck it out for us, we never even knew he was sick. Dedication personified! I recently returned from my second weekend in Utah. Same feeling, same support, same professionalism, same dedication. I cannot say enough. MaleSurvivor is one of my most important resouces along with my family and my local counselor. A real lifeline.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a survivor of incest who became a licensed counselor specializing in the treatment of trauma and PTSD. When I was in my mid forties and dealing with the abuse that I encountered at the hands of my father, I heard of Male Survivor and later attended one of their Weekends of Recovery. It allowed me to deal more easily and effectively with what I was going through. Now, 20 year later, and after having published a memoir describing my recovery from abuse, I am pleased to be in a role where I can guide the efforts of the organization. Through its multipurpose website, its recovery weekends and its activism on behalf of all males who have been victimized, Male Survivor serves a unique population that is under-served.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

At my first MaleSurvivor Weekend of Recovery, I walked into a room with 30 other people I had never met before, and for the first time in my life I didn't feel alone. I can't overstate how important the work MaleSurvivor does every day to help survivors and to create a community of healing. I was honored and humbled when the board asked me to take on the duties of Executive Director earlier this year. I think it says quite a bit about the powerful impact MaleSurvivor has on the lives of survivors that someone who was losing a life long battle with depression and suicidal thoughts just a few years ago could find the hope and support I needed to really do the hard work of healing. MaleSurvivor has helped hundred of thousands of male survivors and their loved ones through our website and other affiliated programs since 1995.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

attending 3 Weekends of Recovery (one with my wife on our honeymoon!), conducted trainings at our International Conferences, and seen and spoken to many other survivors who have been helped by MaleSurvivor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise more funds and tell the world about what MaleSurvivor offers to survivors and their loved ones.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

In a desperate search on the internet for some resource that would speak to my experience and provide me with hope.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Funding.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Changing the world.

| 1 ... 2 3 4 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers