Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.681825
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When I was taking a criminal justice class in College we had to write about something criminal. I took it upon myself to learn what the long term effects of child sexual abuse were...since I was molested by my step father 22 years before. In preparing for this paper I ran accross a book called Betrayed as Boys: Psychodynamic Treatment of Sexually Abused Men. Guilford Press, 1999, 2001. by Dr. Richard Gartner. On the back of the book I saw that he was on the board of MaleSurvivor.org. Being that I have never heard of this organization I googled the name and signed up for a Weekend of Recovery that night. This weekend was in May and it is so difficult to explain how it has effected my life. All these years, I finally was able to meet other men who were abused like me. I was able to talk about my feelings and know that no one there would judge me. When I started a MLM business I have committed that 10% of all my profit will go to MaleSurvivor.org to help other men find their voice.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is literally one of the very few that "get it" in terms of the affects and damage done by sexual abuse and violence against males! Even organizations like RAIIN and PCAR just don't get it like MaleSurvivor does! In my darkest hour, when I was close to taking my own life, their website and programs helped me take the desperately needed steps toward healing and recovery! They continue this effort tirelessly and continue to help others and to raise awareness, even when the current tide in the public eye is want to try and forget about it! Thank you MaleSurvivor for your work!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

WHen faced with the reality of my dis-functional life as a result of CSA (Childhood sexual abuse) and in therapy once again. I found Male Survivor on the web and they were having a weekend of recovery in Pennsylvania not far from my home. I attended the weekend and it helped me more than I can express in words. The wounded soul that I was began to really heal.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

When I needed help in the Summer of 2008, I quickly discovered that there were almost no real resources for male survivors of sexual violence. While searching online, I was referred to MaleSurvivor and joined the forum. The postings, community spirit and free online resources were of great assistance to me as I began my healing. MaleSurvivor is an incredible resource and I highly recommend it to other male survivors in need of assistance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

What is most important in overcoming sexual abuse is to seek out healing and Malesurvivor is a vital part of the process. I am a survivor of sexual abuse and Malesurvivor has played a large role in that healing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

I am a survivor of childhood sexual abuse & incest. I attended the conference held by Male Survivor (then known as NOMSV) in the fall of 2001 in NYC. Eleven years later, the conference & the panels I attended are still vivid in my mind; the memory of that conference is profoundly healing for me. It was extremely informative, but more, it helped ease my lifelong sense of isolation. The more I can internalize the fact that I am not alone, in either my suffering or my recovery process, the more healing I get. Male Survivor's very existence continually reinforces this truth.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Quite simply, MaleSurvivor is an organization that routinely saves the lives of men who have been abused to the point of wishing for any end to the intense and often life long agony they have suffered at the hands of the most wicked individuals on the face of the earth. As a fellow survivor who has taken advantage of the weekends of recovery offered by MaleSurvivor, I can speak firsthand about the incredible work done by the facilitators at these weekends. All the volunteers are truly committed and competent. The experience was nothing less than life changing. I shudder to think where I might be if not for MaleSurvivor. Instead, where I am today is a really good place. My recovery has been aided tremendously by MaleSurvivor

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I'm a survivor of childhood incest. This site/organization made me realize I'm not alone and put me in touch with other survivors, support groups and counselors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Male Survivor has helped me out and changed my life. I was able to attend a Weekend of Recovery and it helped me in my healing from being molested. All of the Members who ran the weekend were all volunteers and were there on their own time. That is so amazing and I am so grateful that Male Survivor is around. The Website is a big first step towards getting on the path of recovery and healing. Male Survivor gave me the hope that I was looking for.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a male survivor of sexual abuse from the age of 5 till the age of 10, I have struggled my whole life with the fallout. I never understood my rage, feelings of guilt and shame, and the unhealthy behaviors and attitudes I used to mask my real feelings. Then, at the age of 55 I discovered MaleSurvivor through an appearence by Dr. Howard Fradkin on the Oprah Winfrey Show, along with Tyler Perry and 200 men who were all survivors of abuse as children. I wanted so much to be able to stand up there with them on that stage. I wanted to let people know what I have been through and to be seen and counted for the first time. Then on their website I learned about their Weekend Of Recovery programs. I attended one in Dahlonega Georgia, and spent the weekend with 28 men who were just like me, but from every walk of life, faith, color, orientation, and stage of recovery and relationship status. WOW! The support this organization has given me is overwhelming. And on these weekends the faciitators are the best of the best in their fields. On my first weekend Dr. Fradkin was there and so ill that he was hospitalized at the end of the weekend, but he stuck it out for us, we never even knew he was sick. Dedication personified! I recently returned from my second weekend in Utah. Same feeling, same support, same professionalism, same dedication. I cannot say enough. MaleSurvivor is one of my most important resouces along with my family and my local counselor. A real lifeline.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers