Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.730775
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

This organization really only offers a discussion boards, which can be dangerous and unhelpful if you aren't in the right "clique." Their website is outdated and unhelpful and recently all they do is ask for money.

Aside from their chat boards and a few "Weekends of Recovery," which
receive mixed reviews, they don't seem to do much else.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

There's no other organization that addresses men's issues pertaining to sexual abuse. MaleSurvivor is made up of caring facilitators and therapists. I participated in two of their Weekends of Recovery and was touched and awed by the high level of compassion, concern and respect. I can't recommend this organization highly enough! Thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Coming out of a 10 year relationship at the age of 43, I began doing research on what resources were available for men who had been sexually abused. I came across the MaleSurvivor.org website. Seeing the plethora of resources on the site provided me with the information I needed to begin my recovery process.

I was intrigued when I read about the Weekends of Recovery. At my first retreat, I remember thinking: “This is the safest place I’ve ever been”. I was surrounded by other men who could relate to and understand the feelings I had about having been sexually abused. The professional facilitators were unlike many other professionals, they understood — and knew how to respond appropriately to — various aspects of how sexual abuse affects men in particular.

Having attended 5 Weekends of Recovery, I can say that I feel more open and better connected. I have significantly reduced feelings of anger, guilt and shame; and I’ve learned that it is valuable to pay attention to how my body processes my emotions.

It’s been almost 4 years since I found MaleSurvivor. I no longer feel that I need to be anonymous in regard to the fact that I was sexually abuse. I, in fact, have gone public. Being involved with MaleSurvivor has helped me to significantly reduce the negative effects of the abuse in my life, and I know this also holds true for many other men.

For over 3 years, I have been facilitating a peer-to-peer support group for men who have been sexually abused. Doing so has helped to increase my self-worth and ability to connect with others. The group was started over 8 years ago by 3 men who had attended a MaleSurvivor Weekend of Recovery. Many of our members find us through the “Find a Support Group” section on MaleSurvivor.org.

So, this is one man’s testimony about the MaleSurvivor organization. It is an authentic organization. Did they pay me to write this? In many ways, yes, but not monetarily. They paid me with resources, tools, professionals, a community of men, and a foundation which helps me to excel in my recovery and my personal life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I don't know where I'd be without this organization - my childhood sexual abuse spanned 10 years, involved multiple abusers and included torture - I never thought anyone would understand, believe or care for me. It was the first place I was able to safely disclose my history, outside of private counseling. The self-mposed silence/secrecy and overwhelming sense of shame was almost too much to bear. On their website I am able to address topics with other survivors in a safe, anonymous environment but I'm able to make connections with other survivors at my discretion. I have made life-long friends from MaleSurvivor.org, particularly through the Weekend of Recovery programs. Every male survivor, whether their abuse was a single event or over decades, should have a place they feel welcome, heard, understood. The therapists at the Weekends of Recovery, the moderators on the website and the fellow members on the website are supportive and undertsanding. I am surviving and actually thriving - thank you MaleSurvivor.org.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MaleSurvivor's programs are not as all-encompassing as they portray them to be considering their mission statement is "overcoming sexual abuse of boys and men." Their Weekends of Recovery program appeared to me to be geared almost exclusively toward male child sexual abuse victims. This program was of very little use to me as a survivor of rape as an adult. The organization is openly hostile toward male adult rape survivors by censoring their thoughts and speech on their discussion boards through private messages, open retaliation, and banning users. The organization has also had problems as recent as 2 years ago with moderators on their discussion boards engaging in inappropriate behavior with underage participants. The leadership of this organization is cliqueish in that the administrators of their discussion boards and executive leadership have rotated through the same group of people with very little outside blood brought in. In short, this nonprofit appears to me to management issues and fails to abide by their mission statement.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I have found a new life in part to MaleSurvivor.org. Through my therapist, i found out about the MS website where I really began to understand what had happened to me as a child. I found a safe haven to read about others who shared in my pain and personal shame. I was not alone. I found others who 'got it' and a place where I didn't have to explain things...these other men understood. Understood a lifetime of depression, suicidal thoughts, and self loathing. Having this organization as a source of information and support has literly saved my life. I've attended three workshops, the MS World Conference in NYC, been in the audience for Oprah's 200, contibuted to a book on healing, and am now thriving all in part because of MaleSurvivor. I am proud to call all these other men I've connected with through MS, my Brothers. This organization and the people who serve in it, is and are trully amazing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a counselor at a rape crisis center. Most of the professional conferences and trainings I have attended focus primarily on helping female victims of sexual violence. When I was contacted by an adult male survivor of extensive childhood sexual abuse, I was not sure how much I could help him. I did know that there was no way I could turn him away. I searched on line for resources to help me understand the different dynamic when working with men. I am extremely thankful for MaleSurvivor.org as a resource. It has helped me help the men I now work with. I always refer male clients to the sight and have only heard positive feedback from those who visit the site. As my counseling career continues, I am struck by how many men disclose abuse and who, sadly, have been suffering in silence for years. MaleSurvivor is safe place where men can learn an important part of healing - they are not alone, they are not responsible for what was done to them, they have nothing to be ashamed of and are worth loving. Keep the conversation going!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I was one of the lucky ones who found Male Survivor in my earlier years (late 20's). In this organization, I was freed from secrecy and shame, and I can almost say today that the abuse was not my fault. Just in the healing and growth I have received to date, I am a completely changed person. I know that I am not alone and I walk with my head held high. I want to thank the MaleSurvivor organization for facing one of the most difficult issues of our times. MaleSurvivor fosters healing for men, and in turn, heals relationship, families, and communities. Thank you to the staff and counselors of MaleSurvivor. Their compansion, courage, and leadership are extraordinary! Truly one of the best gifts of my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I found malesurvivor in the midst of the worst crisis of my adult life. At the age of 51 my world (which appeared to most as wonderful) was falling apart. I did not understand what was happening to me, my dreams, the flash backs, panic attacks, dissociation... uggh and thoughts of suicide. It was than that I found malesurvivor. To say that this organization, and the therapists involved, saved my life is not an exaggeration. I have attended the level one and level two weekends of recovery, I attended a weekly support group for two years and I now have had the opportunity to share my story at several university's. I was raped when I was 12 years old and never once told anyone about what had happened to me. Malesurvivor was the only place that gave me the safety and understanding to began to talk and heal from the trauma of my past. Thank you Malesurvivor..

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Malesurvivor is the world leader in the area of sexual violence towards men and boys. And sexual abuse of men and boys is statistically one of the largest social issues on the planet. That demonstrates how important Malesurvivor is as an organization. I first learned about Malesurvivor through their incredible webiste, that offered so much resources of healing, support and hope. And it was there I disocovered their Weekend of Recovery Program which I atteneded when it was held in Ontario, Canada. That weekend not only changed my life, it saved my life. It was a pivitol point in my healing journey that continues today. And now as an alumni I continue to recieve support from from Malesurvivor. They are without a doubt the most important not-for-profit , the work that they do is priceless.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers